Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > Other Desktop Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-22-03, 04:16 AM   #85
Fotis
Radeforce GTX7970
 
Fotis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Greece
Posts: 1,350
Default

Maybe you should buy a small african country [eNv]-LORD-eX-Bu!!!
__________________
Intel Core i7 4770K|Thermalright True Spirit 120|Gigabyte GA-Z87X-OC|2x8GB Kingston DDR3 2400MHz|Evga Geforce 780Ti SC 3GB|Samsung SSD 830 256GB|Seagate Ext. 2TB eSata|Corsair AX1200i PSU|Microsoft Wireless Laser Desktop 7000|AKASA Eclipse 62 case|Dell UltraSharp U2412M| Windows 8.1 Pro
Fotis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-03, 01:25 PM   #86
Filburt
Jeimei Frugiunglagià
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 105
Send a message via ICQ to Filburt Send a message via AIM to Filburt
Default

Looking at Mike's comparison with FSAA...I noticed a few things:

1. ATi's FSAA seems to do more work overall. I noticed with nVidia's FSAA it seems to do some sort of distortion or blur trick. Whatever it is, it seriously affects the form of the central area of that object (both in colour and geometry).

2. Some of the aforementioned distortion still yields a nice effect on some of the edges ATi's FSAA doesn't quite hit as much.

3. 6XS and 8X for nVidia look surprisingly similar except for 6XS causing an unusually high level of blur and distortion.

Overall, I got the impression that nVidia's FSAA blurred and distorted the edges in order to remove extra aliasing. The end result is some of the spikes changed in width and colour (and some other slight geometrical variations).
Filburt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-03, 08:28 PM   #87
garikfox
Registered User
 
garikfox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Mesa, Az
Posts: 803
Default

LoL, You guyz are funny, Dude rules with that 256 though, heh.
__________________
"Human's aren't the only species on Earth, We just act like it..."
garikfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-03, 10:59 PM   #88
MRX
"Its all good!"
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: S-CA
Posts: 38
Unhappy Looks Good:) but...

Enjoy your new card Mike! I am looking at the 9800 Pro too, maybe next month. ATI image quality has been very good, just upgraded recently to a 3.06 P4 HT, so its all good, now for the graphic upgrade

I have been running nVidia cards since the GF1, but they have slipped back a bit. The new FX5900 is nice but overpriced and a 2 slot solution. The last time I ran ATI was back in the ISA days, but it looks like its time to change again.

Its looking better all the time, its interesting to see how competition can change the marketplace in a single product cycle...

UPDATE Barrowed a friends new ATI 9800 non-pro clocked at 325 MHz core and 290 MHz memory, nice card but the driver install and programs did not fare well. All games crashed, even after uninstalling all previous drivers and starting and going into safe mode. The drivers when upgraded from safe mod provided a DirectX9 not installed message and could not find driver inf file error. It really blew chunks to put it mildly, after returning the card to my friend, the 4400 and Det 44.03 reinstalled just fine without any problems as before.

MSI 655 HT w/ 1GB memory (PC 2700)

Last edited by MRX; 07-22-03 at 08:08 PM.
MRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-03, 09:07 PM   #89
MikeC
Administrator
 
MikeC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1997
Location: Virginia
Posts: 7,445
Default

Courtesy of Roderick Maher, I was given access to download the full version of FRAPS . I began experimenting with the video capture feature, which has been greatly improved since the last time I used it.

The following video clips are from Quake 3. To slow down the movement rate when panning, I set the cl_yawspeed variable to 5. The player was moved to a starting position and remained stationary while I panned towards the left.

Each video contains 4 seconds of footage and compressed to around 1.6 MB in DivX format using VirtualDub. The videos are certainly a very effective way to show the benefits of antialiasing. Especially when they are played back at half-speed.

- No Antialiasing

- 2X Antialiasing

- 4X Antialiasing

- 6X Antialiasing
MikeC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-03, 03:49 AM   #90
AthlonXP1800
Registered User
 
AthlonXP1800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4,352
Default

I studied on these 4 Quake 3 FSAA video clips, I am surprised to noticed that 4xFSAA and 6xFSAA has some jaggies, it not the way it turned to be completed FSAA ATI fans claimed, when the camera moved to left slow it started to showed the lines jaggies. It not completed straight line as it were on my old 3dfx Voodoo 5 I been ran on Quake 3 and Half Life, all lines was completed lined without line jaggies when turned to left slow at 4xFSAA.

Somehow the 6xFSAA clip has more jaggies than 4xFSAA or maybe MikeC mislabel 6xFSAA file as 4xFSAA and 4xFSAA file as 6xFSAA by mistake?

The conclusion is that I find ATI FSAA is not quite good as 3dfx FSAA but it still not far superior to 3dfx FSAA. 3dfx FSAA done amazing job to remove about 100% of jaggies, ATI FSAA do very good job to remove about 95% of jaggies and Nvidia FSAA do good job to remove about 90% of jaggies.
AthlonXP1800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-03, 02:47 AM   #91
Mike89
Dude, where's my brain?
 
