Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-29-06, 10:27 AM   #1
pinaraf
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 30
Default Display "offset" with proprietary drivers

Hi

Since I "discovered" the proprietary Linux nVidia driver years ago, I always had an offset (~1 centimeter offset) between the display with the proprietary Linux drivers and the display with free or windows drivers (with the same hardware off course). I saw this on every computer with nVidia Linux drivers. It's no problem for me : some small screen settings and that's all.
But recently, somebody I know switched to Linux. And for him the offset is a problem because his screens doesn't allow a perfect resizing of the display (or more likely he didn't find it). And even if it were possible to solve the problem using the screens settings, there would still be an offset between its windows and linux display.
I didn't find any option in the xorg.conf manpage nor in the nVidia readme to solve this problem.

Do you have any solution ?

Thanks
pinaraf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-06, 11:10 AM   #2
pe1chl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,026
Default Re: Display "offset" with proprietary drivers

Quote:
Originally Posted by pinaraf
I didn't find any option in the xorg.conf manpage nor in the nVidia readme to solve this problem.
Look for descriptions of the modeline, and/or tools like xvidtune that can create modelines by trial-and-error.

In fact, in Linux the user has much more control over the video timing than in Windows.
pe1chl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-06, 01:09 PM   #3
pinaraf
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 30
Default Re: Display "offset" with proprietary drivers

What I tried with Modeline didn't work. I tried with +10+0, but it only broke the dual screen...
pinaraf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-06, 01:28 PM   #4
eri
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Costa Rica, Central America
Posts: 2
Default Re: Display "offset" with proprietary drivers

Take a look at this document:

http://lists.suse.com/archive/suse-l...WINVIEW_README

I have the same problem, i hope this may help to solve it. I'm starting to read it at this moment, if you can dig out anything from there let us know
eri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-06, 02:26 PM   #5
eri
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Costa Rica, Central America
Posts: 2
Default Re: Display "offset" with proprietary drivers

Forget that link, i have found another post in this forum with the solution for that anoying virtual screen issue, here is the link:

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...t=9362&page=34

This is the part that solves this :

You might want to check your /etc/X11/XF86Config-4 file. I had a similar problem caused by screen size being larger than virtual screen size. This is what was causing it:

--------------------

Section "Screen"
Identifier "screen1"
Device "device1"
Monitor "monitor1"
DefaultColorDepth 24

Subsection "Display"
Depth 8
Virtual 1280 1024
EndSubsection

Subsection "Display"
Depth 15
Virtual 1280 1024
EndSubsection

Subsection "Display"
Depth 16
Virtual 1280 1024
EndSubsection

Subsection "Display"
Depth 24
Virtual 1280 1024
EndSubsection
EndSection

--------------------

I had to change it to:

--------------------

Section "Screen"
Identifier "screen1"
Device "device1"
Monitor "monitor1"
DefaultColorDepth 24
Subsection "Display"
Depth 8
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x400"
EndSubsection
Subsection "Display"
Depth 16
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubsection
Subsection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubsection
EndSection

--------------------

It worked for me, i have no more screen border offsets!
eri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-06, 08:34 AM   #6
pe1chl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,026
Default Re: Display "offset" with proprietary drivers

Quote:
Originally Posted by pinaraf
What I tried with Modeline didn't work. I tried with +10+0, but it only broke the dual screen...
That looks more like a MetaModes option. This is different from Modeline.
A modeline looks like this:

Modeline "1024x768" 65.00 1024 1040 1176 1344 768 771 773 806

The different numbers control different aspects of the video timing.
pe1chl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-06, 03:53 PM   #7
pinaraf
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 30
Default Re: Display "offset" with proprietary drivers

Quote:
Originally Posted by pe1chl
That looks more like a MetaModes option. This is different from Modeline.
A modeline looks like this:

Modeline "1024x768" 65.00 1024 1040 1176 1344 768 771 773 806

The different numbers control different aspects of the video timing.
How am I supposed to guess these numbers, especially when I can't access easily the screens ? I found a doc where they explain it, but it doesn't help me.
And why is it needed only with nVidia proprietary driver ? Free nv driver and ATI DRI drivers gave no stupid offset problem.
pinaraf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-06, 05:45 PM   #8
pe1chl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,026
Default Re: Display "offset" with proprietary drivers

I told you before: use xvidtune to adjust by trial-and-error.

This problem is not related to nvidia. When I started with Linux I also wanted to have Windows and Linux output the same, and I had to adjust a modeline as well. This was not on an nvidea card, and it is well over 10 years ago.
pe1chl is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Enhance Max Payne 3, Diablo III with GeForce R300 Drivers News Archived News Items 0 05-22-12 07:30 PM
302.07 (beta) for Linux x86/x86_64 released AaronP NVIDIA Linux 0 05-02-12 10:55 AM
Radeon 9700 not all that? sancheuz Other Desktop Graphics Cards 200 10-12-02 10:31 PM
NVidia Display Drivers screw up KDE Webgraph NVIDIA Linux 11 10-08-02 09:57 PM
Glx mrbig1344 NVIDIA Linux 7 09-30-02 07:45 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.