Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-11-11, 07:08 AM   #1
wheeljack12
Registered User
 
wheeljack12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Hamilton,Ontario,Canada
Posts: 1,188
Send a message via Skype™ to wheeljack12
Default amd may change cpu names for upcoming processors

http://www.xbitlabs.com/news/cpu/dis..._Document.html
__________________
gigabyte ga-z87x-ud3h, 8gb ddr3-1866 mhz ram in dual channel,intel xeon e3-1245v3 3.4 ghz quad core cpu, zotac gtx 770 amp 2gb 2 way sli,2x ocz agility 3 90gb ssd in raid 0,rosewill 750 watt 80 plus platinum psu,antec gx 700 case, lg 14x bluray writer,windows 8.1 64 bit pro, steelseries 6gv2 keyboard ,asus vg278he 27' 144hz 3d vision 2 lcd monitor, steelseries 6gv2 keyboard, zalman eclipse 8200dpi mouse,xbox 360 wired controller for windows,adata 16gb usb 2.0 flash drive,windows 8.1 64 bit,creative labs sb recon 3d pci-e sc

Brother's system: Asus p8z77-v lk mb, 8gb of ddr3 1600mhz ram,intel core i7 3770k 3.5 ghz cpu, intel hd 4000 igpu, ,antec earthwatts 650 watt 80 plus platinum psu,cooler master 3500 dpi spawn mouse, ican keyboard, logitech ls120 2.0 speakers, cooler master elite 343 matx case, corsair force 3 90gb ssd, pioneer bdr-208 15x bluray writer, acer g215hv 21.5' 1080p monitor,kingston usb 2.0 8gb flash drive,win 8.0 pro 64 bit,onboard realtek audio

I'd rather walk with God in the Dark than shine in the light alone.
wheeljack12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-11, 08:26 AM   #2
Madpistol
It's a wittle baby!
 
Madpistol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 4,554
Send a message via AIM to Madpistol
Default Re: amd may change cpu names for upcoming processors

This isn't unexpected. Other than the word "Core," Intel has moved to a similar naming scheme. I guess AMD believes it's high time for them to do the same thing.

It's a shame we won't have a Phenom 3, though. It sounds like it would have been the amazing part of the Phenom line.
__________________
http://bfbc2.statsverse.com/sig/deta...d%20Pistol.png


MadPistol's Rig

AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE (RB-C3) @ 4Ghz, 1.425 Vcore, 1.25V NB VID
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme (w/ Scythe Gentle Typhoon 120mm fan)
Gigabyte UD3H AM3 790GX motherboard
XFX Radeon HD 5870
PNY XLR8 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
Soundblaster X-Fi Fatality Titanium
OCZ Vertex II 120GB SSD (OS drive)
Western Digital 500GB Caviar (black)
Western Digital 640GB Blue
Samsung DVD burner
Logitech MX performance mouse
Logitech G15 keyboard
Corsair HX 750-watt Modular PSU
Antec Nine Hundred case
Windows 7 Home Premium x64
ASUS MK241 24" LCD
ACER X241W 24" LCD - RIP
Madpistol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-11, 10:56 AM   #3
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: amd may change cpu names for upcoming processors

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaWter View Post
This is a good move. If AMD really has a good product in the pipeline, they shouldn't call it Phenom.
The Phenom name was never under a good star and never produced great products and AMD killed the Athlon brand by only releasing very low end products under that brand.
I'd not say the Phenoms weren't good. I've owned both Phenoms, C2D, C2Q, and this i7 920. The Phenoms have been very competitive chips considering their price tags. Definitely not of the same caliber the K8 line up was, but good chips none-the-less.

However, I think if Bulldozer is really something then changine the name could be of good benefit to AMD.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-11, 11:17 AM   #4
Madpistol
It's a wittle baby!
 
