Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-16-03, 03:18 PM   #1
brummie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Brum, UK!
Posts: 8
Default Noob needs help

Today is my first day with linux and i must say everything is going smoothely so far.

But i dont know which drivers to install for my graphics card.

I have a nvidia geforce 3 ti500, asus a7n8x deluxe and i am using Mandrake 9.0

On the nVidia download page there is 3 packages to download and i dont know which one i should be using, can someone please help me out.

Thanks in advance,

brummie.....
brummie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-03, 04:20 PM   #2
LordMorgul
Electrical Engineer
 
LordMorgul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA
Posts: 872
Default

What to download depends on what distro of linux you are using (in particular the exact kernel version you have!), in short:

nvidia supplies a script titled "nvchooser.sh", get it:
ftp://download1.nvidia.com/XFree86_4...1/NVchooser.sh

run it with:
sh nvchooser.sh

and it will tell you the exact names of files to download and install. You must get 1 GLX file, and 1 kernel module file. The script will inform you which. Follow the directions laid out in the readme supplied by nvidia at the bottom of the drivers page.

You may choose which version you want to use, 31.23 works very well as does 41.91.. altho 41.91 has some specific problems with slow 2d rendering as you can see by reading a few threads here.

USE THAT SCRIPT... however these files *should* be the correct ones for you.

(this is to help you verify and recognize the correct files from the script! not to avoid using it)

http://download.nvidia.com/XFree86_4...-4191.i386.rpm

http://download.nvidia.com/XFree86_4...k90up.i586.rpm

Last edited by LordMorgul; 03-16-03 at 04:33 PM.
LordMorgul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-03, 05:36 PM   #3
brummie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Brum, UK!
Posts: 8
Default

i have downloaded the nvchooser to my temp folder, how do i run it?
It associates with vi???

EDIT: Dont worry i figured it out thanks!

Last edited by brummie; 03-16-03 at 05:39 PM.
brummie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-03, 06:06 PM   #4
brummie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Brum, UK!
Posts: 8
Default

Done all that now thanks!

But now i've lost my GUI boots straight into DOS like login

Any idea's?
brummie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-03, 06:26 PM   #5
LordMorgul
Electrical Engineer
 
LordMorgul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA
Posts: 872
Default

The answer to that depends on why it changed. That can be found in two files, (provided as I think.. that mandrake uses this file) the first:
/etc/inittab

in the lines
# Default runlevel. The runlevels used by RHS are:
# 0 - halt (Do NOT set initdefault to this)
# 1 - Single user mode
# 2 - Multiuser, without NFS (The same as 3, if you do not have networking)
# 3 - Full multiuser mode
# 4 - unused
# 5 - X11
# 6 - reboot (Do NOT set initdefault to this)
#
id:3:initdefault:

if the 3 in the last line is a 3.. then you start in terminal mode, if it is a 5.. then you had an error which caused you to 'revert' to terminal mode.

If an error occurred, then check:
/var/log/XFree86.0.log

For any possible error messages or warnings.

In the meantime, the command 'telinit x' will change this user mode while the machine is running, replace x with the number you want to change to.
LordMorgul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-03, 06:53 PM   #6
brummie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Brum, UK!
Posts: 8
Default

Thanks for your helpm8
I have now sorted it out.

I forgot to put the nvidia where nv is in the config file you have to enter

I ahve a fully working system now - well nearly, just need a 3com driver


Thx again

brummie.....
brummie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-03, 07:20 PM   #7
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

3Com driver?

Do I hear anyone yelling "3c59x!"?

Yeah, it's me.



(Of course, this only applies if you have a PCI 3Com card, but I'd think you do)
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-03, 05:51 AM   #8
brummie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Brum, UK!
Posts: 8
Default

Thx m8

but how do i go about installing it? I cant figure it out.
brummie is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-17-03, 08:45 AM   #9
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

You shouldn't need to install it. Every kernel since (I'd guess) 2.4.0 has had it supported.

Try /sbin/modprobe 3c59x and see what (if anything) happens. If you don't get any errors in your logs, then you've got a card that that driver can support.

Mandrake's installer should have set this all up for you, though...
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-03, 02:10 PM   #10
Cheshiremackat
Crush K8
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 71
Default 3com?

What do you need the 3com driver for? Are you using a 3com ethernet card? Why not just use the one on your A7N 8X delux board...

If you need the ethernet driver you need to get the
nforce platform driver (nvidia website) for mandrake and install it... you will then be able to use the ethernet port on the motherboard

_CMK
Cheshiremackat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-03, 04:41 PM   #11
brummie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Brum, UK!
Posts: 8
Default

Mandake installer didnot install it for me

I cant even see it listed in the hardware manager.
Nvidia on is working fine but i need the other 3com working too for ICS.

Would it just be easier to buy a PCI LAN card you think?

Final note: should i put this in the other linux section

cheers

brummie.....
brummie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mandrake 9.0 or RH 8.0 for a Linux Noob?? jthompson7051 NVIDIA Linux 5 10-08-02 11:46 PM
Redhat 8.0, no rpm, can't compile. Ironphil NVIDIA Linux 6 10-02-02 04:13 PM
Linux newbies start here. voodoo14 NVIDIA Linux 4 09-30-02 09:40 PM
Linux performance of ut2003 Please Read... Linewbie NVIDIA Linux 17 09-23-02 10:02 AM
Noob needs help with driver (Mandrake) khelvig NVIDIA Linux 1 09-17-02 02:00 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.