Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Crysis

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-27-07, 02:29 PM   #1273
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: Crysis Single Player Demo Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gaco
I see.. I have only tried comparing an all high settings DX9 vs. an all very high settings DX10 (except Post Processing on medium) and I noticed much more realistic looking water in DX10, it was like how the water and waves moved. Can you have the pretty DX10 water with only high shaders? Is the good looking water depended on the wheter the water is set to high or very high?
The water in DX10 looks the same on lower shader settings as long as you keep it set to "very high" for water detail.
__________________

i7-2700k @ 5.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 570 2.5GB Tri-SLI
Asus P67 WS Revolution (Tri-SLI)
OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 (Raid 5)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
PC Power & Cooling 950W PSU
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-07, 02:29 PM   #1274
Eliminator
The Man With Brisk
 
Eliminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: Crysis Single Player Demo Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gaco
Seriously, are you 100% sure you didn't mix them up? It's not that I don't believe you, I just want to be sure!
YES 101% sure... try it yourself
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.6GHZ
Asus P5B Deluxe
4GB OCZ Platinum PC8000 EL
BFG GTX 280 OC2 1GB @ 729/1512/2538
Dell 2405FPW 24"
3DMark: Vantage - P15397 | 06 - 18734
Eliminator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-07, 02:30 PM   #1275
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: Crysis Single Player Demo Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gaco
Seriously, are you 100% sure you didn't mix them up? It's not that I don't believe you, I just want to be sure!
There's some bug in the demo that causes the textures not to load in on the mountaintops at times. I've seen it sit there and flicker back and forth before.

*shrugs* Hopefully they'll fix it in the final version of the game. But it's not a shortcoming of DX10.
__________________

i7-2700k @ 5.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 570 2.5GB Tri-SLI
Asus P67 WS Revolution (Tri-SLI)
OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 (Raid 5)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
PC Power & Cooling 950W PSU
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-07, 02:32 PM   #1276
Mr_LoL
Bush's Doppleganger
 
Mr_LoL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Bangor North Wales UK
Posts: 5,204
Default Re: Crysis Single Player Demo Feedback Thread

Xion X2 what res are you running the game at?
__________________
Core i5 2500K@ 4.5, KFA2 GTX 570, Gigabyte Z68, 8GB Corsair XMS 1600MHZ, Antec Truepower New 650w, Coolermaster Storm Sniper, 1TB Samsung F1, Yamakasi Catleap 27", Samsung 245B, Asus Xonar DG...blah blah blah
Mr_LoL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-07, 02:33 PM   #1277
Eliminator
The Man With Brisk
 
Eliminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: Crysis Single Player Demo Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xion X2
There's some bug in the demo that causes the textures not to load in on the mountaintops at times. I've seen it sit there and flicker back and forth before.

*shrugs* Hopefully they'll fix it in the final version of the game. But it's not a shortcoming of DX10.
thats not my point.... its 64bit vs 32bit... in 32bit DX9 the mountains look just as bad as 32bit DX10... 64bit DX9 however the mountains look much better... i cant run 64bit DX10 without freezing so i cant test it
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.6GHZ
Asus P5B Deluxe
4GB OCZ Platinum PC8000 EL
BFG GTX 280 OC2 1GB @ 729/1512/2538
Dell 2405FPW 24"
3DMark: Vantage - P15397 | 06 - 18734
Eliminator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-07, 02:34 PM   #1278
jeffmd
Has a vegetation fetish
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,816
Default Re: Crysis Single Player Demo Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gaco
Crank down the Post Processing to medium for a 6-8 FPS boost and a really minimal visual difference. I went up from 17-18 FPS to 23-25 FPS that way.
I looked in the config files that contain the settings for the low/med/high settings, and saw that many different controls are adjusted. I would MUCH rather like to tweak just one or two of those since I bet adjusting the whole lot will lose visual quality while gaining little or no performance.
__________________
_________________________________________________
Mobo: EVGA 122-ck-nf68 680i sli, CPU: C2D Quad 6600, Video: EVGA GTX 460 1gb SC, Sound: X-fi gaming, Windows 7, Antec P180b,Thermalright Ultra-120 HSF, Antec TruPower TP3-650, 4 Gigs RAM
jeffmd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-07, 02:34 PM   #1279
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: Crysis Single Player Demo Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_LoL
Xion X2 what res are you running the game at?
1680x1050.
__________________

i7-2700k @ 5.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 570 2.5GB Tri-SLI
Asus P67 WS Revolution (Tri-SLI)
OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 (Raid 5)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
PC Power & Cooling 950W PSU
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-07, 02:34 PM   #1280
Gaco
L4D & DoW2 ftw!
 
Gaco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,143
Default Re: Crysis Single Player Demo Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xion X2
There's some bug in the demo that causes the textures not to load in on the mountaintops at times. I've seen it sit there and flicker back and forth before.

