Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-05-06, 11:25 AM   #1
beatjunkie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 4
Default ti4600

Hi there

Wondering if anyone can help me...

I had a ti4600 installed into my machine, and it works 100's.. now i moved the card to another box of mine.. a 3300 sempron, and winfast mobo, now ive installed the lastest forceware drivers, and agp and mobo drivers for the board, but when i try play games it shows all these lines, all different colors, and or dots, and all the colors in the game is incorrect, however desktop use its fine..

Does anyone have any idea whats wrong with it? or what it needs to work properly.. or do u think the vga card is gone?

Any help would be muchly appreciated
Kind Regards
Beatjunkie
beatjunkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-06, 11:50 AM   #2
einstein_314
w00t!!
 
einstein_314's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,905
Default Re: ti4600

Wow, a Ti4600. I used to have one of those!! Great card. Hmm, do you're saying you get flashing dots everywhere? Like green and red? Or are they patches of textures that are flashing? That may be artifacting, caused by overheating. I'd first check to make sure the heatsink and fan is still attached properly. And make sure the fan is working, if it isn't, the card is probably overheating and causing the artifacting.

Then I'd try a different driver. Maybe an older one. Maybe even the one that came with the card originally on the driver cd?

Hope this helps a little.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2GHz (9 x 355) w/ Swiftec APOGEE GTX Waterblock|| Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Edition
eVGA 8800 GTX Superclocked Edition @ 675/1150 w/ DangerDen 8800GTX Waterblock|| 4x1GB Mushkin XP2 PC2-8500
X-Fi Fatal1ty 64MB || PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W || Seagate 7200.10 320 GB || Dell 2407WFP
Logitech Z-5300 Speakers || Sennheiser HD555's || Logitech G7 || Logitech G15 || Windows Vista Ultimate x64
einstein_314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-06, 12:06 PM   #3
beatjunkie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 4
Default Re: ti4600

Yeh, card still runs well, or used too

fan and heatsink is still working 100's..

I tried drivers earlier, coz i thought it might be these latest drivers that it didnt like, so as u said, i installed the originals, afta uninstalling the others obviously, then installed a later version, but not latest, and then the latest, all 3 have the same problem

Here are some screenshots of whats happening

http://www.hostingsolutions.co.za/1.gif
http://www.hostingsolutions.co.za/2.gif
http://www.hostingsolutions.co.za/3.gif
http://www.hostingsolutions.co.za/4.gif
beatjunkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-06, 01:22 AM   #4
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: ti4600

Hmm... you know- my 5950U did the same thing with FEAR. With my card it was a BIOS issue. For some reason FEAR didn't like the ASUS proprietary BIOS that much.

After researching, I found that flashing to another 5950U BIOS solved the problem. Though I have yet to try it myself, you might see if maybe another BIOS in your card would help.

Also, try underclocking the card just a bit. Maybe uninstall the video card drivers, and then uninstall the mobo drivers- then reinstall the mobo drivers first and the video card drivers last and see if that helps.

That is kind of strange that the card is doing that though... I highly doubt it is going. My GF has a Ti4200 in her rig and it is going strong.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-06, 04:02 AM   #5
beatjunkie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 4
Default Re: ti4600

Hey

Thanks for the advice, i tried flashin the bios, but i didnt think it would be that, coz its not only Cod2 that does it, its all games..! so yeh.. but was worth a try... still not working..

Any more suggestions? :P
beatjunkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-06, 12:05 PM   #6
Tygerwoody
mega ultra God Tit Lord
 
Tygerwoody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,934
Default Re: ti4600

Ti4600 = Best Video Card in the Universe.... I still use mine for my backup machine. Paid almost $500 for it new.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadhog View Post
if tygerwoody says its bad, its bad.
Tygerwoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-06, 02:15 AM   #7
beatjunkie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 4
Default Re: ti4600

Yeh, ive had the card for about 3 or 4 years and neva had a problem, and still runs most of the new games, definately a great card...

Dunno, whats happening with it now tho lol! :P
beatjunkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-06, 12:35 AM   #8
snowmanwithahat
Snowy
 
snowmanwithahat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 974
Default Re: ti4600

how is the cooling in your new case you moved it into? it could just honestly be overheating because of bad airflow
__________________
---Gaming Rig---
Q6600 3.4ghz (378x9) - 1.5v
Gigabyte EP45-UD3P
8gb (4x2gb) OCZ Gold DDR2-800 (5-4-4-12)
MSI+ASUS GTX 470 SLI
Dell u3011 IPS Display
HP 22" Auxiliary Monitor
256gb Western Digital Silicon Edge Blue SSD
5x2tb RAID-5 Array
750W PC P&C PSU
Windows 7 Pro 64-Bit & Ubuntu 10.04 64-bit

---Gaming Laptop---
ASUS G53JW
Core i7 740QM
16gb DDR3
Nvidia GTX 460m
1tb WD HDD
120gb Corsair SSD

Join the NvNews Folding @ Home Team
snowmanwithahat is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-05-06, 04:10 PM   #9
ricercar
fugue master
 
ricercar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: silicon valley
Posts: 1,603
Default Re: ti4600

based on my experience with NV25/NV28,
- pics 1-2 look like driver problem
- pic 3 is a graphics RAM problem (hardware)
- pic 4 is a GPU problem (hardware)
__________________
I used to drive a Heisenberg, but whenever I'd glance at the speedometer, I'd get lost.
ricercar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-06, 04:14 AM   #10
Delbert
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Station X
Posts: 517
Default Re: ti4600

try dropping the AGP rate to x4 ... also try disabling Fast Writes in Bios ( this caused a similar issue with my old 4200Ti ).
Best of luck.
Delbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale: GF4 Ti4600 Preacher7pm For Sale/Trade 3 10-10-02 06:31 AM
Mandrake 9 / G4 TI4600 / Long error list... Fluxism NVIDIA Linux 13 10-03-02 10:27 PM
For Sale - Visiontek Ti4600 and a couple other things... Cutter For Sale/Trade 3 09-24-02 09:34 PM
Ti4600 on Gaming Issues marqmajere Gaming Central 22 09-21-02 05:22 PM
Visiontek GeForce 4 Ti4600 for sale!!! mcortz_2000 For Sale/Trade 11 08-20-02 11:47 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.