Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Networking And Security

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-19-07, 04:26 PM   #13
zoomy942
 
zoomy942's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bellevue, ID
Posts: 5,338
Send a message via AIM to zoomy942 Send a message via MSN to zoomy942
Default Re: At my wits' end...

thats not eitrely true. your wireless range surely has increased and the amount of clients it can handle has also increased.
zoomy942 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-07, 05:00 PM   #14
911medic
Is it football season yet
 
911medic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Near Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 715
Default Re: At my wits' end...

Quote:
Originally Posted by zoomy942
thats not eitrely true. your wireless range surely has increased and the amount of clients it can handle has also increased.
Actually, I had no range/number of client issues with the old router.

But anyway...

Attached are some screenshots of my router settings.

Click image for larger version

Name:	Router Advanced Wireless Settings.JPG
Views:	177
Size:	71.1 KB
ID:	28565 Click image for larger version

Name:	Router Basic Setup.JPG
Views:	184
Size:	99.3 KB
ID:	28566 Click image for larger version

Name:	Router Basic Wireless Settings.JPG
Views:	182
Size:	54.7 KB
ID:	28567 Click image for larger version

Name:	Router DDNS.JPG
Views:	190
Size:	48.2 KB
ID:	28568 Click image for larger version

Name:	Router DHCP Active Clients.JPG
Views:	192
Size:	30.3 KB
ID:	28569

In the fifth pic, you can see my wife's laptop is recognized by the router (it's the one that starts with "USRTC").
__________________
E4300 @ 3GHz (lapped) || Tuniq Tower 120 (lapped) || Gigabyte EP45-UD3L || eVGA 8800GTS 640MB @ 648/1512/999 || 6GB DDR2-800 @ 5-5-5-15|| 74GB Raptor || 80GB Caviar || 250GB WD || Corsair HX520W || Samsung 225BW 22" LCD (1680x1050) || X-Fi XtremeGamer || Win7 RC x64 || Antec SX1040BII Server Tower || Altec-Lansing ATP3 Speakers
No comprehension to fail; I vacuum the wind for my sail
Can't be the rest; Let others waste my time?
Owning success is the bottom line

911medic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-07, 05:08 PM   #15
911medic
Is it football season yet
 
911medic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Near Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 715
Default Re: At my wits' end...

And some more:

Click image for larger version

Name:	Router Firewall.JPG
Views:	84
Size:	48.8 KB
ID:	28575 Click image for larger version

Name:	Router Status.JPG
Views:	87
Size:	73.6 KB
ID:	28576 Click image for larger version

Name:	Router VPN.JPG
Views:	93
Size:	46.8 KB
ID:	28577 Click image for larger version

Name:	Router Wireless Clients.JPG
Views:	93
Size:	33.7 KB
ID:	28578 Click image for larger version

Name:	Router Wireless Security.JPG
Views:	94
Size:	53.1 KB
ID:	28579

You can see on the "Wireless Client MAC List" pic that my wife's laptop's MAC address is recognized as an active connection, but there is no IP address or client host name shown. When connecting, her wireless software hangs on "acquiring network address" for a while, then displays the "limited/no connectivity" message.

Also, on the wireless settings pic you can see I can choose from AES or TKIP+AES. I originally had it set to TKIP+AES, but also tried just AES. No difference. I'll try plain ol' WPA next.
__________________
E4300 @ 3GHz (lapped) || Tuniq Tower 120 (lapped) || Gigabyte EP45-UD3L || eVGA 8800GTS 640MB @ 648/1512/999 || 6GB DDR2-800 @ 5-5-5-15|| 74GB Raptor || 80GB Caviar || 250GB WD || Corsair HX520W || Samsung 225BW 22" LCD (1680x1050) || X-Fi XtremeGamer || Win7 RC x64 || Antec SX1040BII Server Tower || Altec-Lansing ATP3 Speakers
No comprehension to fail; I vacuum the wind for my sail
Can't be the rest; Let others waste my time?
Owning success is the bottom line

911medic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-07, 05:14 PM   #16
911medic
Is it football season yet
 
911medic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Near Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 715
Default Re: At my wits' end...

