Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Crysis

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-26-07, 10:25 PM   #13
huzdi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 20
Default Re: Crysis and UT3 64-Bit games right out of the box?

Quote:
Originally Posted by K007
Question is..has anyone got Crysis on 64bit to run without..freezing...
I just finished playing the whole demo through with the 64 bit, no problems from me.
huzdi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-07, 10:32 PM   #14
K007
 
K007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Sydney
Posts: 9,406
Default Re: Crysis and UT3 64-Bit games right out of the box?

Quote:
Originally Posted by huzdi
I just finished playing the whole demo through with the 64 bit, no problems from me.
and..is there a bonus in it? Increase in frame rate..perfermance...overall smoothness?
K007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-07, 11:14 PM   #15
huzdi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 20
Default Re: Crysis and UT3 64-Bit games right out of the box?

Well I havn't tried the 32 bit version. Was getting about 30 fps with everything high at 1280x720, I don't think af was on because the foilage and stuff in the distance was really blocky. This is in vista x64, looking forward to seeing what the dx10 version looks like hopefully the new dx10 features should improve the vegatation.
huzdi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-07, 12:36 AM   #16
Danik
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 35
Default Re: Crysis and UT3 64-Bit games right out of the box?

Quote:
Originally Posted by K007
Question is..has anyone got Crysis on 64bit to run without..freezing...
I had no problems running the 64-bit .exe. I played the game for about an hour in 64-bit and 32-bit. I couldn't tell much of a difference but I didn't check the frame rate, or start taking screen shots to nitpick the image quality.
Danik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-07, 06:54 AM   #17
Morrow
Atari STE 4-bit color
 
Morrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 798
Default Re: Crysis and UT3 64-Bit games right out of the box?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Digital_Trans
I remember playing Half Life 2 the Lost Island or something in 64-bit and it kicked ass visually over 32-Bit.
Placebo effect. The visuals of the 64-bit versions of HL2 and Lost Island are 100% identical to their 32-bit counterpart. Nothing has been changed
Morrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-07, 09:39 AM   #18
ArrowMk84
Registered User
 
ArrowMk84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,010
Default Re: Crysis and UT3 64-Bit games right out of the box?

In general, 64-bit advantages over 32-bit are in memory management and doing complex calculations faster. You probably won't notice any performance improvement over 32-bit with 64-bit exes, since Crysis is GPU bound (although there should be some performance gains in the physics calculations, if they're 64-bit native, but again, probably not enough to notice). What you should notice with 64-bit is greater stability, especially in large, memory intensive levels. For example, if SupCom had a 64-bit exe, you'd be able to play the 80x80 maps with 8 players and the unit cap maxed out without crashing (the game would crawl, but it wouldn't crash).
__________________
Intel i7-2600k @ 4.6GHz | Asus Maximus IV Extreme | 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1866 MHz 9-10-9-27 | Dual EVGA GeForce GTX 580 3GB | Creative X-Fi Titanium Pro PCI-E | Intel 510 Series SSD 120 GB | 2x Raptor 600 GB RAID | 2TB WD Black | Lite-On 21x Blu-ray Burner | Corsair AX1200 Modular PSU | Silverstone FT02 | Corsair H60 with Dual Fans | Dell 3007-HC 30" LCD | Audioengine 5 & S8

Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
ArrowMk84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-07, 10:10 AM   #19
Buio
Registered User
 
Buio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,092
Default Re: Crysis and UT3 64-Bit games right out of the box?

64-bit is the future, I'd never step back to x86 now especially since all my hardware and drivers are fine (well except Creatives X-Fi drivers that could be better, but hopefully they will fix it soon). I'm surprised MS don't push Vista x64 more now that the drivers for it are very mature. NVidias x64 drivers perform identical to Vista x86 edition.

Sure the benefits running x64 code games today are tiny, but they do exist and the x86 memory barrier doesn't exist for me anymore.
Buio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-07, 03:40 PM   #20
LordJuanlo
Widescreen rules
 
LordJuanlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Spain
Posts: 2,184
Default Re: Crysis and UT3 64-Bit games right out of the box?

The freezing with the 64bit executable of the demo seems to be because of the 169.01 driver. People with older driver have been able to play in 64bit mode.
__________________
Core i7 920 / Noctua NH-U12P SE1366
Gigabyte EX58-Extreme / 6 Gb OCZ PC3-12800 Platinum
1 x Intel X-25M G2 80 Gb / 3 x Seagate 1 Tb (RAID5)
ATI 5870 (Graphics) + GeForce 9600GT (PhysX) on Samsung SM244T 1920x1200
LG GGW-H20L BluRay & HD-DVD / Logitech Z-5500 5.1 DTS / Westone 3 Earphones
Asus Xonar D2 / 360 Elite Wireless Controller / Gigabyte Odin GT 800W
Windows 7 x64
(also a 360 and a PSP )
LordJuanlo is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-26-10, 10:38 AM   #21
kobs1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2
Default Re: Crysis and UT3 64-Bit games right out of the box?

UT3 definitely dosn't work with 64 bit systems i just upgraded to window 7 pro from XP and i cant run UT3 with it it freezes at the game itself when you start one.... Checked a few links and looks like they will have to look into it the game is already like 2 or 3 years old i dont think there was any mention of 64 bit operating systems back then so not really their fault but some kind of patch wil have to be made since 32 bit will fade off like all obsolete things did in the past :\
kobs1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-10, 12:17 PM   #22
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,134
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: Crysis and UT3 64-Bit games right out of the box?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kobs1 View Post
UT3 definitely dosn't work with 64 bit systems i just upgraded to window 7 pro from XP and i cant run UT3 with it it freezes at the game itself when you start one.... Checked a few links and looks like they will have to look into it the game is already like 2 or 3 years old i dont think there was any mention of 64 bit operating systems back then so not really their fault but some kind of patch wil have to be made since 32 bit will fade off like all obsolete things did in the past :\
search function still works well i guess.
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-10, 03:47 PM   #23
kobs1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2
Default Re: Crysis and UT3 64-Bit games right out of the box?

Loaded it again but i dont know why this time it asked me if i wanted it in the X86 program folder and it works patches, maps everything works
kobs1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-10, 04:19 PM   #24
Madpistol
It's a wittle baby!
 
Madpistol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 4,554
Send a message via AIM to Madpistol
Default Re: Crysis and UT3 64-Bit games right out of the box?

Welcome back 2007! We missed you.
__________________
http://bfbc2.statsverse.com/sig/deta...d%20Pistol.png


MadPistol's Rig

AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE (RB-C3) @ 4Ghz, 1.425 Vcore, 1.25V NB VID
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme (w/ Scythe Gentle Typhoon 120mm fan)
Gigabyte UD3H AM3 790GX motherboard
XFX Radeon HD 5870
PNY XLR8 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
Soundblaster X-Fi Fatality Titanium
OCZ Vertex II 120GB SSD (OS drive)
Western Digital 500GB Caviar (black)
Western Digital 640GB Blue
Samsung DVD burner
Logitech MX performance mouse
Logitech G15 keyboard
Corsair HX 750-watt Modular PSU
Antec Nine Hundred case
Windows 7 Home Premium x64
ASUS MK241 24" LCD
ACER X241W 24" LCD - RIP
Madpistol is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.