Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-04-06, 04:55 AM   #1
gastverh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 36
Default FC5 and kmod-nvidia

Hello,
I work with FC5 and a video-card nVidia Geforce FX5200
Now I have "nvidia" in /etc/X11/xorg.conf and by starting up the nVidia-Loge appears on the screen and with that config I can see e.g. tvtime, but not stable. With "nv" I only see a blue screen.
[gastonv@pandora1 ~]$ cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf
Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "Videocard vendor"
BoardName "NVIDIA GeForce FX (generic)"
Option "NvAGP" "1"
Option "RenderAccel" "1"
#TV Out Setup

My kernel:
[gastonv@pandora1 ~]$ uname -rv
2.6.17-1.2174_FC5 #1 Tue Aug 8 15:30:55 EDT 2006
My nvidia-driver:
NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-8774-pkg1.run

Because of my tvtime-picture is not stable, I was looking for something more about nvidia-configuration.

Looking in Yumex nach "nvidia", I found
kmod-nivida 1.0.8774_1.2.6.17_1.2174_FC5
This package provides the nvidia kernel modules built for the Linux
kernel 2.6.17-1.2174_FC5 for the i686 family of processors.

So I tried to install this package with yum install kmod-nvidia, automatic together with xorg-x11-drv-nvidia.
This package provides Nvidia hardware accelerated OpenGL support
for Nvidia chipsets from Geforce2, Quadro4 or newer.
By reboot I see a Warning:
nvidia.ko mudule for kernel 2.6.17-1.2174_FC5 not found.
I don't see the nVidia-Logo and the /etc/X11/xorg.conf with "nvidia" becomes replaced by a version with "nv"

When I changed it again with "nvidia" and reboot it, I receive again the "nv"-version.
Because I need "nvidia" in /etc/X11/xorg.conf, I remove the kmod-nvidia and xorg-x11-drv-nvidia package and the problem is solved.

My conclusion: by rebooting, kmod-nvidia changes my /etc/X11/xorg.conf to a "nv"-version.
So I can't use it in my system.

Please my questions:
1. Does anybody has more experience with kmod-nvidia and what it really does?
2. Perhaps I have to install or to configure something more or something others?
3. Does anybody has good experience with a nVidia Geforce Fx5200 card and Tvtime?

Many thanks in advance and greetings,
Gaston Verhulst.

Last edited by gastverh; 09-04-06 at 05:15 AM.
gastverh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-06, 05:04 AM   #2
Dragoran
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 711
Default Re: FC5 and kmod-nvidia

Quote:
1. Does anybody has more experience with kmod-nvidia and what it really does?
I don't use it but it has a start script that changes the driver from nvidia to nvidia if there is no kernel module. (this is done because else X wont start)
Quote:
2. Perhaps I have to install or to configure something more or something others?
if you have installed the drivers and opengl works fine the are installed fine.
Quote:
3. Does anybody has good experience with a nVidia Geforce Fx5200 card and Tvtime?
not with this card but tvtime works for me on 6600GT,7800GTX and Ti 4200
what is your problem and what is "not stable" ?
Dragoran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-06, 06:03 AM   #3
gastverh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 36
Default Re: FC5 and kmod-nvidia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragoran
I don't use it but it has a start script that changes the driver from nvidia to nvidia if there is no kernel module. (this is done because else X wont start)
I was thinking on it, but I don't find a start script for it.
Please, can you guide me where I can find it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragoran
if you have installed the drivers and opengl works fine the are installed fine.
I suppose opengl works fine, because of I can login properly and the most things work fine ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragoran
not with this card but tvtime works for me on 6600GT,7800GTX and Ti 4200
what is your problem and what is "not stable" ?
The tvtime screen is flickering with a frequence of 1 second and I can't hear anything.
Starting tvtime gives:
[gastonv@pandora1 ~]$ tvtime
Running tvtime 1.0.1.
Reading configuration from /etc/tvtime/tvtime.xml
Reading configuration from /home/gastonv/.tvtime/tvtime.xml
Thank you for using tvtime.

/etc/tvtime/tvtime.xml is to long to insert it, but I see that it is not the same as /home/gastonv/.tvtime/tvtime.xml
e.g.
<option name="Norm" value="NTSC"/> I have use PAL
<option name="Frequencies" value="US-Cable"/> I have use custom
and perhaps more ...

I think the last one /home/gastonv/.tvtime/tvtime.xml replaces the first one /etc/tvtime/tvtime.xml?

