Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-24-07, 06:15 AM   #1
nvfighter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2
Default nvidia tvout problem

hi
i have a geforce 8500gt and tvout is working
but the picture is too big for my tv ....
overscan isnt touched and the probs must be related to the linux driver .. because the output in windows on the tv is correct ....

what could be done to get a screen that fits my tv?


this is my xorg.conf

# nvidia-settings: X configuration file generated by nvidia-settings
# nvidia-settings: version 1.0 (root@tux) Mi 15. Aug 00:55:05 CEST 2007

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Layout0"
Screen 0 "Screen0"
# Screen 0 "Screen0" 640 0
Screen 1 "Screen1" LeftOf "Screen0"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
Option "TwinView" "true"
Option "TwinViewOrientation" "Clone"

EndSection

Section "Files"
RgbPath "/usr/lib64/X11/rgb"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/misc/"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi/:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi/:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/ttf-bitstream-vera"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/Type1/"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "dbe"
Load "extmod"
Load "type1"
Load "freetype"
Load "glx"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
Option "Xinerama" "0"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
# generated from data in "/etc/conf.d/gpm"
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "kbd"
Option "CoreKeyboard"

Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "de"
Option "XkbVariant" "nodeadkeys"
Option "AutoRepeat" "500 30"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
# HorizSync source: edid, VertRefresh source: edid
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "LG StudioWorks 900B"
HorizSync 30.0 - 96.0
VertRefresh 50.0 - 160.0
# Option "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
# HorizSync source: builtin, VertRefresh source: builtin
Identifier "Monitor1"
VendorName "Telefunken"
ModelName "TV-0"
HorizSync 30-50
VertRefresh 60
# Option "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce 8500 GT"
BusID "PCI:3:0:0"
Screen 0
Option "NoLogo" "1"
Option "UseEdidDpi" "false"
Option "Dpi" "92 x 92"
Option "RenderAccel" "true"
Option "HWCursor" "true"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard1"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce 8500 GT"
BusID "PCI:3:0:0"
Screen 1
Option "NoLogo" "1"
Option "UseEdidDpi" "false"
Option "Dpi" "92 x 92"
Option "RenderAccel" "true"
Option "HWCursor" "true"
Option "TVStandard" "PAL-B"
#Option "DisplaySize" "1200 x 800"
Option "UseDisplayDevice" "TV"

# Option "TVOutFormat" "SCART"
# Option "TVOutFormat" "COMPOSITE"
#Option "TVOverScan" "0.0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
Subsection "Display"
Depth 8
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
ViewPort 0 0
EndSubsection
Subsection "Display"
Depth 16
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
ViewPort 0 0
EndSubsection
Subsection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
ViewPort 0 0
EndSubsection
EndSection


Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen1"
Device "Videocard1"
Monitor "Monitor1"
# Option "metamodes" "TV: 1024x768 +0+0"
# Option "metamodes" "TV: 640x480 +0+0"
# Option "metamodes" "TV: 800x600 +0+0"
DefaultDepth 16
SubSection "Display"
Depth 16
Modes "640x480"
EndSubSection
EndSection


greets
nvfighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-07, 11:04 AM   #2
ookami
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5
Default Re: nvidia tvout problem

I have the same problem with my 8500GT as well. After searching here I haven't seen a solution posted yet.
ookami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-07, 11:09 AM   #3
nvfighter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2
Default Re: nvidia tvout problem

i wrote an email to the support but they ment ....

Thank you for contacting NVIDIA Customer Care.

We're sorry, but we are not able to address Linux installation, usage and troubleshooting questions via this forum. Please refer to Linux support (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/foru...s=&forumid=14). In addition, answers to many of the most frequently asked questions can be found in our knowledge base or the text readme. (http://www.nvidia.com/object/linux.html) or (http://nvidia.custhelp.com).

To submit Linux bug reports please email linux-bugs@nvidia.com or linux-nforce-bugs@nvidia.com please attach an nvidia-bug-report.log, which is generated by running "nvidia-bug-report.sh".

Again, our apologies for the issues you are experiencing.

Regards,
NVIDIA Customer Care
nvfighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-07, 09:57 PM   #4
SonThun
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1
Default Re: nvidia tvout problem

Have any of you figured out a workaround for this issue? Thanks.
SonThun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-07, 11:03 AM   #5
ari.reads
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 17
Default Re: nvidia tvout problem

Exact same problem, 8600GT, on the SVIDEO output; NTSC-M here.

Very annoying. I can't find a way to shrink the image. TVoverscan seems to allow to expand it, but that is not what we need! Apparently there is a way to do this with the windows driver; is there at least a command line config that can do the same in Linux???
ari.reads is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-07, 03:24 PM   #6
jlm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3
Default Re: nvidia tvout problem

It could be your TVs. I have several HDTV's in the lab and they all clip the edges, some much more than others.

The edges of the screen just aren't that important to TV shows
jlm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-08, 07:43 AM   #7
zzztownsend
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7
Default Re: nvidia tvout problem

chaps/chapesses,

I have a similar problem.....

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=103065

I found a workaround and that is to not use the NVIDIA driver!!! at least I can get on with my mythbox

TV here (UK) is PAL (PAL-I according to the readme) but the symptoms in X seem to suggest that the card is defaulting to NTSC or something else and does not respond to xorg.conf options

suggest we all email the nvidia support people

Cheers

Matt
zzztownsend is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem connecting Pioneer VSX-S300 to Nvidia Ion - flat panel scaling solves it? wild_oscar NVIDIA Linux 3 06-17-12 07:18 AM
Need Help Installing NVIDIA Tesla M2070Q in Linux RHEL5 Ferianto85 NVIDIA Linux 0 05-18-12 08:35 PM
Rumor regarding lack of 680 availability ViN86 Rumor Mill 6 05-09-12 04:48 PM
Nvidia Go on laptop, black border within XFree86 problem raxip NVIDIA Linux 3 07-31-02 10:58 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.