Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-27-06, 05:58 PM   #1
robotX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
Default tv-out works, but black borders

Hi,

i'm using S-VIDEO out, so watching linux on tv

But i get black borders at top and down, perhaps <1 inch.

Here is my xorg config:

Quote:
# nvidia-xconfig: X configuration file generated by nvidia-xconfig
# nvidia-xconfig: version 1.0 (buildmeister@builder3) Wed Dec 14 16:39:22 PST 2005

#Section "Extensions"
# Option "Composite" "Enable"
#EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "X.org Configured"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
Option "BlankTime" "0" # Blank the screen in 10 minutes (Fake)
Option "StandbyTime" "10" # Turn off screen in 20 minutes (DPMS)
Option "SuspendTime" "14" # Full hibernation in 30 minutes (DPMS)
Option "OffTime" "18" # Turn off DPMS monitor (DPMS)
EndSection

Section "Files"
RgbPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
ModulePath "/usr/X11R6/lib/modules"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/misc/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/TTF/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Type1/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi/"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "record"
Load "extmod"
Load "dbe"
# Load "glx"
Load "xtrap"
Load "type1"
Load "freetype"
Load "glx"
EndSection
Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "kbd"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "de"
Option "XkbVariant" "nodeadkeys"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "Auto"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Monitor Vendor"
ModelName "Monitor Model"
HorizSync 45.0 - 80.0
VertRefresh 50.0 - 75.0
Option "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor1"
ModelName "PAL TV"
VertRefresh 60
HorizSync 30-50
EndSection


Section "Device"

### Available Driver options are:-
### Values: <i>: integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz"
### [arg]: arg optional
#Option "DigitalVibrance" # <i>
#Option "NoFlip" # [<bool>]
#Option "Dac8Bit" # [<bool>]
#Option "NoLogo" # [<bool>]
#Option "UBB" # [<bool>]
#Option "Stereo" # <i>
#Option "SWcursor" # [<bool>]
#Option "HWcursor" # [<bool>]
#Option "VideoKey" # <i>
#Option "NvAGP" # <i>
#Option "IgnoreEDID" # [<bool>]
#Option "NoDDC" # [<bool>]
#Option "ConnectedMonitor" # <str>
#Option "ConnectedMonitors" # <str>
#Option "TVStandard" # <str>
#Option "TVOutFormat" # <str>
#Option "RenderAccel" # [<bool>]
#Option "CursorShadow" # [<bool>]
#Option "CursorShadowAlpha" # <i>
#Option "CursorShadowXOffset" # <i>
#Option "CursorShadowYOffset" # <i>
#Option "UseEdidFreqs" # [<bool>]
#Option "FlatPanelProperties" # <str>
#Option "TwinView" # [<bool>]
#Option "TwinViewOrientation" # <str>
#Option "SecondMonitorHorizSync" # <str>
#Option "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" # <str>
#Option "MetaModes" # <str>
#Option "UseInt10Module" # [<bool>]
#Option "NoTwinViewXineramaInfo" # [<bool>]
#Option "NoRenderExtension" # [<bool>]
#Option "Overlay" # [<bool>]
#Option "CIOverlay" # [<bool>]
#Option "ForceEmulatedOverlay" # [<bool>]
#Option "TransparentIndex" # <i>
#Option "OverlayDefaultVisual" # [<bool>]
#Option "NvEmulate" # <i>
#Option "NoBandWidthTest" # [<bool>]
#Option "CustomEDID-CRT-0" # <str>
#Option "CustomEDID-CRT-1" # <str>
#Option "CustomEDID-DFP-0" # <str>
#Option "CustomEDID-DFP-1" # <str>
#Option "CustomEDID-TV-0" # <str>
#Option "CustomEDID-TV-1" # <str>
#Option "TVOverScan" # <f>
#Option "IgnoreDisplayDevices" # <str>
#Option "MultisampleCompatibility" # [<bool>]
#Option "RegistryDwords" # <str>
#Option "NoPowerConnectorCheck" # [<bool>]
#Option "AllowDFPStereo" # [<bool>]
#Option "XvMCUsesTextures" # [<bool>]
Identifier "Card0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "nVidia Corporation"
BoardName "NV34 [GeForce FX 5200]"
EndSection

