Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-05-06, 11:53 AM   #1
Altron
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4
Default Can't get Geforce 6600 AGP to work

I have:

Intel Pentium 4 400MZ
Intel SDRAM 400 MZ board
RAM: 1 GIG
MSI Geforce 6600(GeForce 6600 256 MB with AGP bridge chip) The card is PCI with an nvidia bridge chip to make it an AGP card. It's not a GT card

I am using Ubuntu 6 Beta 5 with Mepis

The nvidia drivers are:

linux-restricted-modules-2.6.15-23-386 version: 2.6.15.11-1
nvidia-glx version: 1.0.8762 2.6.15.11-2
nvidia-kernel-common version: 20051028
xserver-xorg-driver-nv 1:1.0.1.5-0unbuntu4

The computer starts up and logs in but the graphics don't start up or work and the log outputs:

Running nvidia-bug-report.sh...


ERROR: NV-CONTROL extension not found on this Display.


ERROR: Unable to determine number of NVIDIA GPUs on ':0.0'.


ERROR: Unable to determine number of NVIDIA Frame Lock Devices on ':0.0'.

complete.

The file nvidia-bug-report.log has been created; please send this report,
along with a description of your bug, to linux-bugs@nvidia.com.

and the nvidia log report ZIP is attached

Thanks
Attached Files
File Type: zip nvidia-bug-report.log.zip (26.6 KB, 139 views)
Altron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-06, 03:16 PM   #2
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Can't get Geforce 6600 AGP to work

According to your bug report, you're using the vesa X driver, not the nvidia X driver. Please see the NVIDIA driver README for instructions on how to configure X to use the nvidia X driver.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-06, 08:12 AM   #3
Altron
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4
Default Re: Can't get Geforce 6600 AGP to work

I tried using the nvidia-xorg file but didn't work. So I'll will try manually now.
Altron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-06, 10:38 AM   #4
Altron
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4
Default Re: Can't get Geforce 6600 AGP to work

In my Xorg.conf file the "nvidia" option was put in after I installed the driver through my OS Center but the "dri" and "GlCore" lines were not commented out. I commented them out and then added the "NvAGP" "3" option. since maybe it's an AGP problem.

I'll try rebooting with that.

EDIT: Also could it be a problem with the restricted module file loaded in?
Altron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-06, 10:57 AM   #5
Altron
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4
Default Re: Can't get Geforce 6600 AGP to work

Not working I just took it out and my Geforce 4200Ti works fine with the same settings. I wonder what it is.
Altron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-06, 10:58 AM   #6
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Can't get Geforce 6600 AGP to work

I'll need to see a bug report which captures the problem when using the nvidia X driver.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What You Can Expect From GeForce GRID News Archived News Items 0 06-04-12 04:20 PM
Nvidia GeForce 301.42 WHQL drivers DSC NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 5 05-29-12 10:12 PM
New GPU from Nvidia Announced Today, the GeForce GTX 670 News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 01:50 PM
Gainward Unleashes the Sexy GeForce GTX 670 Phantom Graphics Card, Also launches the News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 09:28 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.