Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > General Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-24-03, 01:01 PM   #1
mdk_newbie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 3
Default nvnet nforce2 problems on Mandrake 9.1

Hi folks!

I just (three days ago) installed the latest Mandrake 9.1 on my new shuttle XPC with an onboard nforce2 LAN. Everything else (onboard nvidia graphics, sound, etc.) came up just fine out of the box, EXCEPT for the onboard nvnet network adapter.

I downloaded the nvidia nforce RPM for mandrake here and it claimed to install successfully, but still no luck.

I've only tried configuring the connection using the drakconnect wizard, clicking the "LAN" checkbox. I never get the screen shown in the Mandrake 9.1 documentation that shows "eth0", "eth1", etc.

What should I try? I'm assuming the RPM linked above is the same result as if I compiled the source on my machine -- should I try that next?

Thanks for the help!
Newbie
mdk_newbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-03, 02:44 PM   #2
izenogoud76
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 3
Lightbulb

Hi,
after installing RPM, did you modified you /etc/modules.conf ?
just have a look on : install nforce

You have to add in your /etc/modules.conf the following :
alias eth0 nvnet
alias sound-slot-0 nvaudio
alias usb-interface usb-ohci
insmod eth0

What I did is to put some # before twin lines (like sound-slot-0)
After doing insmod, you can try with ifconfig to see if eth0 is up :-) .
For me, the network came up with my router's dhcp, and I could connect the web without any troubles. After that, I rebooted the system and it worked fine for network, sound and usb, but I can't say if usb2 is up or not because I just have some usb1 devices.
Let me know if you have usb2 working.
izenogoud76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-03, 02:48 PM   #3
izenogoud76
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 3
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally posted by izenogoud76
You have to add in your /etc/modules.conf the following :
alias eth0 nvnet
alias sound-slot-0 nvaudio
alias usb-interface usb-ohci
insmod eth0
Sorry, in the /etc/modules.conf you just have to add the 3 first lines :
alias eth0 nvnet
alias sound-slot-0 nvaudio
alias usb-interface usb-ohci

You have to make the insmod eth0 after having modified your modules.conf

izenogoud76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-03, 03:50 PM   #4
mdk_newbie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by izenogoud76
Sorry, in the /etc/modules.conf you just have to add the 3 first lines :
alias eth0 nvnet
alias sound-slot-0 nvaudio
alias usb-interface usb-ohci

You have to make the insmod eth0 after having modified your modules.conf

Thanks izenogoud76. I checked my modules.conf and those three lines are already in it. I then ran insmod eth0, and got the following response:

insmod: eth0: no module by that name found

Thoughts?
mdk_newbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-03, 01:16 PM   #5
blueworm
[DEADAGAIN]blueworm
 
blueworm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 416
Default

if the nvnet driver is installed it will be in lib/modules
Run this command to find it
Code:
find /lib/modules | grep nvnet
if its not in there its not installed.
so that nvnet loads at boot add it to your /etc/modules
add the following line
Code:
nvnet
blueworm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-03, 10:10 PM   #6
mdk_newbie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks blueworm. I gave that a try and still no love from nvnet. Nvnet was already in my /lib/modules, and I added the nvnet line to my /etc/modules successfully. Restarting, running insmod, nothing let me get to the internet or even to the rest of my LAN.

Am I missing something here?

Thanks.
mdk_newbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-03, 12:25 PM   #7
blueworm
[DEADAGAIN]blueworm
 
blueworm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 416
Default

Getting nvnet tu run in mandrake 9.1 is a pain in the ass I know, I have got it to run.
But I have long abandoned mandrake in favor of gentoo.
here is how I got it to run.
I compilled nvnet from source I did not want to install nvaudio in favor of alsa drivers.
download this http://download.nvidia.com/XFree86/n....0-0261.tar.gz
now
Code:
 $ tar-zxvf NVIDIA-nforce-1.0-0261.tar.gz
Code:
 $ cd nforce/nvnet
Before compiling make sure you have the kernel source code in /usr/src
if not it is in mandrake Installation disk 1
Code:
 # make
Code:
 # make install
It should compile without errors.
Now add nvnet to your /etc/modules
and also add this following line to /etc/modules.conf
Code:
alias eth0 nvnet
Now you have to hand edit your network config as such.
Code:
# touch /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0
Now using an editor add this to the empty file you have just created.
Code:
DEVICE=eth0
BOOTPROTO=static
IPADDR=192.168.0.1
NETMASK=255.255.255.0
NETWORK=192.168.0.0
BROADCAST=192.168.0.255
ONBOOT=yes
note put your ip address this is just an example.
Code:
 # touch /etc/resolv.conf
in this file add the following
Code:
search localdomain
nameserver <YOUR_DNS_SERVER_IP_HERE>
Now edit /etc/sysconfig/network and add this at the bottom.
Code:
GATEWAY=<YOUR_GATEWAY_HERE>
Now if you reboot and go to the mandrake_control_center > network_configuration when you use the wizard nvnet should now show up in the list of
devices.
This brief guide is what worked for me and a static ip config. But regardless it will at least allow you to use the wizard which as you now does not detect the nvnet devise otherwise.

Good Luck.

Last edited by blueworm; 08-28-03 at 12:31 PM.
blueworm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mandrake Linux 9.0 (Dolphin) now available | comments? volt General Linux 10 10-19-02 10:13 PM
Mandrake 8.2 Nvidia src.rpm problems Mr_Malcontent NVIDIA Linux 8 09-11-02 09:53 PM
Problems with Mandrake and NVidia drivers..... xMonoxide187x NVIDIA Linux 2 08-22-02 01:55 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.