Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-27-07, 12:56 AM   #1
brady
I'm like everyone else.
 
brady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,376
Default StreaMyGame.com - Remotely play demanding games on crap hardware

StreamMyGames.com

Quote:
Streamer enables a game installed on one computer to be played on another. The installed game might be on your main PC which has a hardware specification capable of playing a game. Streamer enables you to view and play the game on a lower spec PC or laptop that does not have the required hardware specification or the game installed.

A member logs into our website and shares a games which is installed on their main PC. They then log into our website from their second PC and selects their own Game Stream link. The main PC begins to stream the game over the home network and the game is viewed on the second PC.

Streamer captures the keyboard commands on the second PC and sends them back to the main PC where they are used to control the game.

They can now view and play the game on the second PC. The gameplay is highly responsive providing an almost identical experience as playing the game on the main PC.

Games can be streamed over wired 10Mbs, 100Mbs and 1Gbs networks, wireless networks and Homeplug (networking over mains) and any other standard home network.
The inherent speed of home networks enables game to be streamed at very high resolutions from mobile 320x240 QVGA all the way up to feature film 3200x2400 QUXGA.
I just tried it out and was able to play COD4 on my gateway laptop which could never play the game itself. I was streaming the game from my A64x2 rig with a 7600GT. I had the laptop on the desk so I could see both screens and I could not detect any lag in movement.

The basic service only lets you stream at 640x480. The paid services let you stream at HD+ resolutions. I'm curious as to how streaming at those higher resolutions will affect game performance.

Also if you happen to have dual 8800GTX's and a quad intel machine and won't be using your PC at all tomorrow maybe you could let me play some of your games
__________________
C2Q @ 3.6GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 8GB DDR2 | EVGA GTX 580 SC 1.5GB | Windows 7 Ultimate x64

C2D @ 3.0GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 4GB DDR2 | HIS AMD 6990 4GB | OS X Lion 10.7 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64
brady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-07, 01:24 AM   #2
MowTin
 
MowTin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,205
Default Re: StreaMyGame.com - Remotely play demanding games on crap hardware

Quote:
Originally Posted by brady
I just tried it out and was able to play COD4 on my gateway laptop which could never play the game itself. I was streaming the game from my A64x2 rig with a 7600GT. I had the laptop on the desk so I could see both screens and I could not detect any lag in movement.
Hmm...I wonder if I can connect my laptop to my hdtv and stream the game from hy gaming pc? I'm skeptical but that would really be cool.
MowTin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-07, 02:19 AM   #3
Misfire
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 224
Default Re: StreaMyGame.com - Remotely play demanding games on crap hardware

the link is broke
Misfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-07, 02:45 AM   #4
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: StreaMyGame.com - Remotely play demanding games on crap hardware

Wait... so it connects to their server and then streams from one PC to another inside your home network?

Doesn't that create some sort of security issues?

Why does it need to go through their server if the game is being streamed over your home network?
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-07, 02:49 AM   #5
mojoman0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: California
Posts: 3,566
Default Re: StreaMyGame.com - Remotely play demanding games on crap hardware

www.streammygame.com
mojoman0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-07, 08:15 AM   #6
brady
I'm like everyone else.
 
brady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,376
Default Re: StreaMyGame.com - Remotely play demanding games on crap hardware

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL
Wait... so it connects to their server and then streams from one PC to another inside your home network?

Doesn't that create some sort of security issues?

Why does it need to go through their server if the game is being streamed over your home network?
Not exactly sure. They claim it's secure. I does seem like this could open up huge security issues. Especially since they claim that before december they are going to allow the streaming of games and apps through broadband and not just over a home network.

They also claim that a linux installation is on it's way before december and claim that if you have linux installed on the PS3 you'll be able to stream play games from your PC to PS3. That sounds a little crazy but maybe then I'll be able to play some decent games on my PS3...couldn't resist.

I'm tempted to buy into the unlimited package. I've got a P4 3ghz, 6800GT rig hooked up to my HDTV and I use it to play a few PC games but there are some that just don't run well on that hardware but I don't want to move my other rig into the living room...With this I don't have to.

I'm still curious about the performance of generating and streaming HD resolution streams.
__________________
C2Q @ 3.6GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 8GB DDR2 | EVGA GTX 580 SC 1.5GB | Windows 7 Ultimate x64

C2D @ 3.0GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 4GB DDR2 | HIS AMD 6990 4GB | OS X Lion 10.7 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64
brady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-07, 08:32 AM   #7
LycosV
Registered User
 
LycosV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 888
Default Re: StreaMyGame.com - Remotely play demanding games on crap hardware

I mirror the Captains complaints on using their server as a go between. Not only is it a security risk but it could cause bandwidth problems as well.

From the standpoint of high-res gaming, it's just not possible with current bandwidth. Lets' take 1600x1200.

1,600x1,200=1,920,000 pixels x 32bits of color per pixel = 61,440,000 bits of data that must be displayed every frame.
Divide this by 8 (to determine bytes instead of bits) and we get 7,680,000 so 7.68 Mega BYTES of data for every frame.
Multiply that by a playable framerate and you're far beyond the confines of availible bandwidth from ANY network connection.