[gastonv@pandora1 ~]$ cat /home/gastonv/.tvtime/tvtime.xml
<?xml version="1.0"?>
<!DOCTYPE tvtime PUBLIC "-//tvtime//DTD tvtime 1.0//EN" "http://tvtime.sourceforge.net/DTD/tvtime1.dtd">
<tvtime xmlns="http://tvtime.sourceforge.net/DTD/">
<option name="Widescreen" value="0"/>
<option name="Fullscreen" value="0"/>
<option name="Verbose" value="0"/>
<option name="WindowGeometry" value="0x576"/>
<option name="InputWidth" value="768"/>
<option name="V4LDevice" value="/dev/video0"/>
<option name="VBIDevice" value="/dev/vbi0"/>
<option name="V4LInput" value="0"/>
<option name="Norm" value="pal"/>
<option name="Frequencies" value="custom"/>
<option name="MixerDevice" value="/dev/mixer:line"/>
<option name="XMLTVFile" value="none"/>
<option name="XMLTVLanguage" value="none"/>
<option name="ProcessPriority" value="-10"/>
<option name="Channel" value="11"/>
<option name="DefaultBrightness" value="-1"/>
<option name="DefaultContrast" value="-1"/>
<option name="DefaultSaturation" value="-1"/>
<option name="DefaultHue" value="-1"/>
<option name="PrevChannel" value="1"/>
<option name="FramerateMode" value="2"/>
<option name="OverScan" value="3.5"/>
<option name="CheckForSignal" value="0"/>
<option name="AudioBoost" value="-1"/>
<option name="AlwaysOnTop" value="0"/>
<option name="QuietScreenshots" value="0"/>
<option name="UnmuteVolume" value="0"/>
<option name="Muted" value="0"/>
<option name="AudioMode" value="mono"/>
<option name="PalDKMode" value="0"/>
<option name="DeinterlaceMethod" value="TelevisionFull"/>
</tvtime>


Thanks and greetings,
Gaston Verhulst.
gastverh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-06, 06:41 AM   #4
Dragoran
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 711
Default Re: FC5 and kmod-nvidia

Quote:
I was thinking on it, but I don't find a start script for it.
Please, can you guide me where I can find it?
locate nvidia-glx-init
Quote:
I suppose opengl works fine, because of I can login properly and the most things work fine ...
have you tested glxgears?
Quote:
The tvtime screen is flickering with a frequence of 1 second and I can't hear anything.
does it work with the nv driver?
Dragoran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-06, 07:15 AM   #5
gastverh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 36
Default Re: FC5 and kmod-nvidia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragoran
locate nvidia-glx-init
No reaction:
[gastonv@pandora1 ~]$ locate nvidia-glx-init
[gastonv@pandora1 ~]$

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragoran
have you tested glxgears?
Sorry, I don't find it too:
[gastonv@pandora1 ~]$ glxgears
bash: glxgears: command not found

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragoran
does it work with the nv driver?
Not at all, with "nv" I only see blue non flickering screens with a channel number and frequence, but no pictures.
gastverh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-06, 07:26 AM   #6
Dragoran
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 711
Default Re: FC5 and kmod-nvidia

Quote:
No reaction:
[gastonv@pandora1 ~]$ locate nvidia-glx-init
[gastonv@pandora1 ~]$
is the xorg-x11-drv-nvidia package still installed?
if yes do rpm -ql xorg-x11-drv-nvidia | grep nvidia-glx-init
Quote:
Sorry, I don't find it too:
[gastonv@pandora1 ~]$ glxgears
bash: glxgears: command not found
yum install glx-utils
Quote:
Not at all, with "nv" I only see blue non flickering screens with a channel number and frequence, but no pictures.
weird for me tvtime "just works" without any extra config; which tvcard are you using (which chipset) does it work using mplayer/xine?
Dragoran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-06, 08:26 AM   #7
gastverh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 36
Default Re: FC5 and kmod-nvidia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragoran
is the xorg-x11-drv-nvidia package still installed?
if yes do rpm -ql xorg-x11-drv-nvidia | grep nvidia-glx-init
xorg-x11-drv-nvidia was not installed any more.
but I installed xorg-x11-drv-nvidia and (automatic) kmod-nvidia again and then looked for nvidia-glx-init, but I didn't find it:
[root@pandora1 gastonv]# yum install xorg-x11-drv-nvidia > OK
[root@pandora1 gastonv]# locate nvidia-glx-init > Nothing
[root@pandora1 gastonv]# rpm -ql xorg-x11-drv-nvidia | grep nvidia-glx-init > Nothing too
Then I looked in /etc/X11/xorg.conf and "nv" was there again
Then I have changed it to "nvidia" and I have removed xorg-x11-drv-nvidia and kmod-nvidia again.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragoran
yum install glx-utils
I have done that. OK
Reboot gave no problems.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragoran
weird for me tvtime "just works" without any extra config; which tvcard are you using (which chipset) does it work using mplayer/xine?
For the chipset, I have to look at it in my folder?
But, when I use mplayer/xine/realplay ... then I have no problems at all.
Should it help when I changed my tv-card in another slot?
My TV-card is a "Pinnacle PCTV Rave" card.

