Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-29-02, 12:19 PM   #1
ikke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 7
Post RH80 geforce4 no input signal

Greetings,

I have a problem using the nvidia driver under RH80.
I used RH7.3 with nvidia driver 2960 without any problem.
I compiled the kernel module without any problems. Adjusted the XF86Config as described in the install docs and as documented on this forum. Xfree starts without any problem (according to the log file) but my screen blanks at that moment (no input signal). My system is running because I can switch back to the text console (monitor goes out of sleep, but screen stays black) and can interrupt my startx process. On the CLI I reboot the machine.
I've gone through the options and found that with the xfree option "ConnectedMonitor" and value "DFP" (digital flat panel, my monitor is a Philips 180P2 18" TFT), that after starting X I can switch back to the text console while the screen returns. But the X screen stays "no signal".

Any suggestions are welcome?

Here is my config:

$ cat /proc/driver/nvidia/version
NVRM version: NVIDIA Linux x86 NVdriver Kernel Module 1.0-3123 Tue Aug 27 15:56:48 PDT 2002
GCC version: gcc version 3.2 20020903 (Red Hat Linux 8.0 3.2-7)
$ cat /proc/driver/nvidia/agp/card
Fast Writes: Supported
SBA: Supported
AGP Rates: 4x 2x 1x
Registers: 0x1f000217:0x1f000104
$ cat /proc/driver/nvidia/agp/host-bridge
Host Bridge: Intel i815
Fast Writes: Not Supported
SBA: Supported
AGP Rates: 4x 2x 1x
Registers: 0x1f000207:0x00000104
$ cat /proc/driver/nvidia/agp/status
Status: Enabled
Driver: AGPGART (inactive)
AGP Rate: 4x
Fast Writes: Disabled
SBA: Disabled
$ cat /proc/driver/nvidia/cards/0
Model: GeForce4 Ti 4600
IRQ: 11
Video BIOS: ??.??.??.??.??
Card Type: AGP

$cat /etc/X11/XF86Config.nvidia
Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Anaconda Configured"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"
RgbPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
FontPath "unix/:7100"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "dbe"
Load "extmod"
Load "fbdevhw"
Load "glx"
Load "record"
Load "freetype"
Load "type1"
Load "v4l"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "keyboard"
Option "XkbRules" "xfree86"
Option "XkbModel" "pc102"
Option "XkbLayout" "be"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Device" "/dev/mouse"
Option "Protocol" "MouseManPlusPS/2"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Monitor Vendor"
ModelName "Monitor Model"
HorizSync 31 - 94
VertRefresh 50.0 - 60.0
Option "dpms"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "NVIDIA GeForce 4 (generic)"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA GeForce 4 (generic)"
BoardName "NVIDIA GeForce 4 (generic)"
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "DFP"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "NVIDIA GeForce 4 (generic)"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1280x1024"
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Linux Frame Buffer"
Driver "fbdev"
BoardName "Unknown"
EndSection

Section "DRI"
Mode 0666
EndSection
ikke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-02, 02:27 PM   #2
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

Quote:
$cat /etc/X11/XF86Config.nvidia
Is this the actual filename? Because it shouldn't be; it should be named /etc/X11/XF86Config, without the dot-nvidia.

Post your log file as well, /var/log/XFree86.0.log. It will most likely have to be an attachment, though, as it's too large to be in one post.
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-02, 04:46 PM   #3
myzelf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 3
Default

I think we have the same problem, but I didn't solve it yet. Read my post here:

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...&threadid=3384
myzelf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-02, 04:19 AM   #4
vmcdirect
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 3
Default RH80 geforce4 no input signal

I'm finding the same problem using trying to use TwinView with a Dell 1626HT CRT on the left, and a Dell 2000FP on the right. If I only use ConnectedMonitor "DFP", then the LCD comes up nicely @ 1600x1200. If I leave the option blank, or use any other configuration (including ConnectedMonitor "CRT, DFP") I get:

(EE) NVIDIA(0): Failed to read mapping of display devices to CRTCs

I tried the VGA and DVI keywords as options as recommended by the nVidia engineer, without luck unfortunately.

Please see my attached configs. Does anyone have TwinView working with dual head CRT/LCD under RH80/2.4.18-17?

engineers? is this possible?

Thanks for all the great discussion so far. It's very helpful.
vmcdirect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-02, 09:54 AM   #5
FluoDude
Geforce 4200
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Kessel-Lo/Belgium
Posts: 21
Lightbulb no signal ....

I had the same problem GeForce 4200 , by adding the - option "NvAgp" "1" - to the device section of XF86Config file this was solved.

hopefully this can help you
FluoDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-02, 02:43 PM   #6
ikke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bwkaz
Is this the actual filename? Because it shouldn't be; it should be named /etc/X11/XF86Config, without the dot-nvidia.

Post your log file as well, /var/log/XFree86.0.log. It will most likely have to be an attachment, though, as it's too large to be in one post.
No the filename is XF86Config
The screen works with the vesa driver and for testing purposes I have two files XF86Config.vesa and XF86Config.nvidia. When testing I copy the settings I want to test to XF86Config.

In the meantime my config works. Don't ask me why but after testing if the output signal on the TVout wasn't active with a svhs cable the image on my monitor became active. From that point on the nvidia driver works fine!

For your info I have attached the log file when it didn't quite worked.
Attached Files
File Type: txt xfree86.0.nvidia.txt (25.3 KB, 166 views)
ikke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-02, 02:51 PM   #7
ikke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 7
Default Re: no signal ....

