Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > General Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-21-06, 04:24 PM   #1
Wolf-R1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6
Default Dual NIC system-only one at a time will work

I have a Tyan S2895 system board that is a replacement for a failed board of the same make/model. The install of CentOS goes fine and there are no errors. I can even update the system with the all the latest updates. As long as I have only 1 NIC functioning all is well. Less than 5 minutes after plugging in NIC 2 and bringing it up both NICs will stop sending traffic. Sometimes I will see "buffer is full" error messages. Occasionally I can bring both interfaces down and bring one back up to get things working again but as soon as I have both interfaces running networking stops functioning. There are no messages in the system logs or anywhere else for that matter.

Originally I had CentOS 4.3 x86_64 on it and it ran fine until it failed. At this time I've tried both versions of CentOS 4.3 (32 and 64 bit) and have the same networking problem. For the record Fedora Core 5 and Windwos 2003 Server do not exhibit this problem when installed on this hardware. Just CentOS shows this problem.

Anyone have any ideas? Is there a newer nVidia networking kernel module floating around out there that I can use?

System:
Tyan S2895
2x Opteron 246
8x Corsair 512MB (4GB total)
3Ware 9500S-8 RAID controller with 4 SATA drives attached
Wolf-R1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-06, 04:26 PM   #2
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Dual NIC system-only one at a time will work

Assuming that your NICs are both the onboard, this is a known forcedeth bug in older versions of forcedeth. You need to use a much newer kernel than what ships in CentOS kernels.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-06, 04:49 PM   #3
Wolf-R1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6
Default Re: Dual NIC system-only one at a time will work

Thanks for the response. I'm starting to see that in my reading.
Wolf-R1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fedora KDE 16 Geforce GTX260 and slow gtk applications Rendering NVIDIA Linux 10 07-11-13 07:02 AM
Saturday Crapshoot: Quest For Glory 4 1/2 News Gaming Headlines 0 06-09-12 11:10 AM
Max Payne 3 system requirements updated, new PC screenshots released News Archived News Items 0 05-28-12 06:49 AM
Post working out problem with 40.xx trying to work problem out, ONLY system specs b5fan NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 11 10-19-02 09:17 AM
Works great the first time! whoever NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 12 08-21-02 07:49 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.