Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-17-02, 09:59 AM   #13
john19055
 
john19055's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: GREENVILLE,TX
Posts: 3,857
Default

How does the A7V333 or the KT333 chipset don't support a 166bus if you unlock yhe XP it will easily do 333 for the proc and the memory runs at 333 .
john19055 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-02, 09:01 PM   #14
TheOneKEA
Fifteen-K Saiyan Bastard
 
TheOneKEA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Somewhere in England, waiting for ROTK and drooling over the A64 3000+
Posts: 417
Send a message via ICQ to TheOneKEA Send a message via AIM to TheOneKEA Send a message via Yahoo to TheOneKEA
Default

I never said the KT333 couldn't run a 166MHz CPU FSB clock; it's just not official. Besides, I don't think any Athlon CPU except the 2x00+ would easily support a 166MHz FSB clock stably, IMO.

Last edited by TheOneKEA; 08-18-02 at 06:52 AM.
TheOneKEA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-02, 09:07 PM   #15
netviper13
Treehugger
 
netviper13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 942
Default

Well we should at least see how the Hammer will perform, as the Opteron line IS expected to ship this year. Hammer performance might be 1-5% less due to smaller cache and such, but it should give a pretty good estimate.

Also, I don't really doubt the Northbridge-on-chip solution, as that Hammer chip running at 800mhz that we saw previewed certainly kicked some butt.
netviper13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-02, 08:13 PM   #16
DaSnIpE
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

They might have to disable the northbridge on-chip, because of DDR-II coming out soon as well.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-02, 01:26 AM   #17
Cotita
Nvidia God
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 341
Default

I think VIA should skip a 333mhz bus and go for 400mhz.

Epox mobos can easily reach 200mhz (400 DDR) speeds even with the PCI/AGP overclocked.

Besides running the bus and memory asynchronously gives a neglible performance increase.
__________________
Sometimes I hate being right everytime.
Cotita is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-02, 03:00 AM   #18
StealthHawk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

you can overclock Athlon FSB's to 400?
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-02, 02:03 PM   #19
PsychoSy
 
PsychoSy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Monroe, MI
Posts: 489
Send a message via ICQ to PsychoSy Send a message via AIM to PsychoSy
Default

Here's another VIA embarrassment from Jasper of VIAHardware...

Quote:
VIA officially announced their KT400 chipset for the AMD Athlon line of processors last week at QuakeCon. The live demo on the chipset was less then impressive however. Following up roughly 1000 people to watch John Carmack's speech, 15 people or so stuck around to watch what VIA had to show off. VIA had spent a lot of money to be at QuakeCon and to appeal to more of the gaming side of things, however the live demo of KT400 running Quake3 saw continued crashes. Overheating ram was blamed. Despite this embarrassing demo, VIA had great support from their motherboard partners who were showing off many KT400 boards as we showed you in our QuakeCon coverage.
So, let me get this straight: DDR 400 runs the Q3 and Doom 3 demos smoothly on Nforce, SiS, and Intel chipsets, but once its paired with the VIA KT400, the RAM suddenly and inexplicibly overheats resulting in crashes?!?



Sounds more like VIA dropped the ball again with their chipset!
__________________
[b][i]A man's ambition must be small,
To write his name on a s**t-house wall.[/b][/i]
PsychoSy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VIA's $49 APC Listed for Pre-Order, Sells Out News Archived News Items 0 06-12-12 06:40 AM
Anyone benchmark KT266, KT266A, KT333 and KT400? Needa916 CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 7 10-09-02 08:34 AM
Soltek KT400 board... something's just not right... Switch CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 8 09-17-02 03:03 PM
The worst part of the KT400... Cotita CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 13 09-10-02 07:31 AM
VIA's Big Embarrassment? PsychoSy CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 23 08-05-02 02:48 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.