Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-13-03, 03:11 PM   #1
natel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4
Default help! :) cannot do 1280x1024

**posted first on the NVIDIA forum, not linux NVIDIA my bad**

Good day ladys, gents.

My problem is

I can only seem to get 1280x960

I have a NEC accusyn 75F that does 1280x1024
Tech Specs:
Hsync: 31-70kHz
Vsync: 55-120Hz

Reading through these forums and I'm still getting the trouble.

(from xdpyinfo)
screen #0:
dimensions: 1280x960 pixels (332x241 millimeters)
resolution: 98x101 dots per inch
--

bash-2.05b$ cat /var/log/XFree86.0.log | grep Monitor
(**) | |-->Monitor "Monitor0"
(II) NVIDIA(0): Monitor0: Using hsync range of 31.00-70.00 kHz
(II) NVIDIA(0): Monitor0: Using vrefresh range of 55.00-120.00 Hz
(WW) (1400x1050,Monitor0) mode clock 122MHz exceeds DDC maximum 110MHz

from XF86Config
Section "Monitor"
#DisplaySize 320 260
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "NEC"
ModelName "AccuSync 75F"
Option "DPMS"
HorizSync 31-70
VertRefresh 55-120
EndSection
.......

SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1280x1024@60Hz(VESA)" "1280x1024@60"
EndSubSection
.....
(tried with just "1280x1024" also)

Hm

Now, I dont know where I am going wrong here.
Any feed back would be great. Need more info from me? I will give all that I can. Thank you.

Nate
natel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-03, 03:23 PM   #2
Anthaus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 197
Default

The 'Modes' line seems a little bit weird. Which distro are you using? AFAIK, there's no need to specify the refresh rate nor the driver (VESA). In Red Hat it should look a bit more like this:

Depth 24
Modes 1280x1024 1024x768 800x600 640x480

Depth 16
Modes 1280x1024 1024x768 800x600 640x480

Depth 8
Modes 1280x1024 1024x768 800x600 640x480

In that way you allow the programs to set 256 colors, 16 or 32 bit at all the resolutions.

If you want to set the default mode to be 1280x1024, I don't quite remember where's the line, but it's not there.

Another thing you shopuld consider is that there may be two Config files: the XF86Config and the XF86Config-4. Maybe you're editing the wrong one.

Don't be ashamed to ask. We all had to learn in the same way.
__________________
Use the source, Tux.
Anthaus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-03, 03:30 PM   #3
natel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4
Default

Scratch out the two modes ""1280x1024@60Hz(VESA)" "1280x1024@60""

even with those not there.. or just:
modes "1280x1024"
it still goes to 1280x960

I know I'm editing the right config (XF86Config)

I should state, I am running slack 8.1 2.4.19
VESA I got 1280x1024, I've adjusted the refresh rates like...

Lost..

Thanks again

Attached is my X.0.log
Attached Files
File Type: txt xfree86.0.log.txt (23.0 KB, 142 views)
natel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-03, 05:48 PM   #4
Anthaus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 197
Default

Your log just states that it cannot do 1280x1024. It definitely has something to do with the XF86Config.

Do you have the XF86Config-4?

Have you been able to use nVidia's GLX?

Can you post your XF86Config files (both), please?
__________________
Use the source, Tux.
Anthaus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-03, 06:11 PM   #5
natel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4
Default

I dont have XF86Config-4
(cannot 'locate' it -- not there
I use.. /etc/X11/XF86Config

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "XFree86 Configured"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"
RgbPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
ModulePath "/usr/X11R6/lib/modules"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/misc/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Speedo/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Type1/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/CID/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi/"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "record"
Load "extmod"
Load "dbe"
# Load "dri"
Load "glx"
Load "xtrap"
Load "type1"
Load "speedo"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "keyboard"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "imps/2"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
Option "Device" "/dev/mouse"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
#DisplaySize 320 260
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "NEC"
ModelName "AccuSync 75F"
Option "DPMS"
HorizSync 31-70
VertRefresh 55-120
EndSection

Section "Device"
### Available Driver options are:-
### Values: <i>: integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz"
### [arg]: arg optional
#Option "SWcursor" # [<bool>]
#Option "HWcursor" # [<bool>]
#Option "NoAccel" # [<bool>]
#Option "ShowCache" # [<bool>]
#Option "ShadowFB" # [<bool>]
#Option "UseFBDev" # [<bool>]
#Option "Rotate" # [<str>]
#Option "VideoKey" # <i>
#Option "FlatPanel" # [<bool>]
Identifier "Card0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVidia"
BoardName "GeForce2 MX 100/200"
BusID "PCI:1:5:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Card0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Depth 1
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 4
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 8
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 15
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 16
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1280x1024"
EndSubSection
EndSection

No prob doing 1280x1024 with the nv driver. and also in windows

Last edited by natel; 03-13-03 at 06:17 PM.
natel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-03, 08:33 PM   #6
natel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4
Default Option "NoDDC"

Option "IgnoreEDID" "boolean"
Disable probing of EDID (Extended Display Identification
Data) from your monitor. Requested modes are compared
against values gotten from your monitor EDIDs (if any)
during mode validation. Some monitors are known to lie
about their own capabilities. Ignoring the values that
the monitor gives may help get a certain mode validated.
On the other hand, this may be dangerous if you don't
know what you are doing. Default: Use EDIDs.

Option "NoDDC" "boolean"

Now, HOW dangerous is this option?
Works good. but does it have long term effects?
natel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-03, 10:32 AM   #7
Anthaus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 197
Default

Most modern monitors protect themselves agains invalid refresh rates (they go low-power). I don't think it should be a prob.
__________________
Use the source, Tux.
Anthaus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Opinions on 1280x1024 resolution skipparoo NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 103 06-22-12 11:38 PM
Toshiba Sat 1950 screen setup beaulieu NVIDIA Linux 7 06-13-03 03:17 PM
Former Nvidia user: 9700 impressions nin_fragile14 Other Desktop Graphics Cards 58 11-01-02 01:38 PM
TwinView in RedHat 8 nerfherder64 NVIDIA Linux 5 10-07-02 07:19 PM
Nvidia + XFree86 4.1.0.1 + iiyama VMPro 410 horizontal refresh probs Will NVIDIA Linux 6 08-09-02 08:57 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.