Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-01-06, 03:28 AM   #1
Dimensio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 13
Default UT2k4 is all messed up

I recently overhauled my Debian installation and I've been periodically checking old applications to verify that they still work. Until tonight, no problems. Neverwinter Nights works, Doom3 and Quake 4 work, my 3D Windows games run via Cedega all still work...

But Unreal Tournament 2004 does not work. It runs, and I can go into a map, but as soon as a map loads I notice lots and lots of missing textures.

At first I thought that it might be a corrupted file somewhere, but when I loaded one map I noticed the textures 'flickering' into place when I aimed the camera in certain specific directions. It seems that this is a rendering issue, but I can't figure out how to fix it.

I've tried swapping out the latest drivers with older incarnations. No dice. I'm at a bit of a loss now.

I'm using a GeForce 6800GT/256MB on an AMD64 3200+ (note that I am not using an amd64 build). I'm using kernel version 2.6.15.4 on a Debian unstable build, and I'm currently using the latest Nvidia drivers on an XOrg server. As I said, all other 3D apps work without problem. I've installed the latest 3369 patch for UT2k4, but the problem persists even with older versions.
Dimensio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-06, 01:49 PM   #2
Spyke
Foxie
 
Spyke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 618
Send a message via AIM to Spyke Send a message via MSN to Spyke Send a message via Yahoo to Spyke
Default Re: UT2k4 is all messed up

Let me guess, you were messing with broken UT2004 "features", like UseStencil or UseVBO....
__________________
Gaming:
Intel i7 980X @ 4GHz | ASUS Rampage III Extreme | GTX 480 3Way SLI @ 900Mhz | Koolance VID-NX480 | Corsair Obsidian 700D
Corsair H70 CPU Cooler | EK-FB RE3 | Corsair AX1200 | Black Ice SR1 360 | 240GB OCZ Revodrive X2 SSD | Windows 7 Ultimate
12GB Corsair Dominator GT @ 8-8-8-24-1T DDR3-1600 | Onkyo TX SR-707 | 70" Sharp Aquos LCD | KEF Audio 5.1 C3/C6LCR/C7
Workstation:
Intel i7 920 D0 @ 4GHz | ASUS Rampage II Extreme | GTX 480 @ 800Mhz | Koolance VID-NX480 | Lian-Li V1200B | Corsair HX1000
EK NB ASUS HP | Watercool HeatKiller 3.0 | Feser Extreme X-360 | 2x160GB Intel X25-M SSD RAID0 | 4x2TB WD20EARS RAID10
12GB Corsair Dominator @ 8-8-8-24-1T DDR3-1600 | Creative X-Fi Titanium | Pioneer DVR-212D | Gentoo Linux
Dell 3008WFP | JohnBlue JB3 | CityPulse DA2.03e II DAC | KingRex T20U w/ Modded Auricaps & PSU | Glow Audio Sub One
Server:
Quad Socket Opteron 8356 (16 cores) @ 2.3GHz | Supermicro H8QMi-2 | Supermicro 2U Chassis | Redundant 1200W PSU
32GB 2GBx16 DDR2-667 ECC | 4x 300GB Cheetah SAS RAID10 | Adaptec 5805 512MB w/BBU | Colocated | Gentoo Linux
Spyke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-06, 08:22 PM   #3
Dimensio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 13
Default Re: UT2k4 is all messed up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spyke
Let me guess, you were messing with broken UT2004 "features", like UseStencil or UseVBO....
Not of which I am aware. The game was functioning properly the last time I tested it, which was several months ago. Since then I have recreated the Debian installation, however the games mount point was not altered in any way. I have not altered any configuration files to my knowledge since that time.

I have investigated the UT2004.ini file, however both UseStencil and UseVBO are both set to "False".

I am tempted to attempt to reinstall the game software, but I am unfortunately currently unable to locate the installation DVD.
Dimensio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-06, 11:40 PM   #4
cjcox
Registered User
 
cjcox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 110
Default Re: UT2k4 is all messed up

I would reinstall.. also, I would get the latest patches (which make ut2004 look REALLY good - shdows, license plate, etc - , fixes lots of things and adds the SE/BP levels).
cjcox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-06, 11:52 PM   #5
Dimensio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 13
Default Re: UT2k4 is all messed up

Quote:
Originally Posted by cjcox
I would reinstall.. also, I would get the latest patches (which make ut2004 look REALLY good - shdows, license plate, etc - , fixes lots of things and adds the SE/BP levels).
After installing the latest patch, should I have an option for proper shadows? I have applied the 3369 patch, however my shadow options are still only "None" and "Blob".
Dimensio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-06, 02:31 AM   #6
saVTRonic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2
Default Re: UT2k4 is all messed up

You have to make some change in this files (~/.ut2004/system/):

UT2004.ini
Code:
[OpenGLDrv.OpenGLRenderDevice]
UseRenderTargets=True

User.ini
Code:
[UnrealGame.UnrealPawn]
bPlayerShadows=True
bBlobShadow=False
saVTRonic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
nvidia + 2.4.19 gentoo = messed up ulukay NVIDIA Linux 18 11-01-02 11:58 PM
Realy messed up dual head vdub12 NVIDIA Linux 1 09-15-02 12:26 AM
Diablo 2 messed up with Detonator 40 drivers Leaf Gaming Central 1 08-30-02 08:47 PM
Messed up lightmapping theDon NVIDIA Linux 2 08-28-02 01:21 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.