Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-11-03, 01:04 PM   #13
Kain
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Dubai, UAE
Posts: 1,264
Default

By the way, how would the nVidia GeForce3 Ti 500 compare to the ATI Radeon 9000 Pro on my PC?

Secondly, what is the difference between the ATI Radeon 9000 Pro, 9200 Pro, 9500 Pro, 9600 Pro, and 9700 Pro?
Kain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-03, 03:06 PM   #14
Smokey
Team Rainbow
 
Smokey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 2,273
Default

Well even with your current cpu you will see a big increase. When I bought my GF3 I was using an Athlon700, and know due to bad luck, im using a Duron600 overclocked to 900, in games like MOH, GR I can still run games max details @ 1280*1024.

The gf3 Ti500 would be about the same as the 8500, which is now going to be the 9200 I believe. The 9000 is like the GF4MX cards, its not a DirectX 8 card, so no pixle shaders, the 9500Pro is a gf4 Ti4600 grade of card, I dont know anything about the 9600, and the 9700 Pro is the top of the range at the moment.

A new videocard would give your current system a big boost, and of corse, upgrading the rest of your pc will help
__________________
HTPC/Gaming
| Hiper Type R 580W PSU
| Intel Q9550 @ 4GHz | Gigabyte EP45 UD3R |4x 1024MB OCZ Reaper PC9200 DDR2 | Seagate 320GB/ Maxtor 320GB/ Maxtor 500GB HDD|Sapphire HD5850 | Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Pro | Harmon Kardon AVR135 reciever | Jamo S718 speakers | 42" Plasma 720p (lounge room)-Samsung P2450H (bedroom)
Smokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-03, 03:24 PM   #15
Kain
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Dubai, UAE
Posts: 1,264
Default

Actually, the top-of-the-line is the ATI Radeon 9800 Pro.

So, you're saying that I should get an ATI Radeon 9200 Pro?
Kain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-03, 03:27 PM   #16
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default

The Radeon 9000 is fully DirectX 8.1 compliant - but it's gimped compared to the 8500 in that it has 4 pipelines and the 8500 has 8. I think that's the main difference, but for certain it is DirectX 8.1 compatible.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-03, 03:33 PM   #17
Kain
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Dubai, UAE
Posts: 1,264
Default

Thanks.

Can you please tell me what are ATI's equivilents of the following nVidia cards:

GeForce FX 5800 Ultra
GeForce FX 5600 Ultra
GeForce FX 5200 Ultra
GeForce4 Ti 4800
GeForce4 Ti 4600
GeForce4 Ti 4400
GeForce4 Ti 4200
GeForce3 Ti 500

Thanks!
Kain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-03, 03:56 PM   #18
Smokey
Team Rainbow
 
Smokey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 2,273
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by saturnotaku
The Radeon 9000 is fully DirectX 8.1 compliant - but it's gimped compared to the 8500 in that it has 4 pipelines and the 8500 has 8. I think that's the main difference, but for certain it is DirectX 8.1 compatible.
My bad

The 9800 "will" be the top of the range card when its retail.

To be honest, I really wouldnt bother looking at any of the GF-FX cards, and I was one of the ones here standing by the GF-FX after the reviews/previews!!

It all comes down to price, you buy what you can afford. The 9500 Pro seems to be as good as if not better than the GF4 Ti4600 and I havent seen any details of the 9200 yet myself, so I wont comment on it, but IMO the gf3ti500 is better than the 8500.
__________________
HTPC/Gaming
| Hiper Type R 580W PSU
| Intel Q9550 @ 4GHz | Gigabyte EP45 UD3R |4x 1024MB OCZ Reaper PC9200 DDR2 | Seagate 320GB/ Maxtor 320GB/ Maxtor 500GB HDD|Sapphire HD5850 | Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Pro | Harmon Kardon AVR135 reciever | Jamo S718 speakers | 42" Plasma 720p (lounge room)-Samsung P2450H (bedroom)
Smokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-03, 11:20 PM   #19
AngelGraves13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,383
Default

has anyone been able to run Splinter Cell with AA turned on?? It just won't start on my geforce 4.
AngelGraves13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-03, 08:25 AM   #20
jnd3
Sword Saint
 
jnd3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Alpharetta, GA USA
Posts: 465
Send a message via AIM to jnd3 Send a message via Yahoo to jnd3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 99 to Life
has anyone been able to run Splinter Cell with AA turned on?? It just won't start on my geforce 4.
Splinter Cell has some, aaaaahhhh, issues with antialiasing. On some systems it won't even start up. On others (like mine) you can see lights through solid objects (like Sam, and walls, and doors, and...). The best bet is to just bump up the resolution a bit, then you won't need AA!

Cheers,
JND
__________________
Desktop: Apple iMac 17" // Intel Core Duo 1.83 GHz // 1 GB PC2-5300 // ATI X1600 128 MB // 250 GB HDD // OS 10.4.10

Mobile: Apple PowerBook 12" // PowerPC G4 1.33 GHz // 1.25 GB PC2700 // GeForce FX 5200Go 64 MB // 60 GB // OS 10.4.10

Gaming: XBox 360 Premium // Samsung LNS2651D // Wireless Networking Adapter // SwordSaintJND3
jnd3 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-17-03, 05:13 AM   #21
Max Payne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: South Africa
Posts: 14
Default

Is it really good looking enough to justify the knock in frames it gives your card? Some screenies please.
__________________
Feel the PAYNE!
Max Payne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-03, 05:43 AM   #22
Grechie
Powered By nVidia
 
Grechie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 554
Default

i can have AA on, but like u said i can see through things hehe, but when i try and run 4XS AA n 1600X1200 Reso, (why would i try that ? ) it doesnt load up, just boots me out lol
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 || XFX nForce 790i Ultra || Corsair XMS3 PC10666 DDR3 2 X 2GB || 2 x GTX 295 Quad SLI || Antec 900 || Thermaltake Tough Power 1200Watt
Grechie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"GPU has fallen off the bus" error on 650M unless a CUDA program run first amonakov NVIDIA Linux 0 06-18-12 06:34 PM
Supernatural Splinter Cell: DARK Is A Vampire Stealth RPG News Archived News Items 0 05-12-12 12:00 PM
Thief: Deadly Shadows, Splinter Cell, Anomaly: Warzone Earth and Legacy of Kain: Soul News Archived News Items 0 05-04-12 11:00 AM
Getting the proprietary nvidia driver to run with Debian 3.0 r0 (woody) Katchina404 NVIDIA Linux 9 01-12-03 08:49 AM
On The 333 Boards Does Anyone Run At 166fsb john19055 CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 22 07-30-02 07:39 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.