Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-02-06, 09:43 AM   #1
yfh2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 19
Default Twinview options breaks display with new 7300LE

Hello,

I have a problem with my new 7300LE

I had a MX440 which was working fine with my two monitors (LCD pannel on VGA plug, and projectir on S-VHS)

I have attached the corresponding report for this card.

Now, I have exactly the same settings with my new machine in xorg.conf
The point is : when I # out the lines from Option "Twinview" to the end of the Device section, I get a proper display.

When I try to use Twinview (just by uncommenting this line, for instance), I get a black screen. X is still working because the keyboard works, and I can blind type the machine down.

Last : with my 440, EDID seemd to work but not with this 7300LE apparently.

Any ideas ?
Attached Files
File Type: zip nvidia-bug-report.MX440.zip (32.4 KB, 130 views)
File Type: zip nvidia-bug-report.7300.zip (20.3 KB, 136 views)
yfh2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-06, 11:58 AM   #2
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Twinview options breaks display with new 7300LE

I'm not clear on the problem you're reporting. You say you get a black screen, yet you're trying to do TwinView. Are both display devices black, or just one?

I also have a few questions:
0) Does this reproduce with the 1.0-8762 driver as well?
1) If you switch to vga=normal in your GRUB configuration (and reboot), does that have any impact?
2) If you remove the ConnectedMonitor option from your xorg.conf does that have any impact?

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-06, 03:41 PM   #3
yfh2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 19
Default Re: Twinview options breaks display with new 7300LE

Thx for your diligence.

I'll try to answer :

-> Are both display devices black, or just one?
As a matter of fact, I had not plugged the tv-out so far. Plugging it gives the following results :
* at boot, I lose the CRT, and everything plays on the tv-out
* when the driver launches, two cases :
. if I have commented out the lines, the display switches back to CRT
. if I have the "twinview" lines (like in the posted file), the display
stays on tv-out, and I have nothing on CRT. Meta mode toggling is not
producing any eeffet (Ctl Alt +)

Last, and very bad surprise, the image is trembling vertically, while it is perfectly stable on my MX440

0) Does this reproduce with the 1.0-8762 driver as well?
Yes

1) If you switch to vga=normal in your GRUB configuration (and reboot), does that have any impact?
Only on console width at boot

2) If you remove the ConnectedMonitor option from your xorg.conf does that have any impact?
yes, I lose also the tv-out
yfh2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-06, 11:44 PM   #4
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Twinview options breaks display with new 7300LE

You stated "at boot, I lose the CRT". That can't be an nvidia driver issue.

Have you tried reversing the order of the parameters that you're using in the ConnectedMonitor option?

I'd like to see an updated bug report that reflects these changes.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-06, 02:29 AM   #5
yfh2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 19
Default Re: Twinview options breaks display with new 7300LE

> You stated "at boot, I lose the CRT". That can't be an nvidia driver issue.

Agreed. Still an alloyance.


> Have you tried reversing the order of the parameters that you're using in the ConnectedMonitor option?

Yes, I had tried, with no changes. Here are the logs
Attached Files
File Type: zip nvidia-bug-report.zip (41.3 KB, 123 views)
yfh2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-06, 06:12 PM   #6
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Twinview options breaks display with new 7300LE

This looks like a potential problem:
(--) NVIDIA(0): --- EDID for CRT-0 ---
(--) NVIDIA(0):
(--) NVIDIA(0): No EDID Available.
(--) NVIDIA(0):
(--) NVIDIA(0): --- End of EDID for CRT-0 ---
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-06, 04:53 PM   #7
yfh2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 19
Default Re: Twinview options breaks display with new 7300LE

Well, it's a real problem ...
Though, I have solved this issue : I have connected my LDP to a DVI/VGA connector, and ... voilą

The point was that on this card (Albatron 7300LE 256), the VGA and S-video output are 'mixed'. They are only a single end of 'twinview', and can't display both at the same time.

While the other end is the DVI plug, a DVI/VGA connector did the trick.
yfh2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
302.07 (beta) for Linux x86/x86_64 released AaronP NVIDIA Linux 0 05-02-12 10:55 AM
Glx mrbig1344 NVIDIA Linux 7 09-30-02 07:45 AM
Dual Display with main CRT, and secondary TV-out BlackDogg NVIDIA Linux 3 08-10-02 10:52 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.