By the time we have network connections possible to stream our current "HD" resolutions with 32bit color we'll be so far in the future we'll probably be using 256bit colors just for the heck of it.
LycosV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-07, 08:46 AM   #8
brady
I'm like everyone else.
 
brady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,376
Default Re: StreaMyGame.com - Remotely play demanding games on crap hardware

Quote:
Originally Posted by LycosV
I mirror the Captains complaints on using their server as a go between. Not only is it a security risk but it could cause bandwidth problems as well.

From the standpoint of high-res gaming, it's just not possible with current bandwidth. Lets' take 1600x1200.

1,600x1,200=1,920,000 pixels x 32bits of color per pixel = 61,440,000 bits of data that must be displayed every frame.
Divide this by 8 (to determine bytes instead of bits) and we get 7,680,000 so 7.68 Mega BYTES of data for every frame.
Multiply that by a playable framerate and you're far beyond the confines of availible bandwidth from ANY network connection.

By the time we have network connections possible to stream our current "HD" resolutions with 32bit color we'll be so far in the future we'll probably be using 256bit colors just for the heck of it.
I'm not up on all the technical details of the various audio/video compression formats but I suspect that what you just wrote above does not exactly reflect the amount of data that is passed along in an mp4 stream at that resolution.

I don't know how the mp4 is being created so quickly so that there is no noticable lag between machines but essentially you are just watching an mp4 movie on the remote machine that just happens to be a product of your control movements which are sent to the serving PC.

If I plunk down the 20 bucks for the unlimited version I'll let you know how it goes.

Edit: Thinking about it, even though I don't know the exact bitrates for mp4, I think it's clear that bandwidth is not going to be the issue over wired home network. I can already stream 720p video through my network with a lot of room to spare. I think the real issue is just demanding it will be for the serving PC to create the video/audio streams at the higher resolutions and maintain a playable framerate at those resolutions.
__________________
C2Q @ 3.6GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 8GB DDR2 | EVGA GTX 580 SC 1.5GB | Windows 7 Ultimate x64

C2D @ 3.0GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 4GB DDR2 | HIS AMD 6990 4GB | OS X Lion 10.7 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64
brady is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-27-07, 09:51 AM   #9
lumpyhed
Are you ready?
 
lumpyhed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 371
Default Re: StreaMyGame.com - Remotely play demanding games on crap hardware

If its anything like hamachi, you'll log into their network but stuff that is local wont go past your router.
__________________
BFG GTX260-OC 896MB in PII-940 @ 3.6, M3A32-MVP Deluxe, Seasonic S80 650w, 4GB DDR2 800mhz ram, lossa storage.
Samsung 3D Monitor & Acer 3D projector
MSI Wind netbook
lumpyhed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-07, 12:23 PM   #10
Banko
Red Pepper Vodka
 
Banko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,155
Default Re: StreaMyGame.com - Remotely play demanding games on crap hardware

Mother ****ers stole my idea I came up with something exactly like this like 4 years ago..
__________________
Work/Gaming PC:
Lian-Li PC-80
Intel Core i7 860 @ 3.53
MSI P55-GD80
G.Skill DDR3-1600 8gb 4x2gb
Asus DRW-1814BLT SATA
ATi Radeon 5870
OCZ GameXStream 700W
Windows 7 Ultimate

HTPC/Second Gaming PC:
Gigabyte GA-EP45-DQ6
Intel Q6600 @ 2.8
G.Skill DDR2 4gb 2x2gb
NVidia 8800GTX
OCZ GameXStream 700W
Banko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-07, 04:26 PM   #11
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: StreaMyGame.com - Remotely play demanding games on crap hardware

Quote:
Originally Posted by Banko
Mother ****ers stole my idea I came up with something exactly like this like 4 years ago..
LOL
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-07, 05:03 PM   #12
LycosV
Registered User
 
LycosV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 888
Default Re: StreaMyGame.com - Remotely play demanding games on crap hardware

Quote:
Originally Posted by brady
I'm not up on all the technical details of the various audio/video compression formats but I suspect that what you just wrote above does not exactly reflect the amount of data that is passed along in an mp4 stream at that resolution.

I don't know how the mp4 is being created so quickly so that there is no noticable lag between machines but essentially you are just watching an mp4 movie on the remote machine that just happens to be a product of your control movements which are sent to the serving PC.

If I plunk down the 20 bucks for the unlimited version I'll let you know how it goes.

Edit: Thinking about it, even though I don't know the exact bitrates for mp4, I think it's clear that bandwidth is not going to be the issue over wired home network. I can already stream 720p video through my network with a lot of room to spare. I think the real issue is just demanding it will be for the serving PC to create the video/audio streams at the higher resolutions and maintain a playable framerate at those resolutions.
I don't think you'll be able to compress High-res video, transfer it over the network, and decompress it, in realtime. There's gonna be some serious input lag in that situation. Not to mention degraded image quality which begins to bring into question the whole point of running it in high res.
LycosV is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.