Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > Other Desktop Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

View Poll Results: how much trouble have you had with your R300+ video card?
no trouble. Works great 44 56.41%
minor trouble. A few issues, no big deal. 25 32.05%
major trouble. I can't believe this isn't fixed yet. 8 10.26%
nothing but trouble. Time to RMA. 1 1.28%
Voters: 78. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-08-03, 01:08 AM   #1
phye2002
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 16
Default how much trouble have you really had with your R300+ video card?

I have only had one studdering problem in NWN, and it was fixed. If you've had problems, post them as a comparison. I just got sick of hearing that the R300+ series was bug laden.
__________________
Not all chemicals are bad. Without chemicals such as hydrogen and oxygen, for example, there would be no way to make water, a vital ingredient in beer. (Dave Barry)
phye2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-03, 01:47 AM   #2
deejaya
Monster 3d
 
deejaya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 200
Default

Only had it a week or so, and the only big problem so far was some wierd crash at the same spot in Bridge Commander. I managed to play through it after ~5 crashes so it could have been a temperamental part of the game, but I found no-one else having this problem.

Another bad thing is HL plays pretty **** for a 5 year old game. I think Q3 runs so much better. I could play HL with max IQ on my Ti200, and my R300 gets about the same frame rate. Gothic 2 had some wierd clipping issues, but this could be the game, haven't played it on anything else.

If only they would add DV
__________________
Quote:
Originally posted by vampireuk
bah pingu, that piece of clay has nothing on the walking talking death machine that is flibble

Folding for team nV News
deejaya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-03, 02:56 AM   #3
-=DVS=-
.:. Lafiel .:.
 
-=DVS=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Outerspace
Posts: 3,009
Talking

i had a small problem here or there with early pre cats drivers but with current 3.4 or omegas 3.5 or older cats 3+ , evrything workeing great

Problems i had were refresh related , but Refreshlock or RefreshForce little programs fix it nicely offcourse ATI have same feature in its Control panel , so its all ok.

Minor problems in old game like Half-Life , but its fixed now.

No AA in 16bits games, was not a big deal problem but its fixed also

Actually had very little trouble if any with R300 , im thinking here about first radeons R100 and R200
__________________
.:. Lian Li X500FX .:. i7 2600k .:. PNY GTX 680 .:. Corsair DDR3 8GB .:. Silverstone 800W PSU .:. Asus P8P67-M Pro .:. Crucial M4 SSD 512GB .:.

Last edited by -=DVS=-; 07-08-03 at 03:02 AM.
-=DVS=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-03, 03:33 AM   #4
Kruno
TypeDef's assistant
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,641
Send a message via ICQ to Kruno Send a message via AIM to Kruno
Default

No trouble anywhere.
__________________
"Never before has any voice dared to utter the words of that tongue in Imladris, Mr. Anderson" - Elrond LOTR
Kruno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-03, 03:59 AM   #5
Dark Jedi
In the TARDIS
 
Dark Jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 129
Post Nothing major here...

Only problem I've had is with the rolling/flickering lines problem... but it doesn't bug me that much, I can live with it. Other than that, no probs here...
__________________
"It's the end... but the moment has been prepared for"

Moderator - Elite Bastards


Folding for Team nV News
Dark Jedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-03, 04:51 AM   #6
XForce
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 40
Default

Only problem is sometimes "mixed up" mouse-cursors when using IE and multimon.
However I've also had this problem before with my Rad8500LE, so it's more likely my Win98SE is borked beyond repair.

Time to format, I guess.
__________________
www.hardware-mods.de
XForce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-03, 05:07 AM   #7
Hanners
Elite Bastard
 
Hanners's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 984
Default

No problems whatsoever here.
__________________
Owner / Editor-in-Chief - Elite Bastards
Hanners is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-03, 05:23 AM   #8
silence
 
silence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
Posts: 425
Default

only problem i had was cause i tryed to overclock infineon 3.3 ram little bit too much, so i got artifacts....

working on stock speeds...no problems at all....and i am more then happy with my card
silence is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-08-03, 07:24 AM   #9
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default

I've had a few issues with the card in games, but it was nothing either a driver update or a bit of tweaking to the game itself didn't fix. I won't deny my ATI cards have needed a bit more "love" to get them to behave properly when compared to all NVIDIA cards I've owned. But the results when games are working properly more than outweigh the effort to put into getting them to look good. Again, this has only happened a handful of times - most of my games do work correctly without having to do much of anything, save for adjusting AA, AF and vsync.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-03, 07:24 AM   #10
Skuzzy
Bit Bumper
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Here
Posts: 782
Default

No problems here.
Skuzzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-03, 09:15 AM   #11
|JuiceZ|
Registered User
 
|JuiceZ|'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Louisville
Posts: 3,286
Send a message via Skype™ to |JuiceZ|
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by saturnotaku
I've had a few issues with the card in games, but it was nothing either a driver update or a bit of tweaking to the game itself didn't fix. I won't deny my ATI cards have needed a bit more "love" to get them to behave properly when compared to all NVIDIA cards I've owned. But the results when games are working properly more than outweigh the effort to put into getting them to look good. Again, this has only happened a handful of times - most of my games do work correctly without having to do much of anything, save for adjusting AA, AF and vsync.
Hit the nail on the head there, my thoughts exactly.
__________________
primary MBP Core i5 2010 | HR | OCZ 120GB SSD
gaming Core i5-2500K @ 4.1GHz w/ CM Hyper212+ | MSI N560GTX-Ti TF II/OC | MSI P67A-GD55 | Silverstone FT02 | X360 250GB + Kinect
htpc IONITX-A-U | 2GB | M350 | XBMC Linux | SABnzbd, sickbeard, couchpotato | NAS Synology DS411J | 4TB
hometheater KURO PDP-5020 | Marantz SR6005 | Definitive BP7001s, CLR3000, BPVXPs
|JuiceZ| is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-03, 09:21 AM   #12
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by K.I.L.E.R
No trouble anywhere.
ditto...

my 2nd 9700pro based card... and neither have had ANY issues
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 670 Video Card Review @ [H] News GeForce GTX 670 Reviews 0 05-10-12 10:11 AM
NVIDIA & EVGA GeForce GTX 670 2GB Video Card Review (LegitReviews) News GeForce GTX 670 Reviews 0 05-10-12 08:52 AM
Bad luck with video card fans? Switch NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 12 09-25-02 01:25 AM
Best video card for running dual displays? nutsnbolts NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 10 09-03-02 02:02 PM
Video card upgrade advice needed Billy34 NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 5 08-28-02 05:19 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.