Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-09-03, 08:58 PM   #1
uuklanger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 8
Exclamation X to text graphics switching problem with GeForce4

I am currently having an issue that I am hoping can be solved by a simple config change that I am not aware of.

Using the latest drives posted to the nvidia site, I can run my monitor at 1280x1024 @ 75Hz. No problem. Performance is what I would expect and there are no issues.

Where I am running into problems is when I shut down or switch to a text console (ALT+CNTRL+F1). My monitor display a "Sync Out Of Range" message and a blank screen.

I am using a GeForce4 440 under RH 8.0. If I use the vesa drives that come with XFree86, I can switch from X to text without problems. When I boot, I can switch from text to X without problems but when I shutdown (X mode to text) I get the sync issue.

When I use the nvidia drives, I get this issue. I would prefer to use the nvidia drives because they performed better on my old TNT2 card then the stock XFree86 drives.

I have been reading docs and have tried a few configuration options without luck. Any thoughts?
__________________
uuklanger
uuklanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-03, 03:08 PM   #2
adminc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles, Ca
Posts: 7
Default Have the same problem

I almost had the same problem but my screen vere kinda flickery.
If I started the failsafe with text it worked fine.

and if you change the line in lilo.conf where it says vga = normal

I changed that to 80*60 i believe and even tested framebuffered 640x480 and 800x600 and that works fine to ;O)

Hope this will help you out
__________________
-- ADMINC --
adminc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-03, 07:41 PM   #3
uuklanger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 8
Default Re: Have the same problem

Quote:
Originally posted by adminc
I almost had the same problem but my screen vere kinda flickery.
If I started the failsafe with text it worked fine.

and if you change the line in lilo.conf where it says vga = normal

I changed that to 80*60 i believe and even tested framebuffered 640x480 and 800x600 and that works fine to ;O)

Hope this will help you out
Kind of a fun fact. I downgraded my drivers to 1.0-3123 and everything works as expected and looks good. HURRAY!!! They even seem a bit faster then the newer drivers...though that could be me

I think I am fixed for now.
__________________
uuklanger
uuklanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thoughts from console owners on NVIDIA's GEFORCE GRID MikeC Console World 11 05-27-12 08:43 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.