Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-28-07, 05:51 PM   #13
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: StreaMyGame.com - Remotely play demanding games on crap hardware

Wow! This is amazing!

I just downloaded the free version and after a lot of tweaking (couldn't get it to work in Vista, had to boot to XP to run the server properly) I was playing STALKER on my Atari ITX system with a 2.4Ghz Pentium 4 and 8Mb Intel Extreme video.

It was a little glitchy though.

On my sister's computer it worked flawlessly though. Its an Athlon XP at 2Ghz with a 9600 Pro.

Its so playable! No mouse lag at all! I don't know how they do it! Its probably running at around 30fps... I wish I could tweak the framerate, but hell, its amazing being able to play a cutting edge game at 640x480 (with perfect FREE anti-aliasing from the video scaling) at 30fps solid on an old computer.

I'm thinking of getting the paypal 1 year license. Its only $9.99 and I'll be able to run at 1280x720. I'd get the unlimited, but I don't know how well streaming super high res video would work on any of my slower systems, not to mention it'd have to put a lot of load on my main rig.

I really don't know what I'd realistically use this for though. I don't have a laptop right now so I don't think it'd do me a lot of good. Its just so damned cool! Probably the most interesting thing I've seen on a PC in years.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-07, 06:10 PM   #14
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: StreaMyGame.com - Remotely play demanding games on crap hardware

Kewl, I'd thought about doing this using VNC or RDP from one box to another, but you can't do it in full screen. Even VNC is pretty choppy. I'm definitely going to give this a ago.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-07, 06:11 PM   #15
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: StreaMyGame.com - Remotely play demanding games on crap hardware

Ok so what exactly do i need now to run say StALKER from my 133t PC to play it into my sh!!ty laptop ?
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-07, 06:19 PM   #16
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: StreaMyGame.com - Remotely play demanding games on crap hardware

http://www.streammygame.com/smg/modu...nt&op=new_user

I'm guessing that. Going to dl and test.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-07, 06:24 PM   #17
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: StreaMyGame.com - Remotely play demanding games on crap hardware

I mean what kind of connection do i need to stream my games properly ?
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-07, 07:35 PM   #18
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: StreaMyGame.com - Remotely play demanding games on crap hardware

Quote:
Originally Posted by SH64
I mean what kind of connection do i need to stream my games properly ?
It goes through LAN, unless you buy one of the full versions, then you can do it with broadband, but it takes quite a bit of upstream bandwidth.

I think 256kbit upstream is the minimum for a 320x240 stream. Obviously you'll need quite a bit more for a decent resolution.

On LAN it doesn't really matter though. You'll never come near 100Mbit, let alone gigabit.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-07, 10:50 PM   #19
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: StreaMyGame.com - Remotely play demanding games on crap hardware

Here is their table for internet connections.

13. Broadband Network Requirements


Most broadband networks have a far greater Downlink speed than Uplink. When streaming a game over broadband, the Uplink speed determines the maximum resolution that can be streamed.

The following table shows what is typically achieved over broadband networks.

Broadband Uplink Bandwidth Game Stream Video Resolution
256Kbs 320x240
512Kbs 400x300
1Mbs 640x480
2Mbs 800x600
4Mbs 1024x768
8Mbs HDTV 720p
10Mbs HDTV 1080p
100Mbs 3200x2400 Film quality

So it's going to be really intensive for your broadband to run it. You would be lucky to stream 640 x 480 on most connections. In a few years though this might become a reality, but I'd really be interested in how bad the latency would cause issues.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-07, 02:14 AM   #20
Atomizer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 379
Default Re: StreaMyGame.com - Remotely play demanding games on crap hardware

Ive thought of this before aswell, but not just for gaming, the software runs on a server and is streamed to a dumb terminal, which has nothing but streaming software running on it.
The only thing is, it serves no practical purpose beyond the novalty of running a game on a system that normally couldnt handle it.
I mean, we are a long way from having games on servers with several people streaming from it at the same time, even ignoring bandwidth issues.
Atomizer is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-29-07, 08:50 AM   #21
brady
I'm like everyone else.
 
brady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,376
Default Re: StreaMyGame.com - Remotely play demanding games on crap hardware

Quote:
Originally Posted by Atomizer
Ive thought of this before aswell, but not just for gaming, the software runs on a server and is streamed to a dumb terminal, which has nothing but streaming software running on it.
The only thing is, it serves no practical purpose beyond the novalty of running a game on a system that normally couldnt handle it.
I mean, we are a long way from having games on servers with several people streaming from it at the same time, even ignoring bandwidth issues.
I think it has some practical purpose. For example, my main rig is in our office and I have a second PC hooked to my LCD HDTV. Every once in a while I like to play some games on that PC but with a P4 and a 6800GT it's quickly becoming more and more difficult to run the latest games on it. Instead of moving my office PC into the living room I could now just stream the games from my more capable office PC to the living room.

I still have not bought the unlimited version so I don't know how well streaming higher resolutions works. I'm glad somebody else tried it out and was able to see that there is no noticable mouse lag. It really is very impressive!
__________________
C2Q @ 3.6GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 8GB DDR2 | EVGA GTX 580 SC 1.5GB | Windows 7 Ultimate x64

C2D @ 3.0GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 4GB DDR2 | HIS AMD 6990 4GB | OS X Lion 10.7 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64
brady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-07, 09:06 AM   #22
evilghost
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,606
Default Re: StreaMyGame.com - Remotely play demanding games on crap hardware

Reminds me of forwarded X sessions, very powerful, I like this idea. Funny how we're moving back towards a dumb-terminal/server computing model instead of distributed computing.
evilghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-07, 12:17 PM   #23
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: StreaMyGame.com - Remotely play demanding games on crap hardware

I wonder if this would work well with console emulators that allow multiple players on the same system.

You could just have it running on Streamer and have player 1 on the server system and the other person using the player 2 controls on another system.

I bet that'd work really well.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-07, 06:48 PM   #24
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: StreaMyGame.com - Remotely play demanding games on crap hardware

All I'm getting is graphical corruption on my laptop. Both pcs are connected via the same switch on a lan. Lappy is a Pentium M 1.8Ghz, 1GB ram, and a go5200. Going to see if there are some other drivers for this card.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.