Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-06-08, 02:56 PM   #97
gnychis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 26
Default Re: memory leak under compiz w/ 100.14.19

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fackamato
Yeah, I guess nVidia doesn't have enough of their own hardware.
nvidia staff have replied in this thread that they have not been able to reproduce the problem in their hardware. This is why I'm offering it up.

I have PCI-E card, I am guessing that raising the AGP memory in bios would not help?
gnychis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-08, 03:20 PM   #98
ZenGuy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1
Default Re: memory leak under compiz w/ 100.14.19

It may be possible for me to allow access to a machine that demonstrates the bug on a VNC connection. That way, the hardware is a known quantity and NVIDIA can do all the diagnostics they need to do remotely in their attempt to isolate the problem.

I don't know how the NVIDIA developers feel about installing diagnostic software on a remote machine, but it's not a problem on my end. I will just blow away the partition when they are finished.

Either way, it would be nice to have a definitive answer as to the status of this bug at NVIDIA. Is it classified as Open, Can Not Reproduce, or Closed?
ZenGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-08, 03:37 PM   #99
SkyScrap
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 4
Default Re: memory leak under compiz w/ 100.14.19

Hi,

I'm having this problem as well (with Ubuntu 64bit), a solution is highly appreciated!

Sky
SkyScrap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-08, 02:27 PM   #100
gnychis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 26
Default Re: memory leak under compiz w/ 100.14.19

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZenGuy
It may be possible for me to allow access to a machine that demonstrates the bug on a VNC connection. That way, the hardware is a known quantity and NVIDIA can do all the diagnostics they need to do remotely in their attempt to isolate the problem.
they may not be able to take this approach because of proprietary software they would need to load (in fear you'd steal it...)

but who knows, i simply want another response from nvidia
gnychis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-08, 04:31 PM   #101
ctheo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 74
Default Re: memory leak under compiz w/ 100.14.19

send the hardware affected by this memory leak bug to them, I would have done it already if I could
ctheo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-08, 09:35 PM   #102
hadn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1
Default Re: memory leak under compiz w/ 100.14.19

I have a Sony VAIO VGN-FS415M with a NVIDIA GeForce Go 6400 with TurboCache. I am having the same memory problem immediately after installing Ubuntu 7.10 and activating the full 3D efects with the NVidia property driver. See details below:

$lspci:
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile 915GM/PM/GMS/910GML Express Processor to DRAM Controller (rev 03)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile 915GM/PM Express PCI Express Root Port (rev 03)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) High Definition Audio Controller (rev 03)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) USB UHCI #1 (rev 03)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) USB UHCI #2 (rev 03)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) USB UHCI #3 (rev 03)
00:1d.3 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) USB UHCI #4 (rev 03)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller (rev 03)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev d3)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801FBM (ICH6M) LPC Interface Bridge (rev 03)
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) IDE Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) SMBus Controller (rev 03)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV43 [GeForce Go 6200/6400] (rev a1)
06:03.0 CardBus bridge: Texas Instruments PCI7420 CardBus Controller
06:03.2 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Texas Instruments PCI7x20 1394a-2000 OHCI Two-Port PHY/Link-Layer Controller
06:03.3 Mass storage controller: Texas Instruments PCI7420/7620 Combo CardBus, 1394a-2000 OHCI and SD/MS-Pro Controller
06:04.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation PRO/Wireless 2200BG Network Connection (rev 05)
06:08.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 82562ET/EZ/GT/GZ - PRO/100 VE (LOM) Ethernet Controller Mobile (rev 03)


$ps aux | grep compiz:
hadn 15019 0.0 0.0 1756 540 ? S 00:27 0:00 /bin/sh /usr/bin/compiz --sm-client-id default0
hadn 15180 8.5 1.6 45240 33940 ? SL 00:27 0:01 /usr/bin/compiz.real --ignore-desktop-hints --replace --loose-binding --sm-client-id default0 ccp


After minimizing and maximizing a window a few times:
$ps aux | grep compiz:
hadn 15019 0.0 0.0 1756 540 ? S 00:27 0:00 /bin/sh /usr/bin/compiz --sm-client-id default0
hadn 15180 6.0 13.4 50192 279528 ? SL 00:27 0:05 /usr/bin/compiz.real --ignore-desktop-hints --replace --loose-binding --sm-client-id default0 ccp

$uname -a:
Linux here 2.6.22-14-generic #1 SMP Tue Feb 12 07:42:25 UTC 2008 i686 GNU/Linux


$lsmod | grep nv:
nvidia 6221648 36
i2c_core 26112 1 nvidia
agpgart 35016 2 nvidia,intel_agp
hadn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-08, 04:14 PM   #103
gnychis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 26
Default Re: memory leak under compiz w/ 100.14.19

everyone needs to report an nvidia-bug-report.log, it provides a ton of system specifications. Just run:
Code:
nvidia-bug-report.sh
and attach the output, nvidia-bug-report.log
Attached Files
File Type: log nvidia-bug-report.log (92.1 KB, 308 views)
gnychis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-08, 05:04 AM   #104
phranks
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Luxembourg
Posts: 2
Default Re: memory leak under compiz w/ 100.14.19

after hours of monkeying-around, I found on
<https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/compiz-fusion-plugins-main/+bug/151168>
this:
> Daniel Lombraña wrote on 2008-02-27:
> I have modified the compiz script from /usr/bin/ and changed the option
> INDIRECT="no" to "yes", and now compiz.real is always at 19.7 MB while
> without this option compiz was getting like 500 MB of my 1GB, something
> horrible

..... same for me ! (ubuntu-gutsy, NVS285, 169.12, twinview)

-frank
phranks is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-14-08, 04:39 PM   #105
gnychis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 26
Default Re: memory leak under compiz w/ 100.14.19

yes, but this disables direct rendering. It is not a fix, it's disabling a major component.
gnychis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-08, 05:20 PM   #106
ctheo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 74
Default Re: memory leak under compiz w/ 100.14.19

Quote:
Originally Posted by phranks
after hours of monkeying-around, I found on
<https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/compiz-fusion-plugins-main/+bug/151168>
this:
> Daniel Lombraña wrote on 2008-02-27:
> I have modified the compiz script from /usr/bin/ and changed the option
> INDIRECT="no" to "yes", and now compiz.real is always at 19.7 MB while
> without this option compiz was getting like 500 MB of my 1GB, something
> horrible

..... same for me ! (ubuntu-gutsy, NVS285, 169.12, twinview)

-frank
or you can run simply "compiz --replace --indirect-rendering"
ctheo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-08, 12:32 PM   #107
gnychis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 26
Default Re: memory leak under compiz w/ 100.14.19

bump, nvidia?
gnychis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-08, 01:38 PM   #108
gnychis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 26
Default Re: memory leak under compiz w/ 100.14.19

i've found that disabling 'animation' in ccsm stops compiz.real from growing on my computer, maybe the leak is caused by rendering within this animation plugin. this is just speculation... but it stops the memory growth on my machine by disabling animation.
gnychis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GPU memory consumption, back buffer, Quadro tdsussman NVIDIA Linux 5 08-14-12 09:14 PM
Video: For HPC Energy Efficiency, Samsung 20-nm Memory Fab Makes a Difference News Archived News Items 0 06-26-12 06:00 AM
Measuring card memory usage peter_ga NVIDIA Linux 0 05-24-12 08:07 PM
new memory tech QBM (Quad band memory) sebazve Rumor Mill 9 09-24-02 09:38 PM
Best DDR Memory... pelly General Hardware 10 09-01-02 04:17 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.