Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Crysis

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-09-07, 09:28 PM   #1
Destroy
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3,994
Default Crysis low, med, high, very high screen compare here

http://ve3d.ign.com/articles/news/34...evels-Compared

Meh, I was expecting lot more texture improvements in Very High.
__________________

Vista64 Home Premium
Gigabyte GA-EP35C-DS3R
CPU E8500 with Corsair H50 cooler
HIS 6970, always 19x10res
Memory 8 Gig OCZ 1000@1024
Display Westinghouse 37" LVM-37w1 LCD monitor
Destroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-07, 09:44 PM   #2
Luminal
*BANNED*
 
Luminal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: far way!
Posts: 150
Default Re: Crysis low, med, high, very high screen compare here

wow, huge difference between DX9 and DX10

Also the picture quality is bad. But thanks for the screens.
Luminal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-07, 09:45 PM   #3
agentkay
Registered User
 
agentkay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Europe
Posts: 3,866
Default Re: Crysis low, med, high, very high screen compare here

I'm not sure what these sceenshots are taken from but I guess from the singleplayer demo or preview version? Biggest difference seems be the ground texture which has strong occlusion mapping, sunrays, different HDR, larger drawdistance. Whats weird is that most or all these effects can be enabled in the DX9 MP beta so either some effects were "moved" to "veryhigh" (DX10) or are simply more efficient there, resulting in better framerate.

I think the distance to the textures is too low to actually tell of any possible improvement, maybe the detail layer is more detailed or the occlusion mapping is used more often.
__________________

Intel I7-920 aircooled by Prolimatech Megahalems @ 3.8Ghz (200x19) | Gigabyte GA-X58-UD3R | OCZ Platinum 3x2GB DDR3-1600 RAM (7-7-7-24) @ 1600 | Gainward GTX 480 | WD Raptor 74GB + 150GB + Samsung 1TB | Soundblaster X-Fi Platinum | Corsair AX850 Gold | Coolermaster Stacker 830 silver | Logitech Z-5500 Digital 5.1 | Logitech G15 keyboard | Logitech G25 Racing Wheel | Sharp LC-46 XL1E (gaming and work)
F CliffyB.
agentkay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-07, 09:57 PM   #4
Tork64
Registered User
 
Tork64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 409
Default Re: Crysis low, med, high, very high screen compare here

please ignore minor grain, quick photoshop gif.

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo e6600
G.SKILL 2GB DDR2 800
EVGA GeForce 8800GTS SC 320MB
Samsung Widescreen 920bw
Vista / XP Pro
Tork64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-07, 10:00 PM   #5
malachi1313
Registered User
 
malachi1313's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: SMASHVILLE,TN
Posts: 818
Default Re: Crysis low, med, high, very high screen compare here

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tork64
please ignore minor grain, quick photoshop gif.

That really shows the differennce between DX9 and 10 really well. Thanx for the pix!!
malachi1313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-07, 10:02 PM   #6
JohnDio
Registered User
 
JohnDio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,026
Default Re: Crysis low, med, high, very high screen compare here

Seriously what's up with limiting the draw distance (and maybe the LOD) in High (DX9) and Very High (DX10)? This is NOT a feature. For years we have been sliding the draw distance and the LOD and now we won't be able to adjust them cause of the bloody DX10? And on top of this... most of the DX10 features like occlusion mapping and sunshafts are enabled in the DX9 beta via tweaks. And finally this screenshot is not impressive at all. Hell it's even worse than the beta graphics
JohnDio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-07, 10:17 PM   #7
MUYA
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 6,794
Send a message via MSN to MUYA
Default Re: Crysis low, med, high, very high screen compare here

Less cartoony as the higher quality setting is turned on ...nice ..might just have to go Vista...
__________________
I5-2500k@4.7GHz - MSI Z77A-GD65 - 4GB X2 A-DATA DDR3 1600 - Corsair H100 - Antec Quatro 850W
Gigabyte Windforce X3 GTX 680 OC - Dell 24" IPS
Intel 320 300 GB SSD - 1 TB Hitachi HDD - 2x 250 GB WD HDD
Corsair K90 - Corsair Venegance 2000 Headset - Razer Naga Epic
Corsair 600T Case
MUYA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-07, 10:47 PM   #8
nutcrackr
Super Registered User
 
nutcrackr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,204
Default Re: Crysis low, med, high, very high screen compare here

I kinda like dx9 on med settings, reminds me of far cry with lots of color.
nutcrackr is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-09-07, 11:01 PM   #9
Saintster
Registered User
 
Saintster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 784
Default Re: Crysis low, med, high, very high screen compare here

I'll be happy with high dx9 dx10 looks sweet but I'm not ready to migrate to Vista for one game. I'm waiting for the hardware that will really run it well next gen or further.
Saintster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-07, 11:12 PM   #10
methimpikehoses
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Crysis low, med, high, very high screen compare here

You can really see the difference by looking at the rocks in the bottom foreground of that gif sequence. Now I wonder what hardware it would take to make that level of detail playable...
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-07, 11:50 PM   #11
nightmare beta
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 332
Default Re: Crysis low, med, high, very high screen compare here

i think that it's going to run fine in dx10 on the 8800 gtx, but i could be wrong.

on the other hand, some people aren't satisfied with 45-60 fps, so it depends upon how you look at it. i've never understood what's so bad about 60 fps, even 30.

they've taken a long time, so i don't think it's going to disappoint.

and i can't believe ea is actually publishing it.

it'll be the first ea game i'd buy since the 16 bit era.
nightmare beta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-07, 11:54 PM   #12
nightmare beta
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 332
Default Re: Crysis low, med, high, very high screen compare here

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnDio
Seriously what's up with limiting the draw distance (and maybe the LOD) in High (DX9) and Very High (DX10)? This is NOT a feature. For years we have been sliding the draw distance and the LOD and now we won't be able to adjust them cause of the bloody DX10? And on top of this... most of the DX10 features like occlusion mapping and sunshafts are enabled in the DX9 beta via tweaks. And finally this screenshot is not impressive at all. Hell it's even worse than the beta graphics
it's due to the z-buffer limitations, possibly, i don't really know. but it really does look like **** how **** far away looks all ****ty and ****.

i miss the w-buffer.

i think that the unreal 3 engine is probably better.
nightmare beta is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crysis 3 preview News Gaming Headlines 0 06-16-12 07:20 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.