Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-01-10, 08:43 AM   #37
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: StreaMyGame.com - Remotely play demanding games on crap hardware

Quote:
Originally Posted by Van_Dammesque View Post
I don't understand how this can be economically viable?
Imagine you wanted to play crysis, at their end you'd need a very beefy system, one computer per person. If 100's of people wanted to play crysis you'd need 100 beefy computers, that is a lot of kit and power/cooling/space requirements!
This isn't the same as that service. This service streams games from your computer.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-10, 01:38 PM   #38
JasonPC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,103
Default Re: StreaMyGame.com - Remotely play demanding games on crap hardware

Far from perfect but I got it to work and even with wireless the latency was not too bad, not any worse than OnLive which is pretty bad here. Not terribly useful for me but I found it amusing playing Crysis at highest settings on my crappy laptop
JasonPC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-10, 02:38 PM   #39
Logical
Registered User
 
Logical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 2,523
Default Re: StreaMyGame.com - Remotely play demanding games on crap hardware

Surely there must be input lag ?
Logical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-10, 02:49 PM   #40
JasonPC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,103
Default Re: StreaMyGame.com - Remotely play demanding games on crap hardware

There is some but not a lot, at least when using a home network. Now online is probably a completely different story.
JasonPC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-10, 05:17 PM   #41
MaXThReAT
GTX to the MaX
 
MaXThReAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: EARTH
Posts: 1,862
Default Re: StreaMyGame.com - Remotely play demanding games on crap hardware

Quote:
Originally Posted by Logical View Post
Surely there must be input lag ?
I was using a home network and there was no lag from my input to the PC running the game. I couldn't see the game on the laptop but I could see my desktop and it was like I was sitting right there. I'm still messing but I'm trying to run my games on Win7-64 to a Vista-64 laptop and I've had no luck.
Anyone with an account wanna be friends and try playing my games over the net or vice versa?
__________________
Asrock z77 Extreme3 Intel i5 3470 @ 4.0Ghz
Gigabyte GTX660 OC 2GB
DDR3-1600 / 8Gig Ripjaw
SB X-Fi FPS / Z-5500 + Buttkicker!
"Don't mind the posts, I've been around longer than most know."
MaXThReAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-10, 12:50 AM   #42
said53
Registered User
 
said53's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NewYork "Brooklyn"
Posts: 136
Default Re: StreaMyGame.com - Remotely play demanding games on crap hardware

Quote:
Originally Posted by Banko View Post
Mother ****ers stole my idea I came up with something exactly like this like 4 years ago..
LOL classic
said53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-10, 01:16 AM   #43
jeffmd
Has a vegetation fetish
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,816
Default Re: StreaMyGame.com - Remotely play demanding games on crap hardware

How many people have an internet connection that has an uplink higher then 100kbytes a second, please raise your hand.
__________________
_________________________________________________
Mobo: EVGA 122-ck-nf68 680i sli, CPU: C2D Quad 6600, Video: EVGA GTX 460 1gb SC, Sound: X-fi gaming, Windows 7, Antec P180b,Thermalright Ultra-120 HSF, Antec TruPower TP3-650, 4 Gigs RAM
jeffmd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-10, 09:11 AM   #44
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: StreaMyGame.com - Remotely play demanding games on crap hardware

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffmd View Post
How many people have an internet connection that has an uplink higher then 100kbytes a second, please raise your hand.
Well the connection my machine is on is actually a school connection with 94 Mbit down and about 63 Mbit up. So I wasn't really worried about bandwidth.

But lots of people have connections fast enough. 1 Mbit is about 122 KB/s, and many of the ISP's around me offer 10/1 connections.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.