Section "Device"
BoardName "NV34 [GeForce FX 5200]"
Driver "nvidia"
Identifier "Device1"
Screen 0
VendorName "nVidia"
Option "NoLogo" "on"
Option "CursorShadow" "on"
Option "CursorShadowAlpha" "32"
Option "CursorShadowXOffset" "2"
Option "CursorShadowYOffset" "2"
Option "TVOutFormat" "COMPOSITE"
Option "TVStandard" "PAL-B"
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "TV"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Card0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 16
Option "DPMS"
Option "HorizSync" "80" # <str>
Option "VertRefresh" "75" # <str>
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 16
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600"
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "TV"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "640x480"
Virtual 640 480
EndSubSection
Device "Device1"
Monitor "Monitor1"
EndSection
Does anyone have any suggestions? Do i use a wrong option?

regards
robotX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-06, 07:24 PM   #2
ZeroKun
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 27
Default Re: tv-out works, but black borders

Same problem, I'm assuming that you have a flatscreen TV? Only way to fix this is to set the overscan to something larger in the nvidia control panel(nvidia-settings).
ZeroKun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-06, 07:41 AM   #3
robotX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
Default Re: tv-out works, but black borders

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZeroKun
Same problem, I'm assuming that you have a flatscreen TV? Only way to fix this is to set the overscan to something larger in the nvidia control panel(nvidia-settings).
I don't find this overscan option. Where should it be?
(using nvidia-settings, newest driver)
robotX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-06, 03:39 PM   #4
ZeroKun
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 27
Default Re: tv-out works, but black borders

Unless your card doesn't support it, it should be in the display devices>TV-0. Do you have a G4 card?
ZeroKun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-06, 07:38 PM   #5
fatespeaks
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 6
Default Re: tv-out works, but black borders

The Nvidia linux manual can be found here: http://download.nvidia.com/XFree86/L...DME/index.html

Appendix D. X Config Options says this:
The following driver options are supported by the NVIDIA X driver. They may be specified either in the Screen or Device sections of the X config file.

And this:
Option "TVOverScan" "Decimal value in the range 0.0 to 1.0"

Valid values are in the range 0.0 through 1.0; Please see Appendix H, Configuring TV-Out for details on configuring TV-out.


Appendix H. Configuring TV-Out says this:
The "TVOverScan" option can be used to enable Overscan where supported. Valid values are decimal values in the range 1.0 (which means overscan as much as possible: make the image as large as possible) and 0.0 (which means disable overscanning: make the image as small as possible). Overscanning is disabled (0.0) by default.

Overscan is currently only available on GeForce4 or newer GPUs with either NVIDIA or Conexant TV encoders.
fatespeaks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-06, 11:31 PM   #6
Cym
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 10
Default Re: tv-out works, but black borders

Try setting the DisplaySize option in the "Monitor" section to either a 4:3 or 16:9 ratio (whichever you use).

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor1"
HorizSync 30-50
VertRefresh 60
Option "DPMS"
UseModes "tv modes"
# DisplaySize 648 486 #Small Font Size
# DisplaySize 400 300 #Medium Font Size
DisplaySize 200 150 #Large Font Size
EndSection

The lower the values in the DisplaySize ratio, the larger area your screen will take up (reducing the black borders).

The recommended starting value for a 16:9 display is 400 225.

The DisplaySize is used to calculate the dots per inch (DPI). The correct DPI and a slight overscan should get rid of the borders.

The important part is to keep an exact ratio with the values.

BR.
Cym is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD FX-8120 Black Edition CPU Review (with Asus M5A99X EVO) News Archived News Items 0 06-21-12 08:30 AM
What Happened To Black Mesa: Source? Part Two News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 07:47 AM
First monitor is black when going to virtual console, when using twinView zeBarbu NVIDIA Linux 2 09-07-03 09:35 PM
Redhat 8.0 NVIDIA works - INSTRUCTIONS STEEL1 NVIDIA Linux 267 04-15-03 06:48 PM
Black screen and lockup on startx. redmoose NVIDIA Linux 4 09-18-02 11:53 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.