Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-25-06, 03:02 AM   #1
coec
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 34
Default Two monitors, one FX4500, no TwinView

Hi all

I'm trying to configure a HP xw9300 with an FX4500 and two 24" monitors but I need twinview to be disabled. The application we're running wants two distinct screens. Can someone point me at a sample config? We're running RHEL 3 update 7.

Thanks

CC
coec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-06, 06:01 PM   #2
coec
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 34
Default Re: Two monitors, one FX4500, no TwinView

Hi all

In the end the solution was:

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "multimode"
Screen 0 "Screen 1" 0 0
Screen 1 "Screen 2" 1920 0
InputDevice "Mouse1" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "HP2335"
VendorName "HP"
ModelName "HP2335"
HorizSync 30.0 - 94.0
VertRefresh 48.0 - 85.0
ModeLine "1920x1200" 193.2 1920 2048 2256 2592 1200 1201 1204 1242 -hsync +vsync
Option "dpms"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "NV_PCI_Express port a"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "nvidia"
BoardName "FX4500"
BusID "PCI:10:0:0"
Option "UseInt10Module"
Screen 0
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "NV_PCI_Express port b"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "nvidia"
BoardName "FX4500"
BusID "PCI:10:0:0"
Option "UseInt10Module"
Screen 1
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen 1"
Device "NV_PCI_Express port a"
Monitor "HP2335"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1920x1200"
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen 2"
Device "NV_PCI_Express port b"
Monitor "HP2335"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1920x1200"
EndSubSection
EndSection
coec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-06, 06:07 PM   #3
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Two monitors, one FX4500, no TwinView

What you've posted isn't TwinView, its separate X screens.
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-06, 06:14 PM   #4
coec
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 34
Default Re: Two monitors, one FX4500, no TwinView

Thats right. Twinview breaks some of the apps we run, specifically seismic interpretation software from LandMark.
coec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-06, 06:17 PM   #5
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Two monitors, one FX4500, no TwinView

Can you elaborate on this? Which applications are broken, and how are they broken? Is Landmark aware of this breakage?

I'd also like to see an nvidia-bug-report.log that reflects the 'broken' X configuration.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-06, 06:32 PM   #6
coec
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 34
Default Re: Two monitors, one FX4500, no TwinView

Hmmm, broken may be too harsh a word. I'll try to explain but bear in mind that I'm a sys admin not a geophysicist. Some of the users like to have multiple siesmic interpretation windows open, each with their own colour bar. With TwinView enabled, when ever one colour bar is changed, all change to be the same. With TwinView turned off, this is not a problem.

Also, we use some (Royal Dutch) Shell applications. One particular app has no Linux port so the user ssh's to a Solaris box, tries to fire up the app but it refuses to start if TwinView is turned on. As soon as TwinView is turned off, this works. We reported this problem back to Shell and I quote:
"We have reports on view4D not displaying on machines where the 2 screens do share the same work desk. Programs that allow that are: Xinerama and Twinview. This happens on Linux stations as well as on Sun boxes, as long as the screens share the same workspace. There are more programs (OpenGL-based graphics) that do suffer of these problems. We do not have a cure yet. Workaround: Switching this option off does cure the problem."

Thanks

CC
coec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-06, 06:51 PM   #7
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Two monitors, one FX4500, no TwinView

Which Landmark application has the color bar problem?

Is the Shell app named view4D?

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-06, 06:54 PM   #8
coec
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 34
Default Re: Two monitors, one FX4500, no TwinView

I think the landMark app is called Seisworks and the Shell app view4d is part of Cauldron (and now I'm not sure if this is a shell app or just an app that shell supports).
coec is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-29-06, 06:56 PM   #9
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Two monitors, one FX4500, no TwinView

I'm afraid that I don't have either of those apps here. Have you contacted Landmark about the problem with Seisworks?

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-06, 07:02 PM   #10
coec
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 34
Default Re: Two monitors, one FX4500, no TwinView

Yep, we have a LandMark support person full-time in our office. Any and all problems we find are directed to him and passed back to LandMark.
coec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-06, 08:33 PM   #11
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Two monitors, one FX4500, no TwinView

What has Landmark's response been for the issue?
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-06, 05:09 PM   #12
coec
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 34
Default Re: Two monitors, one FX4500, no TwinView

Honestly, not great. Linux does not seem to be high on their agenda. Hopefully this will change.
coec is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nvidia Quadro 420 and dual 30" monitors quickSTi NVIDIA Linux 2 06-20-12 12:04 PM
Problems with configuring monitors and keeping them disabled with 302.17 Erosmith NVIDIA Linux 2 06-20-12 12:10 AM
First monitor is black when going to virtual console, when using twinView zeBarbu NVIDIA Linux 2 09-07-03 09:35 PM
XF86Config for a Quadro4 without TwinView? Twirlip NVIDIA Linux 1 10-09-02 10:36 AM
How do I configure TwinView on Dell Inspiron rutgerclaes NVIDIA Linux 6 08-01-02 03:20 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.