And finally, pics from the laptop itself:

Click image for larger version

Name:	Dell Wireless Properties.JPG
Views:	97
Size:	47.8 KB
ID:	28580 Click image for larger version

Name:	Dell Wireless Network Properties.JPG
Views:	104
Size:	36.1 KB
ID:	28581 Click image for larger version

Name:	Dell Program Settings.JPG
Views:	101
Size:	57.6 KB
ID:	28582 Click image for larger version

Name:	Dell Program Link Status.JPG
Views:	97
Size:	53.4 KB
ID:	28583 Click image for larger version

Name:	Dell Network Connections.JPG
Views:	95
Size:	54.8 KB
ID:	28584

You can see that the two middle pics are from the Dell wireles utility, and that WPA2 is not an option. The two leftmost pics are from Windows Wireless Zero Config, and it does allow you to choose WPA2. You can also see that it only lets you choose TKIP or AES, not TKIP+AES. This is the only place that would accept the WPA key I'm using as well.

Also, in the rightmost pic, you can see she connects to her work servers using the "AGN" VPN. I have disconnected it and tried to connect to the wireless network, it doesn't matter.
__________________
E4300 @ 3GHz (lapped) || Tuniq Tower 120 (lapped) || Gigabyte EP45-UD3L || eVGA 8800GTS 640MB @ 648/1512/999 || 6GB DDR2-800 @ 5-5-5-15|| 74GB Raptor || 80GB Caviar || 250GB WD || Corsair HX520W || Samsung 225BW 22" LCD (1680x1050) || X-Fi XtremeGamer || Win7 RC x64 || Antec SX1040BII Server Tower || Altec-Lansing ATP3 Speakers
No comprehension to fail; I vacuum the wind for my sail
Can't be the rest; Let others waste my time?
Owning success is the bottom line

911medic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-07, 05:47 PM   #17
911medic
Is it football season yet
 
911medic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Near Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 715
Default Re: At my wits' end...

I have tried WEP, WPA, WPA2 TKIP, WPA2 AES, no help. Every time her laptop attempts to connect to the router, it hangs for a while on "acquiring network address," then comes back with the "limited or no connectivity" message. However, it appears to be connected at this point, as the wireless utilities show it being connected to the network, and the router "sees" her laptop.

If I thought I was pulling my hair out before...
__________________
E4300 @ 3GHz (lapped) || Tuniq Tower 120 (lapped) || Gigabyte EP45-UD3L || eVGA 8800GTS 640MB @ 648/1512/999 || 6GB DDR2-800 @ 5-5-5-15|| 74GB Raptor || 80GB Caviar || 250GB WD || Corsair HX520W || Samsung 225BW 22" LCD (1680x1050) || X-Fi XtremeGamer || Win7 RC x64 || Antec SX1040BII Server Tower || Altec-Lansing ATP3 Speakers
No comprehension to fail; I vacuum the wind for my sail
Can't be the rest; Let others waste my time?
Owning success is the bottom line

911medic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-07, 06:10 PM   #18
evilghost
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,606
Default Re: At my wits' end...

Hardwire her to ethernet and run Windows Update. Holler if the problem persists after that. I'm thinking you're missing the WPA/WPA2 patch.
evilghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-07, 06:38 PM   #19
zoomy942
 
zoomy942's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bellevue, ID
Posts: 5,338
Send a message via AIM to zoomy942 Send a message via MSN to zoomy942
Default Re: At my wits' end...

i was going to suggest the same thing. dang, i thought i was gonna be smarter

i'm still a nub
zoomy942 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-07, 09:07 PM   #20
911medic
Is it football season yet
 
911medic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Near Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 715
Default Re: At my wits' end...

