Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > General Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-31-03, 08:23 PM   #1
pr0c
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to pr0c
Unhappy Extremely Slow NVNET in linux

In windows my NIC is as should be expected. I regularly download at 90~100kbps from the net and i dont' know how fast from my lan itself.

In linux it goes something like this...
1.) Begin download.. 90kbps YAY!
2.) Second by second my speed drops
3.) After a few sefconds my speed is 1BPS.. far less than even 1kbps literally.

It is linux only.

I'm running Debian. Please help!!!

Nvidia for my Ti4600 works perfect
NVaudio works fine
Nvnet...
pr0c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-03, 08:42 AM   #2
pr0c
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to pr0c
Default

nothin...?
pr0c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-03, 06:17 PM   #3
lame duck
99% Lamer Free!
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Kerpal, Bangladash Posts: 6084
Posts: 14
Default

might be a bug in your browser?
__________________
Kiss my arse!
lame duck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-03, 08:51 PM   #4
pr0c
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to pr0c
Default

I wish it was something that simple. No, has nothing to do with the software being used such as the broser. It occurs no matter what distro/browser i use.

Speed test @ dslreports show my upload is >600k which is where it should be but downloads are ~ 10k at the moment.
pr0c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-03, 08:52 PM   #5
lame duck
99% Lamer Free!
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Kerpal, Bangladash Posts: 6084
Posts: 14
Default

maybe bad eth. card drivers?

- sorry, thats all I can think of.
__________________
Kiss my arse!
lame duck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-03, 01:09 PM   #6
Andy Mecham
l33t master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,163
Default

Please send a detailed bug report to linux-nforce-bugs@nvidia.com.

--andy
__________________
Andy Mecham
NVIDIA Corporation
Andy Mecham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-03, 08:43 AM   #7
pr0c
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to pr0c
Default

Actually Andy i figured out the problem (i think..) and I'd like to discuss here so people that have similar problems can search the forums and see this post...

When i set my MTU to 1400 rather than 1500 i get almost normal internet performance. I'm not sure why but here is my setup. Nvnet -> LinkSys "network everywhere" router -> "cable" (its really a wireless internet thing..) modem.

The router defaults to 1500 mtu and maybe the problem is that with linux set to exactly the same size its causing problems??? I have no idea how the internals of networking work.

The problem that i'm experiancing is that I have to change my MTU to 1400 everytime i boot and the other problem i have is the RWIN, i cannot change it when i change the settings as suggested here http://www.psc.edu/networking/perf_tune.html#Linux it does nothing to actually change my settings!! (I set RWIN much lower than they suggested)

Does anyone have any ideas how to deal with this? I cannot even get "Path MTU Discovery" to turn on even when i set the file to 1... it turns back to 0 on reboot too!

This is so frustering =[
pr0c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-03, 08:45 PM   #8
pr0c
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to pr0c
Default

Problem Solved...

set MTU to 14** .. something less than 1500 by a lil bit and its all fixed. Although i haven't rebooted yet i added MTU = 1495 in /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0 and it should set correctly upon boot every time.
pr0c is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-04-03, 01:10 AM   #9
bjlockie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 92
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by pr0c
Problem Solved...

set MTU to 14** .. something less than 1500 by a lil bit and its all fixed. Although i haven't rebooted yet i added MTU = 1495 in /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0 and it should set correctly upon boot every time.
Is there a Linux utility to optimize network settings like the is for Windows?
bjlockie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-03, 09:02 AM   #10
pr0c
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to pr0c
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bjlockie
Is there a Linux utility to optimize network settings like the is for Windows?
Unfortunatelly i was UNable to find one, it would be simple to write i think (like the windows one) but i dont' think anyone has.
pr0c is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
nVidia Linux drivers with Linux on Mac, help? Thetargos NVIDIA Linux 0 05-13-12 12:52 PM
295.49 (long-lived branch release) for Linux x86/x86_64 released AaronP NVIDIA Linux 0 05-03-12 10:42 AM
302.07 (beta) for Linux x86/x86_64 released AaronP NVIDIA Linux 0 05-02-12 09:55 AM
Mandrake Linux 9.0 (Dolphin) now available | comments? volt General Linux 10 10-19-02 10:13 PM
Linux VS. Windows XP! XP wins! dostler NVIDIA Linux 20 09-15-02 03:47 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.