Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-14-06, 05:01 AM   #1
Christian.ry
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
Exclamation Hardware 3D only on 1 of 2 Screens (Linux)

Hello gyus,

I have a linux workstation and would like to use hardware 3D (quad_buffered) stereo.

(SUSE Enterprise Linux 9, NVidia Quadro4 750GL DH, shutter glasses attached).

This works fine with only _one_ screen (CRT Monitor).

However, now I want to use 2 screens.
- 1 TFT (not able to do 3D)
- 1 CRT for hardware 3D


I was able to work out 3 configurations, all work but none does what I need:

1) TwinView
Enables me to use ONE Desktop which is 1280+1280 pixels (both monitors width). I can drag windows from one to the other.
However, quad_buffered hardware 3D doesn't work.

2) Dualscreen (I think that's what it's called)
quad_buffered hardware 3D works (on the CRT of course). Desktop is also 1280+1280 width, but windows cannot be dragged from one to the other. Therefore useless to me (for other reasons).

3) Clonescreen (again, I think that's what they call it)
quad_buffered hardware 3D works also, but Desktop is only 1280 width. The same output on two screens doesn't make any sense to me.


My Questions are:
- Is it at all possible to get quad_buffered hardware 3D working with this config? I.e.: with windows movable from one screen to the other?
- would a second (then PCI) graphics card help?
- Can anybody point me to a place where this is explained (XF86Config)?


Thanks a million for any hints!
christian



PS:
I can send my configs, but this would totally clutter this mesg.
Christian.ry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-06, 01:30 PM   #2
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Hardware 3D only on 1 of 2 Screens (Linux)

You stated that "quad_buffered hardware 3D doesn't work." in TwinView. That sounds like a known bug. Please generate and attach an nvidia-bug-report.log.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-06, 02:08 PM   #3
JaXXoN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Munich
Posts: 910
Default Re: Hardware 3D only on 1 of 2 Screens (Linux)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Christian.ry
Hello gyus,
2) Dualscreen (I think that's what it's called)
quad_buffered hardware 3D works (on the CRT of course). Desktop is also 1280+1280 width, but windows cannot be dragged from one to the other.
You can tie the two screens together with xinerama to again
being able to move windows between the two screens
(however, i don't know if this will also work with quadbuffering,
but it should, i think)

Please find attached a zip file with a bunch of multihead example
configuration files. The configuration you are interessted in is
"xorg.conf-3200x1200_dualhead-2x1-xinerama-dualview".

regards

Bernhard
Attached Files
File Type: zip xorg.conf-multihead-examples.zip (20.3 KB, 115 views)
JaXXoN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-06, 04:01 AM   #4
Christian.ry
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
Default Re: Hardware 3D only on 1 of 2 Screens (Linux)

Thanks JaXXon,

I modified the config file to my needs, the stereo option(s) have to be included in both screens (even thoug the TFT does not support it).

Works perfectly now!
christian

PS
The logfile I didn't indicate any errors before.
Christian.ry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-06, 08:01 PM   #5
JaXXoN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Munich
Posts: 910
Default Re: Hardware 3D only on 1 of 2 Screens (Linux)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Christian.ry
Works perfectly now!
Nice to hear that the "xinerama-dualview" variant is working for
you, but i would suggest still sending in an nvidia-bug-report for
the twinview variant to assist nvidia fixing a potential bug
(see Lonni's post, above).

regards

Bernhard
JaXXoN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-06, 04:16 AM   #6
Christian.ry
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
Default Re: Hardware 3D only on 1 of 2 Screens (Linux)

Ok, you're right. sorry.

I'll attach a zip file including the Twinview-XF86Config file I used (where stereo didn't work) and the nvidia-bug-report.log file created while this config running.

(the board wouldn't allow me to use /[code], the msg got too long)

cheers,
christian

config.bug-report.zip
Christian.ry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-06, 07:53 AM   #7
JaXXoN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Munich
Posts: 910
Default Re: Hardware 3D only on 1 of 2 Screens (Linux)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Christian.ry
(the board wouldn't allow me to use /[code], the msg got too long)
Just zip the nvidia-bug-report.log and attach it to your post using
the "Manage Attachments" button below. I think the config will
not be helpfull for nvidia to track down the problem.

regards

Bernhard
JaXXoN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-06, 07:58 AM   #8
Christian.ry
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
Default Re: Hardware 3D only on 1 of 2 Screens (Linux)

dont't worry, as I wrote, it's allready included.
Christian.ry is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-16-06, 08:06 AM   #9
JaXXoN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Munich
Posts: 910
Default Re: Hardware 3D only on 1 of 2 Screens (Linux)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Christian.ry
dont't worry, as I wrote, it's allready included.
I see, sorry for the missunderstanding.

regards

Bernhard
JaXXoN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-06, 09:03 AM   #10
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Hardware 3D only on 1 of 2 Screens (Linux)

Christian.ry,
Thanks for the bug report. Stereo is known to be broken on NV25 GPU based cards in 1.0-8762. This bug will be resolved in the first 1.0-9xxx series driver.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upcoming Linux Hardware Benchmarks For June News Archived News Items 0 06-09-12 11:10 AM
nVidia Linux drivers with Linux on Mac, help? Thetargos NVIDIA Linux 0 05-13-12 12:52 PM
302.07 (beta) for Linux x86/x86_64 released AaronP NVIDIA Linux 0 05-02-12 09:55 AM
Mandrake Linux 9.0 (Dolphin) now available | comments? volt General Linux 10 10-19-02 10:13 PM
hardware T&L nosrema NVIDIA Linux 2 09-14-02 02:35 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.