*shrugs* Hopefully they'll fix it in the final version of the game. But it's not a shortcoming of DX10.
Wait a minute couldn't it be that it had nothing to do with DX9 and DX10, but that DX9 is 64bit and DX10 is 32bit? As somebody else mentioned they was a pretty good difference on distant texture in Far Cry depended on whether it was 64bit or 32bit!
__________________
---MAIN GAMING RIG from MID SEPTEMBER 2007, MOBO+CASE+FANS UPGRADED APRIL 2009, GRAPHICSCARD UPGRADED MARCH 2010---
Case: Antec P182 case + 3x 120mm Scythe Slipstream SY1225SL12M @ ~900 RPM
Motherboard: Asus P5Q Deluxe
CPU: Intel Core2 Q6600@3.3ghz w. Noctua NH-U12P
RAM: 4Gb Crucial Tracer PC-8500
Graphics: XFX Radeon HD 5970 Black Edition
Harddiscs: 2xRaptorX 150gb 10.000 RPM in RAID0
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Sound: Sennheiser HD600 Headphones + headamp
Keyboard: Logitech DiNovo Edge
Mouse: Razor Orochi
Monitor: Samsung 2232BW (22" 1680*1050)
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64bit
Gaco is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-27-07, 02:35 PM   #1281
Raje
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: West US
Posts: 172
Default Re: Crysis Single Player Demo Feedback Thread

I'm pretty surprised that I could play the demo with all high settings, 1680x1050, 4x AA.
__________________
Tyan Thunder K8WE (s2895); ThermalTake Armor; Dual AMD Opteron 252; Zalman 7000 AlCu; 4GB OCZ Server DDR400 ECC (4x1GB; 2 per CPU)
300GB Maxtor SATA150 16MB cache HDD (x2); EVGA Nvidia GeForce 8800GTX; NEC DL DVD 3540A; Dell 2405FPW; PCPower&Cooling Turbo-Cool 850 SSI


AquaMark3: 90378; 3DMark01SE: 28563; 3DMark03: 33633; 3DMark05: 8091
Raje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-07, 02:36 PM   #1282
Zeus666
Registered User
 
Zeus666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 382
Default Re: Crysis Single Player Demo Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xion X2


Again, for anyone running DX10, you need to turn the shaders down for better performance. There is around a 20fps performance hit between medium and very high on this setting. Screw all the other in-game settings.. leave them as they are (on very high if you have a GTX/Ultra.) At the most they will make a 1-2fps difference in framerate. Shaders are where it's at, and there doesn't seem to be any way to compensate for them--at the moment. Hopefully Nvidia can release a new driver that'll bring out more performance.

Thanks for trick !
Zeus666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-07, 02:36 PM   #1283
Gaco
L4D & DoW2 ftw!
 
Gaco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,143
Default Re: Crysis Single Player Demo Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xion X2
The water in DX10 looks the same on lower shader settings as long as you keep it set to "very high" for water detail.
Ok.. well unfortunately you can't have the "very high" water in DX9 can you?

Actually the only thing keeping me from running 64bit DX9 exclusively now must be the missing very high water. I've noticed some little differences in lightning/shadowing and other minor stuff as well, but the DX9 just have so much better performance...
__________________
---MAIN GAMING RIG from MID SEPTEMBER 2007, MOBO+CASE+FANS UPGRADED APRIL 2009, GRAPHICSCARD UPGRADED MARCH 2010---
Case: Antec P182 case + 3x 120mm Scythe Slipstream SY1225SL12M @ ~900 RPM
Motherboard: Asus P5Q Deluxe
CPU: Intel Core2 Q6600@3.3ghz w. Noctua NH-U12P
RAM: 4Gb Crucial Tracer PC-8500
Graphics: XFX Radeon HD 5970 Black Edition
Harddiscs: 2xRaptorX 150gb 10.000 RPM in RAID0
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Sound: Sennheiser HD600 Headphones + headamp
Keyboard: Logitech DiNovo Edge
Mouse: Razor Orochi
Monitor: Samsung 2232BW (22" 1680*1050)
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64bit
Gaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-07, 02:36 PM   #1284
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: Crysis Single Player Demo Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eliminator
thats not my point.... its 64bit vs 32bit... in 32bit DX9 the mountains look just as bad as 32bit DX10... 64bit DX9 however the mountains look much better... i cant run 64bit DX10 without freezing so i cant test it
No, I think you're not getting the point. I have seen the mountains in DX10 32-bit (on my rig) flicker back and forth between extremely detailed and blurry like is in your pics. It's a bug. It's not some advantage of DX9 64-bit over DX10 32-bit like you're espousing. I've even gone so far as to reload the same scene, and for whatever reason about half the time the detailed textures on the mountain will not load up. The other times they do. And then sometimes they sit there and flicker back and forth between detailed/blurry.

Probably due to the beta driver and incomplete demo.
__________________

i7-2700k @ 5.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 570 2.5GB Tri-SLI
Asus P67 WS Revolution (Tri-SLI)
OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 (Raid 5)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
PC Power & Cooling 950W PSU
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gamers Still Want Single Player Experiences, Says Eidos News Archived News Items 0 06-24-12 11:30 AM
Crysis 3 preview News Gaming Headlines 0 06-16-12 07:20 AM
UT 2003 single player setup error HunterA3 NVIDIA Linux 6 10-07-02 12:14 AM
Detonator 30.30 feedback thread Matthyahuw NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 26 07-31-02 09:14 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.