Madpistol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 4,554
Send a message via AIM to Madpistol
Default Re: amd may change cpu names for upcoming processors

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaWter View Post
I said "great" not "good" Phenoms were good, not great.
Great on gaming performance, great on price. They've been a great alternative to the Core ix lineup for gaming. Only now that Sandy Bridge is on the market has intel surpassed them in value.
__________________
http://bfbc2.statsverse.com/sig/deta...d%20Pistol.png


MadPistol's Rig

AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE (RB-C3) @ 4Ghz, 1.425 Vcore, 1.25V NB VID
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme (w/ Scythe Gentle Typhoon 120mm fan)
Gigabyte UD3H AM3 790GX motherboard
XFX Radeon HD 5870
PNY XLR8 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
Soundblaster X-Fi Fatality Titanium
OCZ Vertex II 120GB SSD (OS drive)
Western Digital 500GB Caviar (black)
Western Digital 640GB Blue
Samsung DVD burner
Logitech MX performance mouse
Logitech G15 keyboard
Corsair HX 750-watt Modular PSU
Antec Nine Hundred case
Windows 7 Home Premium x64
ASUS MK241 24" LCD
ACER X241W 24" LCD - RIP
Madpistol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-11, 11:54 AM   #5
Madpistol
It's a wittle baby!
 
Madpistol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 4,554
Send a message via AIM to Madpistol
Default Re: amd may change cpu names for upcoming processors

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaWter View Post
Yeah maybe the value aspect makes them great for some people.

But apparently that's not even the case in AMD's eyes. Their last great products were far away from typical value price points. Their X2 4800+ or FX series weren't cheap processors.
Because AMD had the superior product at that time. Since that is no longer the case, they've had to compete on price for the last several years. Yea, it sucks that they didn't have a more competitive product, but for those of us that were looking to build a good gaming system for not a lot of money, AMD delivered.
__________________
http://bfbc2.statsverse.com/sig/deta...d%20Pistol.png


MadPistol's Rig

AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE (RB-C3) @ 4Ghz, 1.425 Vcore, 1.25V NB VID
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme (w/ Scythe Gentle Typhoon 120mm fan)
Gigabyte UD3H AM3 790GX motherboard
XFX Radeon HD 5870
PNY XLR8 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
Soundblaster X-Fi Fatality Titanium
OCZ Vertex II 120GB SSD (OS drive)
Western Digital 500GB Caviar (black)
Western Digital 640GB Blue
Samsung DVD burner
Logitech MX performance mouse
Logitech G15 keyboard
Corsair HX 750-watt Modular PSU
Antec Nine Hundred case
Windows 7 Home Premium x64
ASUS MK241 24" LCD
ACER X241W 24" LCD - RIP
Madpistol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-11, 12:18 PM   #6
Starscream
Decepticook
 
Starscream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cybertron
Posts: 1,004
Default Re: amd may change cpu names for upcoming processors

I'll be glad to see them drop the word Phenom, so I don't have to hear idiots say fenum or fenaam as much.
__________________
Maybe tomorrow I'll wanna settle down, until tomorrow I'll just keep moving on...
Starscream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-11, 06:23 PM   #7
red777star
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 161
Default Re: amd may change cpu names for upcoming processors

AMD is dying company. If it wasn't for ATI department they would not be around anymore even i consider ATI cards a headache.
red777star is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-11, 06:29 PM   #8
Roadhog
Resident Alien
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6,776
Default Re: amd may change cpu names for upcoming processors

Quote:
Originally Posted by red777star View Post
AMD is dying company. If it wasn't for ATI department they would not be around anymore even i consider ATI cards a headache.
Troll more. AMD is anything but dying.
Roadhog is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-13-11, 12:10 AM   #9
red777star
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 161
Default Re: amd may change cpu names for upcoming processors

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadhog View Post
Troll more. AMD is anything but dying.
They are two generations behind Intel cpus and Sandy Bridge agressive pricing leaves no room for AMD.
red777star is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-11, 01:34 AM   #10
Roadhog
Resident Alien
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6,776
Default Re: amd may change cpu names for upcoming processors

Quote:
Originally Posted by red777star View Post
They are two generations behind Intel cpus and Sandy Bridge agressive pricing leaves no room for AMD.
can you buy sandy bridge right now?

O wait.. you cant.
Roadhog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-11, 02:06 AM   #11
Starscream
Decepticook
 
Starscream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cybertron
Posts: 1,004
Default Re: amd may change cpu names for upcoming processors

Troll poster be trollin'.

__________________
Maybe tomorrow I'll wanna settle down, until tomorrow I'll just keep moving on...
Starscream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-11, 07:28 AM   #12
LydianKnight
Registered Knight
 
LydianKnight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Málaga, Spain
Posts: 977
Default Re: amd may change cpu names for upcoming processors

Vision FX doesn't sound that bad... although now I come to think about it...

... sounds like a reading glasses marketing campaign hahaha

EDIT: same number of posts as the serial number of my ex-AMD proc. Awwww I miss thee
LydianKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Š1998 - 2014, nV News.