Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-14-03, 10:45 AM   #1
bntek
Registered User
 
bntek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Berlin, germany
Posts: 5
Send a message via ICQ to bntek
Exclamation Help me

I have:
1,200 mhz amd duron
256 mb ddram
geforse2 mx200 32 mb

Whitch nvidia-linux drivers have i to install in my Redhat Linux 7.2?

Plzzzz give me the full URL

bntek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-03, 11:36 AM   #2
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

You install the ones that NVchooser tells you to install:

ftp://download1.nvidia.com/XFree86_4...1/NVchooser.sh

from:

http://www.nvidia.com/view.asp?IO=li..._ia32_1.0-4191

Assuming you want version 4191 (there are some issues with it, though, so if you run into problems you might want to try 3123 instead).

There is also a great README there (on the 4191 page, that is) that explains exactly what to do.
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-03, 02:28 PM   #3
bntek
Registered User
 
bntek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Berlin, germany
Posts: 5
Send a message via ICQ to bntek
Default

But..what is the meaning of AI32 AI64 and AMD64??
__________________
UnrealTournament1 rulezz
bntek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-03, 05:27 PM   #4
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

IA32 is Intel's name for the instruction set that they first supported with the 386. All PCs' processors support this instruction set, at least as of now. If Itaniums ever become a heck of a lot cheaper, then PCs might start putting them in, and if Opterons ever come out, the same thing might happen, but right now, Itanium is extremely expensive and Opteron doesn't (AFAIK) physically exist yet.

IA64 is Intel's "new" 64-bit "Itanium" chip. You don't have one, don't worry about it.

AMD64 is AMD's 64-bit chips, formerly called Hammer, and now called Opteron. AFAIK these aren't even released yet, so you don't have one of those either.

I know, I know, they need to be described better on nVidia's site.
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-03, 05:42 PM   #5
bntek
Registered User
 
bntek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Berlin, germany
Posts: 5
Send a message via ICQ to bntek
Default

OK, so i have to use ia32, right? I am just a beginner at unix. i always used microsoft bevore. hm...
How to use this NVchooser.sh?
And how to exit form X to console?
Can i use Direct3D in linux?
__________________
UnrealTournament1 rulezz
bntek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-03, 09:53 PM   #6
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

That's what I said, IA32. That was also the page I linked to up above.

How to use NVchooser is explained in the README file, but in short, you can sh NVchooser.sh from a terminal emulator, like xterm, Eterm, aterm, konsole, or whatever.

You exit X by using the logout choice on your window manager's menu. If this menu choice brings you back to a graphical login screen, then you need to log in again, open a terminal, su to root, and do an /sbin/init 3. If you don't get a graphical login screen when you choose "logout", then you'll be out of X completely -- log in and do what you need to in text mode.

And seeing as Direct3D is both COM-based (COM does not exist in Linux) and written by Microsoft, no, it does NOT work in Linux!
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-03, 06:45 AM   #7
bntek
Registered User
 
bntek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Berlin, germany
Posts: 5
Send a message via ICQ to bntek
Default

OK

Now I just not understand, WOT are U meaninQ with "su to root, and do an /sbin/init 3."

and after I installed the drivers, how to get back to X?
__________________
UnrealTournament1 rulezz

Last edited by bntek; 03-15-03 at 06:51 AM.
bntek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-03, 07:31 AM   #8
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

"su to root"

Open a terminal, and type su. Hit return, and then enter your root password. You are now root.

"/sbin/init 3"

In the same terminal session, type exactly that -- /sbin/init 3 -- and hit return. X will exit, and you will be dropped back to a text login prompt. Log in as your normal user and go at it from there. But note that it's probably easier to edit your X config files before exiting X, using a graphical editor (vim is cool, but it takes a while to get used to the interface). You may also want to edit /etc/inittab so that you boot to runlevel 3 -- find the "initdefault" line and change the 5 to a 3. Once you've dropped to text mode and installed the drivers, do a startx (not as root) to test the configuration out. If it works, change the inittab file back and reboot.
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-15-03, 11:36 AM   #9
bntek
Registered User
 
bntek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Berlin, germany
Posts: 5
Send a message via ICQ to bntek
Default

Wov, big thanx, budy. I am sure, I'll have some questions later.

__________________
UnrealTournament1 rulezz
bntek is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.