Quote:
Originally posted by FluoDude
I had the same problem GeForce 4200 , by adding the - option "NvAgp" "1" - to the device section of XF86Config file this was solved.

hopefully this can help you
thxs for the tip, but I've tried all the options.
ikke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-02, 03:06 PM   #8
ikke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 7
Default solution on my problem ??

I have a philips brilliance 180p2 flat panel. This monitor has 2 inputs VGA and DVI. My card has 3 outputs: VGA, DVI and SVHS. The TFT came with 2 cables: 1 vga-vga and 1 dvi-vga (no dvi-dvi)
Under the prevoius redhat release (7.3) when installing the drivers the TFT and card where connected through vga-vga. This worked fine. Afterwards I switch to the vga-dvi cable (vga on the card and dvi on the TFT) without any problems.
After installing redhat 8 and recompiling the drivers with rpmbuild I had the no input signal problem.
This week when just trying silly things after being blocked I switched to the vga-vga cable and also connected the svhs on the card to my TV. After starting X there was some flickering on the TV screen and then the nvidia logo appeared on my TFT, followed by the start of my window manager.
After that everything works perfect (even after rebooting into other OS'es)
I don't really know what solved the problem. My XF86Config hasn't changed an has no specific options (file attached fyi). Was it the switch to the vga-vga cable or was it by testing the svhs output?
Attached Files
File Type: txt xf86config.txt (1.7 KB, 183 views)
ikke is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-20-02, 12:49 AM   #9
vmcdirect
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 3
Default Re: RH80 geforce4 no input signal

I had stated earlier that I wasn't able to get TwinView working across a Dell 2000FP LCD and a Dell 1626HT CRT. Well, now it works. After *tons* of tweaking, I found that the only real change needed was to set the ConnectedMonitor to "DFP,DFP", despite the fact that I have 1 CRT and 1 DFP. Strange. It works beautifully at 1600x1200 on both monitors at 24 bit color. Can not complain. Here's my XF86Config file:

Section "Files"

# The location of the RGB database. Note, this is the name of the
# file minus the extension (like ".txt" or ".db"). There is normally
# no need to change the default.

RgbPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"

# Multiple FontPath entries are allowed (they are concatenated together)
# By default, Red Hat 6.0 and later now use a font server independent of
# the X server to render fonts.

FontPath "unix/:7100"

EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "dbe"
Load "extmod"
Load "fbdevhw"
# Load "dri"
Load "glx"
Load "record"
#Load "xtrap"
Load "freetype"
Load "type1"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "keyboard"

# Option "AutoRepeat" "500 5"

# when using XQUEUE, comment out the above line, and uncomment the
# following line
# Option "Protocol" "Xqueue"

# Specify which keyboard LEDs can be user-controlled (eg, with xset(1))
# Option "Xleds" "1 2 3"

# To disable the XKEYBOARD extension, uncomment XkbDisable.
# Option "XkbDisable"

# To customise the XKB settings to suit your keyboard, modify the
# lines below (which are the defaults). For example, for a non-U.S.
# keyboard, you will probably want to use:
# Option "XkbModel" "pc102"
# If you have a US Microsoft Natural keyboard, you can use:
# Option "XkbModel" "microsoft"
#
# Then to change the language, change the Layout setting.
# For example, a german layout can be obtained with:
# Option "XkbLayout" "de"
# or:
# Option "XkbLayout" "de"
# Option "XkbVariant" "nodeadkeys"
#
# If you'd like to switch the positions of your capslock and
# control keys, use:
# Option "XkbOptions" "ctrl:swapcaps"
Option "XkbRules" "xfree86"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "us"
#Option "XkbVariant" ""
#Option "XkbOptions" ""
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Mouse1"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"

Identifier "Dell2000FP"
VendorName "Dell"
ModelName "2000FP"
HorizSync 31-80
VertRefresh 56-76

EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "NV AGP TwinView"
VendorName "nvidia"
Driver "nvidia"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
Option "NvAGP" "1"
Option "TwinView" "true"
# Option "NoLogo"
Option "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "30.0 - 107.0"
Option "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "50.0 - 160.0"
Option "TwinViewOrientation" "RightOf"
Option "MetaModes" "1600x1200,1600x1200; 1280x1024,1280x1024; 1024x768,1024x768"
Option "Xinerama" "on"
# Option "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT,CRT"
# Option "ConnectedMonitor" "DFP,CRT"
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "DFP,DFP"
# Option "ConnectedMonitor" "DFP"
EndSection

#
# screen section for an nvidia AGP TwinView card
# (look at the appropriate Device section)
#
Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen AGP TwinView"
Device "NV AGP TwinView"
Monitor "Dell2000FP"
DefaultColorDepth 24
Subsection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1600x1200" "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubsection
EndSection

Section "DRI"
Mode 0666
EndSection

#
# just one agp twinview card
#
Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "AGPTwinView"
Screen "Screen AGP TwinView"
InputDevice "Mouse1" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection
Attached Files
File Type: txt xf86config.txt (4.0 KB, 177 views)
vmcdirect is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nouvea driver = less input latency duud NVIDIA Linux 12 06-02-12 01:00 AM
No monitor signal with new GeForce4 Ti 4400 Pontius NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 25 10-21-02 03:34 AM
For Sale: Gainward GeForce4 Ti 4400 "Golden Sample" MikeC For Sale/Trade 13 10-08-02 12:16 PM
GeForce4 owners: Please post your TV encoder and board information ScuzziOne NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 8 08-04-02 06:55 PM
GeForce4 Owners: Need your TV Encoder & Board Info... please! ScuzziOne NVIDIA Linux 1 08-01-02 04:00 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.