Mike89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: In California choking from all the liberal BS
Posts: 1,185
Default

What a difference a day makes eh? (actually a little longer than a day heh heh).

I would have never thought I would see a thread like this on this forum.

No longer can people make jokes about ATI (I used to do it too). They are a real competitor and to me are now leading the way. Sometimes I still trip out I actually have one in my computer (with all the s_hit talking I used to do) but it was the best move I ever made for my gaming.

There are still those die hards taking every shot they can get at ATI but it is diminishing quickly.

It's a good thing having a valid choice now.
__________________
I7 3770 @ 4.4 gig (Noctua NH-U14S Heatsink), ASRock Z77 Extreme6, 16 Gigs (2x8) Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600, EVGA GTX 680 Signature 2, Acer P236H 23" (1920x1080), X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Pro, 2 WD 640 gig SATA HDDs, WD 750 gig HDD (eSata), WD 1TB Black HDD, Sandisk 32 GB ReadyCache SSD, 2 SATA DVD Burners, Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Speaker System, Corsair TX750w PSU, HSPC Top Deck Tech Station, Windows 7 Pro x64
Mike89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-03, 08:43 PM   #92
MikeC
Administrator
 
MikeC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1997
Location: Virginia
Posts: 7,445
Default

I need medical help, yes?


800x600 - No AA - No AN - http://www.nvnews.net/images/news/20...a_noan_800.avi

800x600 - 4X AA - 8X AN - http://www.nvnews.net/images/news/200307/aa_an_800.avi

1024x768 - No AA - No AN - http://www.nvnews.net/images/news/20..._noan_1024.avi

1024x768 - 4X AA - 8X AN - http://www.nvnews.net/images/news/200307/aa_an_1024.avi


Download the DivX codec here - http://www.divx.com/divx/
MikeC is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-21-03, 09:07 PM   #93
bleat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
wonder what I should do with this...


[/b]
Get direct deposit... and a better job if that's the whole paycheck..
__________________
os[XP Pro SP1]
cpu[Barton 2500+ @ 200x11]
mobo[Abit NF7 V2.0]
mem[Corsair 512M TwinX PC3200LL]
vid[Radeon 9800 Pro on SyncMaster 900SL]
space[120G,120G,80G 7200 RPM, LiteOn 40x]
case[Antec SX1040BII w/4 fans - CPU 35C, Sys 25C]
sound[Audigy w/ Creative FPS2000]
bleat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-03, 09:15 PM   #94
MikeC
Administrator
 
MikeC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1997
Location: Virginia
Posts: 7,445
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AthlonXP1800
I studied on these 4 Quake 3 FSAA video clips, I am surprised to noticed that 4xFSAA and 6xFSAA has some jaggies,
The videos were recorded at a resolution of 1024x768. It's important that your desktop be sized large enough so that the videos are being played at 1024x768.

In Windows Media player, I have to use a desktop resolution of 1600x1200 to view the 1024x768 video at which point I see a large black border around the video during normal (not full screen) playback.
MikeC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-03, 01:04 PM   #95
frenchy2k1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 449
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by MikeC
The videos were recorded at a resolution of 1024x768. It's important that your desktop be sized large enough so that the videos are being played at 1024x768.

In Windows Media player, I have to use a desktop resolution of 1600x1200 to view the 1024x768 video at which point I see a large black border around the video during normal (not full screen) playback.
Or you could just use WMP 6.4 (not the wmp7+) and hit alt+2. This would play the video at full size whatever the screen resolution.

After more than 3 years and 3 more versions, i still prefer the basic WMP 6.4. Much simpler, less resources taken and more of the functions i need (like right size of the video, not that automatic resize). The best part? The wmp6.4 is STANDARD with all windows version past win98 SE. It hangs around in a directory (/program files/media player or something), for compatibility reasons, but not linked.

That allows to play full size in an much easier way...
__________________
As the universe is curved, there cannot be a straight answer...
frenchy2k1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-03, 01:06 PM   #96
The Baron
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Or you could just use WMP 6.4 (not the wmp7+) and hit alt+2. This would play the video at full size whatever the screen resolution.
Nuhuh. You need to actually run your desktop in whatever size the video is because the different resolution would affect the appearance of jaggies and such.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
R9700 Oficially Announced druga runda Other Desktop Graphics Cards 20 04-25-08 11:28 PM
FS: Radeon 9800 Non-Pro (never OC'd) lutikri55 For Sale/Trade 1 08-12-04 11:58 AM
FS: Radeon 9800 Non-Pro for sale ($150) lutikri55 For Sale/Trade 9 07-15-04 12:18 PM
FalconNW and Voodoo under ATI 9700 spell!!! mizzer Other Desktop Graphics Cards 12 09-20-02 08:53 PM
Undecided - GeForce 3 Ti 200 or Radeon 9000 Pro? b5fan NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 8 08-19-02 02:23 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.