Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-25-06, 02:14 PM   #1
nishnvn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3
Default Black screen with FC5

I have a Geforce 6600 video card. I have two harddisk. On one I have old data and in the other I have installed FC5. I also installed the nvidia drivers. startx is failing. Atleast I am able to login in the text mode. I had to get some data from the other harddisk. instead of just mounting the same I just changed the boot order and made the older disk primary. Now while booting it doesn't even show the text. The screen is complete black. I tried disconnecting this hardisk so that booting will now happen from the newer disk having FC5 so that atleast I have the text screen but it did not help. Screen is still working fine as I tested the same with my laptop running windows. I donot know whether it is a card issue or driver issue.
How can I get back to the stage where atleast I get the text screen then I will try out other suggestions mentioned in forums here.

thanks,
nishant
nishnvn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-06, 05:13 PM   #2
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Black screen with FC5

Please generate and post an nvidia-bug-report.log.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-06, 06:45 AM   #3
nishnvn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3
Default Re: Black screen with FC5

as I have mentioned in my post, I get a completely black screen right from the time I boot the machine. I cannot see anything. I cannot type in anything. Once I get out of the black screen I might be able to generate the log. The screen says that the frequency is not optimum.

Regards,
Nishant
nishnvn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-06, 11:18 AM   #4
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Black screen with FC5

You'll need to boot to runlevel 3 after experiencing this problem, and generate the bug report.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-06, 03:03 AM   #5
nishnvn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3
Default Re: Black screen with FC5

thanks Lonni for answering.

I always used to login at level 3 ie text mode for me. After that I used to startx.

The problem I am facing now is that I am getting a blank screen right from the start. ie even while booting up it will not show any message. I cannot see any thing.

Earlier it was atleast showing text. I just changed the boot sequence of the harddisks (one having FC5 and the other having FC4). And now I donot even get text display. Since I cannot see anything I cannot revert the boot sequence. I tried unplugging the new harddisk so that it boots from the older harddisk but that didnot work.

Can you suggest anything that I can check? I have checked the cabling. I have checked the monitor and the brightness of the monitor etc.

Regards,
Nishant
nishnvn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GT240M - black screen with newer drivers > 275.33 and win 7 doktor5000 NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series 1 07-08-12 11:17 AM
[9800gt] Xorg black screen after installing nvidia driver HacKurx NVIDIA Linux 1 06-07-12 01:29 PM
Black screen after switching between graphical virtual consoles five times rrr-wtf NVIDIA Linux 1 05-21-12 04:40 PM
Black screen and lockup on startx. redmoose NVIDIA Linux 4 09-18-02 11:53 AM
kernel 2.4.19 and 2960 -> black screen osterhase NVIDIA Linux 7 08-22-02 06:24 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.