Thanks for the interresting communication.
I ma from Belgium, where are you from?
gastverh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-06, 08:28 AM   #8
Dragoran
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 711
Default Re: FC5 and kmod-nvidia

Quote:
xorg-x11-drv-nvidia was not installed any more.
but I installed xorg-x11-drv-nvidia and (automatic) kmod-nvidia again and then looked for nvidia-glx-init, but I didn't find it:
[root@pandora1 gastonv]# yum install xorg-x11-drv-nvidia > OK
[root@pandora1 gastonv]# locate nvidia-glx-init > Nothing
[root@pandora1 gastonv]# rpm -ql xorg-x11-drv-nvidia | grep nvidia-glx-init > Nothing too
Then I looked in /etc/X11/xorg.conf and "nv" was there again
Then I have changed it to "nvidia" and I have removed xorg-x11-drv-nvidia and kmod-nvidia again.
??
what does rpm -ql xorg-x11-drv-nvidia shows?
Quote:
For the chipset, I have to look at it in my folder?
But, when I use mplayer/xine/realplay ... then I have no problems at all.
Should it help when I changed my tv-card in another slot?
My TV-card is a "Pinnacle PCTV Rave" card.
what does lspci -v and cat /proc/interupts show?
Quote:
I ma from Belgium, where are you from?
Austria
Dragoran is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-04-06, 09:27 AM   #9
gastverh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 36
Default Re: FC5 and kmod-nvidia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragoran
??
what does rpm -ql xorg-x11-drv-nvidia shows?
I did:
[gastonv@pandora1 ~]$ rpm -ql xorg-x11-drv-nvidia > rpmxorgx11drvnvidia.txt > in annex

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragoran
what does lspci -v and cat /proc/interupts show?
Here I did:
[gastonv@pandora1 ~]$ /sbin/lspci -v > lspci.txt
and:
[gastonv@pandora1 ~]$ cat /proc/interrupts
CPU0
0: 228589 IO-APIC-edge timer
1: 1633 IO-APIC-edge i8042
7: 0 IO-APIC-edge parport0
8: 1 IO-APIC-edge rtc
9: 0 IO-APIC-level acpi
12: 30837 IO-APIC-edge i8042
14: 47165 IO-APIC-edge ide0
15: 8098 IO-APIC-edge ide1
169: 2163 IO-APIC-level eth0
177: 5719 IO-APIC-level saa7134[0], Ensoniq AudioPCI
185: 46 IO-APIC-level uhci_hcd:usb1, uhci_hcd:usb2, uhci_hcd:usb3, ehci_hcd:usb4
201: 0 IO-APIC-level VIA8233
NMI: 0
LOC: 228541
ERR: 0
MIS: 0

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragoran
Austria
In 2005 we were the 1. time in Austria in Rauristal in Salzburgerland.
Very very beautiful! There we come still again!
I live in Sint-Niklaas in BE and please, were do you live in AT?
Attached Files
File Type: txt rpmxorgx11drvnvidia.txt (4.7 KB, 128 views)
File Type: txt lspci.txt (3.8 KB, 126 views)
gastverh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-06, 10:44 AM   #10
gastverh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 36
Default Re: FC5 and kmod-nvidia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragoran
??
what does rpm -ql xorg-x11-drv-nvidia shows?
Because glx-utils ist installed, I have made a test by the installation again of:
[gastonv@pandora1 ~]$ yum list installed | grep nvidia
kmod-nvidia.i686 1.0.8774-1.2.6.17_1.21 installed
xorg-x11-drv-nvidia.i386 1.0.8774-1.lvn5 installed
and a Reboot.

And what happens? The reboot runs without any error and "nvidia" remains in
[gastonv@pandora1 ~]$ cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf
...
Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "Videocard vendor"
BoardName "NVIDIA GeForce FX (generic)"
Option "NvAGP" "1"
Option "RenderAccel" "1"
#TV Out Setup

So that problem is solved, I have to thank you ver much for helping!

Now, I have to watch the system when a now kernel-update comes and/or a new nvidia-driver an new kmod-nvidia and xorg-x11-drv-nvidia updates.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragoran
what does lspci -v and cat /proc/interupts show?
Now, there is only one problem of tvtime any more ...
I was thinking ...
I have Cable TV and since 4 months I have Digital TV via the same Cable.
In the incoming connection-box, I have a splitter with on one side the cable for the digital television, on the second side a coax-cable to the tv-card in my computer.
An I remember me now, that months ago, I didn't had the flickering tvtime-picture.
Perhaps that can cause my tvtime-problem...?
Or, on the other side, I can inspect my coax-cable?
Sorry that I didn't reported it earlier.
I was not thinking on that earlier.
Many greetings,

Gaston Verhulst.

Last edited by gastverh; 09-04-06 at 01:25 PM.
gastverh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.