Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Crysis

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-27-07, 06:19 PM   #13
jeffmd
Has a vegetation fetish
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,816
Default Re: Crysis DX9 vs DX10 = Quite a difference ^^

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luchou
Not worth the performance drop (10 fps less)

no ones asking if its worth the performance drop
__________________
_________________________________________________
Mobo: EVGA 122-ck-nf68 680i sli, CPU: C2D Quad 6600, Video: EVGA GTX 460 1gb SC, Sound: X-fi gaming, Windows 7, Antec P180b,Thermalright Ultra-120 HSF, Antec TruPower TP3-650, 4 Gigs RAM
jeffmd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-07, 06:28 PM   #14
K007
 
K007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Sydney
Posts: 9,406
Default Re: Crysis DX9 vs DX10 = Quite a difference ^^

No difference. You can do this in DX9.
K007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-07, 06:35 PM   #15
Riplayne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 154
Default Re: Crysis DX9 vs DX10 = Quite a difference ^^

How do I enable Dx10 in the demo, I see no option for it?
Riplayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-07, 06:36 PM   #16
Gaco
L4D & DoW2 ftw!
 
Gaco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,143
Default Re: Crysis DX9 vs DX10 = Quite a difference ^^

Quote:
Originally Posted by K007
No difference
Not true.
Quote:
Originally Posted by K007
You can do this in DX9.
Perhaps. Time will tell.
__________________
---MAIN GAMING RIG from MID SEPTEMBER 2007, MOBO+CASE+FANS UPGRADED APRIL 2009, GRAPHICSCARD UPGRADED MARCH 2010---
Case: Antec P182 case + 3x 120mm Scythe Slipstream SY1225SL12M @ ~900 RPM
Motherboard: Asus P5Q Deluxe
CPU: Intel Core2 Q6600@3.3ghz w. Noctua NH-U12P
RAM: 4Gb Crucial Tracer PC-8500
Graphics: XFX Radeon HD 5970 Black Edition
Harddiscs: 2xRaptorX 150gb 10.000 RPM in RAID0
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Sound: Sennheiser HD600 Headphones + headamp
Keyboard: Logitech DiNovo Edge
Mouse: Razor Orochi
Monitor: Samsung 2232BW (22" 1680*1050)
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64bit
Gaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-07, 06:46 PM   #17
Nkd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 108
Default Re: Crysis DX9 vs DX10 = Quite a difference ^^

yea its different, microsoft has said it themselves that dx10 wont look a whole lot better than dx10 but it will allow the game developers to optimize the game better, but so far lost planet is the only game that runs faster udner dx10 for me than dx9. all other games are slower, bioshock is pretty close. dx10 is suppose to give you better optimization and better performance while maintaining the beautiful looks. but so far most developers have failed.
Nkd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-07, 07:19 PM   #18
jeffmd
Has a vegetation fetish
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,816
Default Re: Crysis DX9 vs DX10 = Quite a difference ^^

I think developers are just using dx10 to make more detailed shaders rather then using it to optimise old ones.
__________________
_________________________________________________
Mobo: EVGA 122-ck-nf68 680i sli, CPU: C2D Quad 6600, Video: EVGA GTX 460 1gb SC, Sound: X-fi gaming, Windows 7, Antec P180b,Thermalright Ultra-120 HSF, Antec TruPower TP3-650, 4 Gigs RAM
jeffmd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-07, 07:37 PM   #19
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: Crysis DX9 vs DX10 = Quite a difference ^^

The difference is huge. Even without comparing side by side just the overall lighting and especially the waves look much better.
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-07, 07:38 PM   #20
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: Crysis DX9 vs DX10 = Quite a difference ^^

Quote:
Originally Posted by K007
No difference. You can do this in DX9.
There is absolutely no way of knowing that unless you were on the Crytek development team.

None of us know the length of the shaders, and way they implemented particular effects.
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-27-07, 07:58 PM   #21
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: Crysis DX9 vs DX10 = Quite a difference ^^

Quote:
Originally Posted by Riplayne
How do I enable Dx10 in the demo, I see no option for it?
Very High = DX10 .. you need to be in Vista.
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-07, 07:59 PM   #22
JohnDio
Registered User
 
JohnDio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,026
Default Re: Crysis DX9 vs DX10 = Quite a difference ^^

Actually with some tweaks you can enable Parallax Occlusion Mapping, sunshafts and more DX10 effects in the DX9 . Also you can push more the LOD via the .cfg files
JohnDio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-07, 08:07 PM   #23
Jonelo
Registered User
 
Jonelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,204
Default Re: Crysis DX9 vs DX10 = Quite a difference ^^

Win XP with very high settings , in one 1900 xt




[b]Win XP [/B]with very high settings , maybe sure ALL DX 10 setting , in one 8800 ultra



-

Jonelo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-07, 08:35 PM   #24
K007
 
K007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Sydney
Posts: 9,406
Default Re: Crysis DX9 vs DX10 = Quite a difference ^^

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gaco
Not true.

Perhaps. Time will tell.
From the shot he showed, with the cfg edits, you can do them in DX9 as well. I got them to work as well..ran like 5-10fps tho but it can be enabled.

I assume stuff like the wind effecting smoke / better water effects are DX10 only, but most of the other stuff can be enabled...the question is...why does it have to be run through the cfg to enable in DX9...
K007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crysis 3 preview News Gaming Headlines 0 06-16-12 07:20 AM
Crysis 3 E3 trailer features Psycho, Prophet, slow-mo nano bow News Archived News Items 0 06-05-12 07:00 AM
Now Available - Crysis 2 Maximum Edition News Archived News Items 0 05-29-12 05:30 PM
Stressing out GPUs with a DX9 game; is the Witcher 2 the new Crysis? News Archived News Items 0 05-09-12 04:40 PM
Someone please show me the difference in image quality on a ATI 9700 pro vs a GF4 ti? imtim83 Other Desktop Graphics Cards 70 10-22-02 01:25 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.