Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-18-06, 05:50 PM   #1
polpak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 6
Default Frustrations w/ TV Out

I've tried with 2 different video cards as well as different nvidia drivers and versions of X. I simply cannot get tvout to work. I have a Pansonic 27" TV (CT-27G14A). I'm currently trying to use an Asus Geforce 3 Ti.

The console looks fine, but X will not display regardless of the changes I've attempted to make to the config file. (by following various readme's about tvout). I don't have a monitor connected, and I'm connecting via svideo (composite cable makes the console unreadable) to the tv.


Ive attached the nvidia-bug-report (after startx -- -logverbose 5) as well as my Xorg.conf file. I've been working on this for about 4 days now, so help would be appreciated.

Thanks
Attached Files
File Type: log nvidia-bug-report.log (86.2 KB, 153 views)
File Type: txt xorg.conf.txt (3.6 KB, 168 views)
polpak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-06, 05:59 PM   #2
mlampard
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: South Australia
Posts: 30
Default Re: Frustrations w/ TV Out

Hi,
Perhaps you could try :
Option "TVOutFormat" "SVIDEO"
as according to the README, auto-detection sometimes misbehaves.
mlampard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-06, 06:09 PM   #3
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Frustrations w/ TV Out

Have you tried adding the TVOutFormat option to your X configuration?
Can your TV do 1024x768? Have you tried 640x480?
Is the SVIDEO cable plugged directly into the TV and videocard?

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-06, 08:51 PM   #4
polpak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 6
Default Re: Frustrations w/ TV Out

Quote:
Originally Posted by netllama
Have you tried adding the TVOutFormat option to your X configuration?
Yes, there is no change.

Quote:
Originally Posted by netllama
Is the SVIDEO cable plugged directly into the TV and videocard?
Yes

Quote:
Originally Posted by netllama
Can your TV do 1024x768?
I'm not entirely sure, as none of the documentation I have for it has given resolution or refresh rates. I think that it most likely cannot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by netllama
Have you tried 640x480?
Yes, using this version of the driver and X I was able to get a screen using a friends GeForce2 video card to display (640x480 HorizRefresh 45, VertSync 60). When it was displaying with this card the display had about a 2 inch black border (the display was smaller than the screen) and there was an odd blue bar that appeared on the left hand side when I tried to watch a video. It wasn't part of the normal display area.

But using the exact same settings on my card as I used on his still gives me nothing.. like it can't find the signal, or the refresh rates are off.
polpak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-06, 01:23 PM   #5
polpak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 6
Default Re: Frustrations w/ TV Out

Any other suggestions?

Thanks
polpak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-06, 12:44 PM   #6
polpak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 6
Default Re: Frustrations w/ TV Out

174 views and no one has any other suggestions? I've read a few places that the GeForce2 card is no longer supported by this driver, (though surprisingly enough, it will work, though not ideally, while the GeForce3 will not). Should I just shell out another 40 bucks on a Geforce 4? I'm trying to get this setup as a MythTV system, and I've heard that the GeForce4's also have mpeg1/2 decoding hardware which will make playing back my shows much less CPU intensive.

If I must go that route I'd like to know that it'll work before I shell out the additional 40 bucks or so. But if at all possible, I'd really prefer to get one of these other cards working.

Can anyone help?

Thanks
polpak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Divinity: Original Sin announced, top down RPG to 'address frustrations with Divine News Archived News Items 0 05-28-12 03:20 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.