Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-06-02, 07:54 AM   #73
Webgraph
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 19
Default Re: Mandrake 9 ...Alive and kicking

Quote:
Originally posted by pornstar420


I got my GeForce2 going using the source rpms. I hosed things first, then I read the README and things when quite smoothly. I guess I needed a little vi practice anyway
The source RPM's? What things did you have to hose around?
__________________
Webgraph
robnet10@mail.com
Webgraph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-02, 05:10 PM   #74
TheOneKEA
Fifteen-K Saiyan Bastard
 
TheOneKEA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Somewhere in England, waiting for ROTK and drooling over the A64 3000+
Posts: 417
Send a message via ICQ to TheOneKEA Send a message via AIM to TheOneKEA Send a message via Yahoo to TheOneKEA
Default New update: Red Hat 8.0 and nVidia

Just wanted to update y'all about my setup:

I loaded Red Hat 8.0. Under kernel 2.4.19 (compiled with gcc 2.95.1), glibc 2.2.93, gcc 3.2, and nVidia 1.0-3123 (kernel module compiled with gcc 3.2), the drivers work great, in both X, Quake 2 and Quake 3.
__________________
/me \/\/@|\|t5 $$$$$ F0r @|\| u65r 3|33t G@/\/\1|\|G r1G

SCREW THE ADS! http://adblock.mozdev.org/
Proud user of teh Fox of Fire - Mozilla Firefox 0.8

Registered Linux User #289618
TheOneKEA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-02, 08:29 AM   #75
McIntosh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4
Default intermittent system freezes

We have the following problem which existed in 2960 and is still present in 3123:

After a few days of light* use the system will invariably totally lockup, meaning everything is dead (no console, network etc). The display will still look ok, no artefacts, its just frozen.

If it were to happen solely after a few days each time it would be annoying but liveable. And although with 2960 lockups occured much sooner (withing 30 mins of startx or sometimes even right after) with 3123 that seemed to be solved. However today when manually starting X it froze even before kde could finish starting, so 3123 still has this problem.

Since this is a server application stability is very much an issue for us and if we cant solve it we might have to go a non-nvidia route.

Just to be clear, these lockups arent GL specific. they can happen anywhere anytime apparently but certainly within a few days.

system specs:

dual PIII 1.26Ghz
Supermicro 6041G (Serverworks HE-SL)
GeForce 2 Ti 64Mb DDR

SuSE 7.3 with a non-suse stock 2.4.19 kernel

Since I thought agp might be the troublemaker agp support is disabled (/proc/driver/nvidia/agp/status is empty)

module is installed from srpm.

XFree86 4.1.0

acpi/apm disabled in kernel & bios.

Any help would be very much appreciated.

Esger


*) the application only renders a single frame every once in a while (more like fpm instead of fps )

Last edited by McIntosh; 10-07-02 at 08:50 AM.
McIntosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-02, 08:45 AM   #76
bogado
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Thumbs down I had nothing but problems with this driver

I installed this driver first at redhat 7.3, I noticed then that it was realy unstable, when switching from terminals to X (using ctrl-alt-F1 then ctrl-alt-F7) the screen locked one out 3 or 4 times with a pattern of random colored vertical stripes. I have noticed those stripes before, using the 2960 driver, they apeared for one or two seconds and then the X screen would kick in.

This was not much of problem then, since I just got back to the old driver. The problem have re-apeard when I installed the Redhat 8.0, this version has a kernel compiled with gcc 3.x and the driver 2960 is not compatible with that (yes I have rebuilt the driver with the bundled gcc (3.2)). With the 3123 driver I have the same problem, and when I have the AGP disabled I had some rendom lockups also, it seems (not shure here) that enabling NVagp to 1 have cured the lockups, but not the stripes. :-(

My configuration is the following GeForce 2 mx200 (asus V7100 magic), motherboard abit KR7A-RAID, CPU atlhon 950Mhz. I did disabled pentium memory in the kernel with the "mem=nopentium" parameter.

Does anyone have any clue on how to fix this?
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-02, 05:09 PM   #77
TheOneKEA
Fifteen-K Saiyan Bastard
 
TheOneKEA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Somewhere in England, waiting for ROTK and drooling over the A64 3000+
Posts: 417
Send a message via ICQ to TheOneKEA Send a message via AIM to TheOneKEA Send a message via Yahoo to TheOneKEA
Question hmmmmmmmmm

What kernel version, what compiler and what hardware do you have? if the lockups are intermittent, irreproducable, and don't directly occur from GL usage, it could be your memory.

Try memtest86 if possible.
__________________
/me \/\/@|\|t5 $$$$$ F0r @|\| u65r 3|33t G@/\/\1|\|G r1G

SCREW THE ADS! http://adblock.mozdev.org/
Proud user of teh Fox of Fire - Mozilla Firefox 0.8

Registered Linux User #289618
TheOneKEA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-02, 05:20 PM   #78
bogado
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default memtest

Alerady tested the memory, and i acused no problems. :-) It was more or less reproducible, just had to wait a few seconds/minutes and it lock up. Changing back to the open source driver "nv" it worked just fine. Also it didnīt lock anymore when I seted the nvagp to 1 stating that agp from nvidia should be used, before was setted to 0 (no agp).

