Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-09-03, 07:08 PM   #1
RobHague
I like cheese.
 
RobHague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 905
Default AntiAliasing in Splinter Cell not working?

Is this a driver thing? Or something to do with the game?

Because no matter what i set, 2x,4x,8x, 16x!! it makes no difference at all. The jaggies look the same and the game performs no different.

People with other cards had any luck getting it working?
__________________

There used to be a signature here, but now there isnt.
RobHague is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-03, 07:12 PM   #2
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default

its a known game problem with splinter cell... both nvidia and ati have the problem
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-03, 07:15 PM   #3
RobHague
I like cheese.
 
RobHague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 905
Default

Ah

Have you seen this little 'glitch' btw? Look at the clouds in the sky :S
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	scimage (medium).jpg
Views:	520
Size:	28.1 KB
ID:	1300  
__________________

There used to be a signature here, but now there isnt.
RobHague is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-03, 07:20 PM   #4
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default

what exactly are you trying to point out?? im a little confused at what was wrong with the clouds but i havent noticed any problems on the splinter cell demo.. they do have a patch out however, have you tried that?
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-03, 07:25 PM   #5
RobHague
I like cheese.
 
RobHague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 905
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jAkUp
what exactly are you trying to point out?? im a little confused at what was wrong with the clouds but i havent noticed any problems on the splinter cell demo.. they do have a patch out however, have you tried that?
Ignore the smoke, and look straight up at the clouds. They look blocky yeah? wierd colours?

I havent tried the patch no, i was at their site and i didnt see any in the downloads section :S ill have another look.
__________________

There used to be a signature here, but now there isnt.
RobHague is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-03, 07:29 PM   #6
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default

ahhh.. i see what your talking about... i dunno if i have that problem or not, i havent really noticed....

well, anways you can download the patch from here
http://www.3dgamers.com/games/splintercell/
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-03, 07:49 PM   #7
RobHague
I like cheese.
 
RobHague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 905
Default

thanks for the link and i only noticed that sky thing by chance hehe.
__________________

There used to be a signature here, but now there isnt.
RobHague is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-03, 10:35 PM   #8
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default

Wow, hadn't really noticed the sky thing and I could give a crap about that. What really gets my goat with this is lights shining through walls with AA enabled. That's far more annoying if you ask me.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-10-03, 12:12 AM   #9
gravioli
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cosmopolis, WA
Posts: 276
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RobHague
Ah

Have you seen this little 'glitch' btw? Look at the clouds in the sky :S
They look pretty normal to me. They don't look blocky to me. The colors don't seem out of place either; they look like they are reflecting lights from the city or a fire. I just had my eyes checked recently too.
__________________
Windows 7 Ultimate|Intel i7 2700K|Gigabyte Z68XP-3DP|16GB GeIL Enhance CORSA|EVGA Geforce GTX 560Ti|OCZ Vertex2 120GB
gravioli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-03, 07:12 AM   #10
MuFu
should be at a lecture
 
MuFu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Loughborough Uni/Aylesbury, UK
Posts: 462
Default

I think the official line from UbiSoft was that they don't currently support FSAA, but may add support in the next patch.

I get the lighting errors too. Annoying.

MuFu.
__________________
2500+@2310MHz (210 x 11)
Innovatek H20
Abit AN7
2x256MB Kingmax "SuperCHEAP" PC3500 (2.5:3:2:6)
Maxtor DM+9/8MB 120GB
WD Caviar 800BB 80GB + Molex SilentDrive
Radeon 9700 Pro@345/324MHz
M-Audio Revo 7.1
Cooler Master ATC-710 GX2
Nebula DigiTV
Samsung 172W TFT
Enermax 431W Active.
GOT Central?
MuFu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-03, 08:01 AM   #11
RobHague
I like cheese.
 
RobHague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 905
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gravioli
They look pretty normal to me. They don't look blocky to me. The colors don't seem out of place either; they look like they are reflecting lights from the city or a fire. I just had my eyes checked recently too.
Turn your monitor/screen brightness up as high as it will go and you will see what i mean.

Shame about the FSAA though, i didnt think it was something the application had to 'support' either. Hope they sort it, its a nice looking game but it really needs AA.
__________________

There used to be a signature here, but now there isnt.
RobHague is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-03, 08:32 AM   #12
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by MuFu
I think the official line from UbiSoft was that they don't currently support FSAA, but may add support in the next patch.
That's a pretty stupid stance, especially considering that modern graphics hardware can do some degree of AA without too much of a performance hit.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tony Hawk devs working on Call of Duty News Gaming Headlines 0 06-15-12 11:30 AM
Supernatural Splinter Cell: DARK Is A Vampire Stealth RPG News Archived News Items 0 05-12-12 01:00 PM
Thief: Deadly Shadows, Splinter Cell, Anomaly: Warzone Earth and Legacy of Kain: Soul News Archived News Items 0 05-04-12 12:00 PM
Nvidia 3123 not working on Mandrake 8.2 UP with Geforce 440 MMX tariqf NVIDIA Linux 1 09-17-02 09:22 AM
TV-out not working nomatter what driver.. Dr_Gigolo NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 11 09-11-02 12:11 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.