Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-16-03, 06:42 PM   #1
tom2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 12
Default No chance for 'rpmbuild --rebuild ...'?

Hello here,

cause i had no chance to enable 'dma' for 'RedHat 8.0' to see 'dvd-films' or hear music from 'cd' (also i had tried to modify '/modules.conf' and 'hdparm' or '.../sysconfig/harddisks') i was lucky by finding "RedHat-beta-phoebe". But in this version 'nvidia Ge Force 2 Go' (i don't remember exactly, which graphic card is built in) was listed during the installation. Only the thing is i need this special driver 'NVIDIA_kernel-3.1.2 rpm.src' and ' NVIDIA_GLX..', so when i try to install the '
*.src' 'Nvidia'-driver (like before : rpmbuild --rebuild ..) this message appeared in the 'gnome-terminal':

"install: cannot stat `NVdriver': No such file or directory
error: Bad exit status from /var/tmp/rpm-tmp.10141 (%install)
RPM build errors:
user buildmeister does not exist - using root
group buildmeister does not exist - using root"
user buildmeister does not exist - using root
group buildmeister does not exist - using root
Bad exit status from /var/tmp/rpm-tmp.10141 (%install)
[root@rehdat8 makaveli]# cd /usr/src/redhat/RPMS/i386/"
I have tested for all the required 'files'.

May be someone has found a way to install that drivers, (shipped through that messages) - for a little help i would be glad.

Best Regards

Thomas
tom2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-03, 08:28 PM   #2
Wolfman [TWP]
Geforce 8800 GTS 512
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 396
Default

Did you install the kernel Source?? You can't rebuild the drivers (Or any other program for that matter) without the kernel source. In the RH install it's NOT installed by default. In RH8.0 in one of the menu's (Not sure which one off hand, I'm on a Windoze system at the moment), it will allow you to add extra programs to the system. You should see the kernel source in one of it's menu's. Just add that, then use the RH up2date to update it to the current kernel version. Once you have done that, the rebuild should run flawlessly.

Wolf
Wolfman [TWP] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-03, 06:11 AM   #3
tom2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 12
Default Re:

...thanks for response!
but i have installed the 'kernel-source' too.

Cheers

Thomas
tom2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-03, 08:39 AM   #4
Wolfman [TWP]
Geforce 8800 GTS 512
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 396
Default

Which driver are you trying to install?? Is it the 31.23 drivers??
Wolfman [TWP] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-03, 09:47 AM   #5
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

Hang on... are you using Phoebe?

If so, you can't use the drivers, at least not without a lot of feature-disabling. See this thread for how they got it to work, by patching the nVidia drivers so that they'll compile (some major kernel interfaces got changed in Phoebe's kernel, and they need to disable thread-local storage for the nVidia GLX drivers to not bring the machine to a crashing halt by trampling on certain x86 segment registers that aren't otherwise used).
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-03, 01:14 PM   #6
tom2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 12
Default Re:

Thank you for answer!

My english is not the best - but i think and that is right i tried it on "RedHat-Phoebe" it's to 'heavy' for me to translate and to make! So i will go back to '8.0', where i can install these '1.0-3123.i386.rpm' driver from'nvidia'.
But if someone will find a 'simplier' way to install the driver from 'nvidia' for 'redhat.phoebe' i will be lucky to hear about it. (E-Mail:torump@netscape.net). I have changed to "Phoebe" because it was/ is impossible to enable 'DMA' to play 'dvd' music and film; (also when i add the line 'options ide-dma ..) to '../modules.conf' or activate the harddisks file) - gnome plays mad.

Cheers

Thomas Rump
tom2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-03, 05:07 PM   #7
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

There probably isn't a simpler way to do it. RedHat decided they wanted the latest bleeding-edge kernel features, and those bleeding-edge features conflict with nVidia's current assumptions in their driver. That's the basic problem.

What is the problem with Gnome when you enable DMA? Perhaps that would be easier to fix. Maybe.

You might also be able to find a newer version of Gnome that wouldn't have that problem... maybe. Of course, if the problem is a buggy IDE chipset, then nothing Gnome does is going to fix it, either, so yeah.
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-03, 08:36 AM   #8
tom2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 12
Default Re:

..thank's a lot for response.
I've also looked for a way to update 'gnome' by 'redhat' - but haven't found a simple way to download these couple of '*tar.gz-files' and to install them (all in the right way - for "RedHat 8.0")?

May be someone have 'practised' that 'path'!
For a little help i would be glad!

Thomas
tom2 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-18-03, 11:55 AM   #9
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

Well, Gnome appears to be fairly complicated. There is one way to install v2.2 from source documented here (and recently published on Freshmeat as well):

http://www.karubik.de/gig/

But there are 97 packages you're going to need, in order to get a usable Gnome development environment. Some of these you may already have (auto-anything, m4, libtool, python, freetype2, pkgconfig, jade, gnupg, perhaps others) packages for, either already installed or on your RH CDs. Check through the list, and see what you already have (check versions too, though).

The others are going to need to be built from source, which is definitely a non-trivial thing to do.

Have you tried a search of rpmfind for new Gnome 2.2 RPMs that might work with RH 8.0?
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-03, 05:08 AM   #10
tom2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 12
Default Re:

Hello,

if i had not that diffculties by playing 'dvd' , where it is neccessary for to enable 'dma', with that line: "options ide-cd dma=1" in '/etc/modules.conf' - 'startx' will be ok.
But with that 'line' in '/modules.conf' 'gnome' don''t find the panel, or the 'redhat-logo' don't disappear on the screen and the icons where disappeared - don't ask me how it 'hangs' together.

So i try 'Garnome'...

Thanks for your answer.

Thomas
tom2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Scan Your PC For A Chance To Win A Custom-Painted PC! News Archived News Items 0 06-07-12 06:50 AM
Scan Your PC For A Chance To Win A Custom-Painted PC! News Archived News Items 0 06-05-12 04:00 AM
Sitting at Work Increases Your Chance of Dying News Archived News Items 0 05-27-12 08:40 AM
European regulators offer Google chance to settle antitrust violations News Archived News Items 0 05-21-12 10:10 AM
Can't rebuild Srouce RPM for Nvidia in Linux Symntc NVIDIA Linux 16 08-15-02 03:28 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.