Quote:
Originally Posted by evilghost
Hardwire her to ethernet and run Windows Update. Holler if the problem persists after that. I'm thinking you're missing the WPA/WPA2 patch.
Tried that back at the beginning of all this...made no difference.

EDIT: BTW, EG, I just finished installing Ubuntu 7.10 on my second HDD. Feeling really disoriented, LOL!
__________________
E4300 @ 3GHz (lapped) || Tuniq Tower 120 (lapped) || Gigabyte EP45-UD3L || eVGA 8800GTS 640MB @ 648/1512/999 || 6GB DDR2-800 @ 5-5-5-15|| 74GB Raptor || 80GB Caviar || 250GB WD || Corsair HX520W || Samsung 225BW 22" LCD (1680x1050) || X-Fi XtremeGamer || Win7 RC x64 || Antec SX1040BII Server Tower || Altec-Lansing ATP3 Speakers
No comprehension to fail; I vacuum the wind for my sail
Can't be the rest; Let others waste my time?
Owning success is the bottom line

911medic is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-19-07, 09:07 PM   #21
911medic
Is it football season yet
 
911medic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Near Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 715
Default Re: At my wits' end...

Quote:
Originally Posted by zoomy942
i'm still a nub
You got nothing on me, pal! LOL
__________________
E4300 @ 3GHz (lapped) || Tuniq Tower 120 (lapped) || Gigabyte EP45-UD3L || eVGA 8800GTS 640MB @ 648/1512/999 || 6GB DDR2-800 @ 5-5-5-15|| 74GB Raptor || 80GB Caviar || 250GB WD || Corsair HX520W || Samsung 225BW 22" LCD (1680x1050) || X-Fi XtremeGamer || Win7 RC x64 || Antec SX1040BII Server Tower || Altec-Lansing ATP3 Speakers
No comprehension to fail; I vacuum the wind for my sail
Can't be the rest; Let others waste my time?
Owning success is the bottom line

911medic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-07, 09:20 PM   #22
evilghost
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,606
Default Re: At my wits' end...

Dang. I wish I had advice but I don't. I guess when it says "limited/no connectivity" run "ipconfig /all" and tell me the IP for the WiFi interface, if it's 169.x.x.x then it's expecting a DHCP value and not getting it.
evilghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-07, 10:57 PM   #23
zoomy942
 
zoomy942's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bellevue, ID
Posts: 5,338
Send a message via AIM to zoomy942 Send a message via MSN to zoomy942
Default Re: At my wits' end...

correct. it will say auto config address if it cant pull an ip address. this themost common result of not pulling an address. can you connect with it wide open, with no encryption at all? that would eliminate the encryption variable fromour equation and pov whether or not it can connect at all.

so.. in the interest of throughness, if you dont mind, fully reset your router to factory defaults, then enable wireless and leave it open, place your router and wireless adapter in the dell to channel 1. channel 11 and 6 are most common and therefore most noisey. then see if it connects as it shold.

if it does then we know that something aout encrypting as a whole is the problem, if it does not then we kow it has to do with the wireless adapter.

troubleshooting ftw
zoomy942 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-07, 10:58 PM   #24
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: At my wits' end...

Quote:
Originally Posted by 911medic
Actually, I had no range/number of client issues with the old router.

But anyway...

Attached are some screenshots of my router settings.

Attachment 28565 Attachment 28566 Attachment 28567 Attachment 28568 Attachment 28569

In the fifth pic, you can see my wife's laptop is recognized by the router (it's the one that starts with "USRTC").
just to check, you realize that you have room for only 4 DHCP clients based on those settings right?

cause i mean, if you already have 4 computers connected, then there's your problem right there lol

try changing it to 10 and see if you can connect it. if not, change it back...
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Base mosaic and rotation? happyfunbot NVIDIA Linux 5 07-13-12 01:23 PM
Motorola proposes way to end patent war with Microsoft News Archived News Items 0 06-21-12 09:30 AM
It's The End Of E3 As We Know It, And I'm Feeling Fine News Archived News Items 0 06-11-12 02:50 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.