Now with AGP set to use NVidia driver it just locks up when changing the console from text to X using alt-F7 key after doing an ctrl-alt-F1. It does not lock up every time, just 1 out of 3 or 4 times, once again only with the nvidia driver, it never happend with the nv driver (witch I user for a few days). Since I have a log running in the tty9 screen I do this operation quite commonly.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-02, 07:00 AM   #79
TheOneKEA
Fifteen-K Saiyan Bastard
 
TheOneKEA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Somewhere in England, waiting for ROTK and drooling over the A64 3000+
Posts: 417
Send a message via ICQ to TheOneKEA Send a message via AIM to TheOneKEA Send a message via Yahoo to TheOneKEA
Lightbulb

LIS, what kernel version? If it locks up when trying to use agpgart BUT not when using NvAGP, then there are bugs in your kernel's agpgart driver. If possible, can you upgrade to 2.4.19 and try again?
__________________
/me \/\/@|\|t5 $$$$$ F0r @|\| u65r 3|33t G@/\/\1|\|G r1G

SCREW THE ADS! http://adblock.mozdev.org/
Proud user of teh Fox of Fire - Mozilla Firefox 0.8

Registered Linux User #289618
TheOneKEA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-02, 08:32 AM   #80
bogado
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default My kernel

The random lockups, donīt worry me to much since they are not happening anymore. What bugs me more is the vertical stripes lock up that happens when I change to a textr console and then come back to X.

I experienced this behaviour in both kernels 2.4.18-10 (RH 7.3, last update) and 2.4.18-14 (RH 8.0, bundled). With RH73 I were able to return to the driver 2960 that donīt show this behaviour (I did see the pattern appear sometimes, but it appears for one or two secs and then disapear).

I just had to rewrite this message, since I usualy check the kernel version using the issue from the text terminal.... :-(
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-09-02, 07:09 AM   #81
McIntosh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4
Default

forgot to add I already memtest86-ed the memory in this server


(for my problem see my post on page 3 of this thread, a reply would still be very much appreciated)

Esger
McIntosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-02, 01:56 AM   #82
thrift
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Thumbs down

I'm fairly dissapointed with the linux nvidia drivers. I am using slackware linux 8.1 with linux kernel 2.4.19 with the xfs patch and the preemptable kernel patch, although I have experienced these problems with other setups. My main board is an abit kt7a. My graphics card is a leadtek twin view geforce 2 mx pci.

All my problems with the nvidia drivers:
1. not open source
2. no way to build the nvidia driver directly into the kernel(I don't use modules normally)
3. If I shut down the computer and start it again quickly, or just reboot the computer, whenever I start X, my second head will display the screen in blue...like black and white, but blue rather than white.
4. When running on multiple heads if i shutdown X then restart X more than a few times I get a VERY hard lock up. This does not occur with single head operation.
5. The nvidia drivers do not conform to the regular layout of /etc/X11/XF86Config, this causes plenty of problems.

I don't mean to sound threatening or pissy or anything like that, and if you don't want me as a future customer that's fine. I found no way to give feedback on nvidia.com(and I really hope that changes), but I eventually ended up here, where hopefully someone that can make a difference will hear me.

I've owned two nvidia cards, and built many machines that have nvidia cards in them. I've also always tried to persuade people to go for an nvidia card if they are looking to uprage their graphics card. After all the problems I have had with the nvidia driver, I can now say I will no longer be able to buy or support nvidia cards until the driver has undergone a lot of changes. It is much easier to go with another brand of graphics card that is much better supported, and understands the community more.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-02, 01:42 PM   #83
a_j_j
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 14
Unhappy X server crashes when starting Xv apps

About every other time that I start an application which uses Xv (bttv, xine, etc.), my X server crashes and dumps me back to the login prompt.

My hardware:
Athlon XP 1800+
Epox 8KHA+ (Via KT266A) motherboard
512MB RAM
Inno3D GF4 Ti4400 (128MB)

I'm using the kernel AGPgart driver from 2.4.19 with the latest NVidia driver (compiled from source) and XFree 4.2.0.

Is anyone else experiencing similar problems? It seems weird that it doesn't always crash, but I can't spot anything different in the circumstances that lead to it...
a_j_j is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-02, 06:45 PM   #84
smartsaga
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default having delay starting X

I have the 30 sec delay prob in desktop:

Mandrake 9.0 i586
AMD 1800+
soltek mobo SL-75DRV5
GeForce4 MX 440 Winfast A170 64Mb DDR
256 DDR 2100
80 gig HD
AverMedia TV Studio
SoundBlaster Live! 5.1

The thing is that I dont get the delay in laptop:

Mandrake 9.0 i586
Toshiba 2805-S402
PIII 850Mhz
GeForce2Go
Yahama Audio
20Gig HD

I used the Tar files to install the latest drivers 1.0-3123 for Both.

I followed the installation guides in www.linux-laptop.net for
for this laptop. My guess is that in the desktop when I type startx the stupid driver checks for the twinvew stuff (other displays) or something.

Who knows!!! Anyone??
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
173.14.35 Linux Driver annb NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards 0 06-13-12 07:46 PM
Best Linux driver for Quadro FX2700M dclement NVIDIA Linux 0 05-07-12 07:58 AM
302.07 (beta) for Linux x86/x86_64 released AaronP NVIDIA Linux 0 05-02-12 10:55 AM
_which_ quadro cards have stereo support under driver 3123 codingfrenzy NVIDIA Linux 3 12-29-02 04:24 PM
download problem with linux NVIDIA driver packages Timo NVIDIA Linux 7 07-31-02 10:22 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Đ1998 - 2014, nV News.