Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Crysis

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-27-07, 01:20 AM   #1
wazandy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 60
Exclamation CRYSIS SP TWEAKS.

Ok, to all you config junkies out there..

Let's try and tweak this thing.

As far as I can see - DX9 on XP seems to be the way to go so far (and I'm running 4gig DDR2, o/c 8800 Ultra and an o/c Q6600.)

The adapted config seems to add some more eyecandy - here it is again for those that missed it - it's added to the .cfg file in your documents folder.

(Remember - you have to keep adding it, as Crysis will delete it from your config file once you reload the game..)

r_DepthOfField=1
r_MotionBlur=3
r_sunshafts=1
r_UseEdgeAA=1
r_Flares=1
r_Coronas=1
r_colorgrading=1
r_GlowScreenMultiplier = 0.2

sys_spec_Quality=4
e_sky_type=1
e_sky_update_rate=1
r_DetailTextures=1
r_DetailNumLayers=2
r_DetailDistance=8
r_HDRRendering=2
r_SSAO=1
r_SSAO_quality=2
r_SSAO_radius=2
r_refraction=1
e_ram_maps=1
sys_flash_edgeaa=1
e_vegetation_use_terrain_color=1
e_terrain_ao=1
e_terrain_normal_map=1
e_max_entity_lights=16
r_UsePom=1
r_EnvTexUpdateInterval=0.05
r_TexturesFilteringQuality=0
r_HairSortingQuality = 1
r_FillLights = 14
e_particles_lights = 1


i_lighteffects = 1
g_ragdollMinTime = 15.0
g_ragdollUnseenTime = 2
g_ragdollDistance = 40.0
g_battleDust_enable = 1


e_obj_quality=4
e_proc_vegetation=1
ca_useDecals=1
e_decals_allow_game_decals=1
e_decals_life_time_scale=2
e_lod_ratio=6
e_lod_min=0
e_lods=1
e_view_dist_ratio_detail=30
e_view_dist_ratio_vegetation=45
e_vegetation_min_size=0
i_rejecteffects=1
e_vegetation_bending=2
sys_flash_curve_tess_error=2
e_view_dist_ratio=60
e_max_view_dst_spec_lerp=1
e_vegetation_sprites_distance_custom_ratio_min=1
e_vegetation_sprites_distance_ratio=1.5
e_detail_materials_view_dist_xy=2048
e_detail_materials_view_dist_z=128
es_DebrisLifetimeScale=1
e_cbuffer_resolution=256
e_dissolve=1
ca_DrawFaceAttachments=1
ca_AttachmentCullingRation=200
e_terrain_occlusion_culling_max_dist=200

r_WaterRefractions=1
r_WaterReflections=1
r_WaterUpdateFactor=0.05
e_water_tesselation_amount=10
e_water_tesselation_swath_width=10
r_WaterUpdateDistance=0.2
r_WaterCaustics=1
r_WaterReflectionsQuality=4
e_water_ocean_fft=1
q_ShaderWater=2
r_WaterReflectionsMinVisiblePixelsUpdate = 0.05

r_Beams=3
r_BeamsDistFactor=0.05
r_BeamsMaxSlices=200
e_Clouds=1
r_CloudsUpdateAlways=1


e_shadows = 1
r_ShadowBlur=3
e_shadows_max_texture_size=1024
r_ShadowJittering=2.5
e_gsm_lods_num=5
e_gsm_range=3
e_shadows_cast_view_dist_ratio=0.8
r_ShadowsMaskResolution=0
e_shadows_on_alpha_blended=1
e_shadows_from_terrain_in_all_lods=1
e_gsm_cache = 0

e_cull_veg_activation=50
g_joint_breaking=1
g_tree_cut_reuse_dist=0
p_max_MC_iters=6000
e_phys_foliage=2
es_MaxPhysDist=200
es_MaxPhysDistInvisible=25
e_phys_ocean_cell=0.5
e_foliage_wind_activation_dist=25
g_breakage_particles_limit=250
p_max_object_splashes=3
p_splash_dist0=7
p_splash_dist1=30
p_splash_force0=10
p_splash_force1=100
p_splash_vel0=4.5
p_splash_vel1=10
v_vehicle_quality=4
p_max_substeps_large_group=5
p_num_bodies_large_group=100

e_particles_quality=4
e_particles_lod=1
e_particles_max_emitter_draw_screen=32
r_UseSoftParticles=1
e_water_ocean_soft_particles= 1
e_particles_object_collisions=1

Now I haven't got a frigging CLUE as to what most of this stuff does, but it does seem to have made it closer to my buggy as hell DX10 version - which runs like a dog unless you go medium on shaders and, unfortunately, lower the post processing to medium or high - which kills of all the sexy godrays.
wazandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-07, 01:33 AM   #2
SlieTheSecond
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 703
Default Re: CRYSIS SP TWEAKS.

Create a new config file. Lets call it tweak.cfg. Copy all that to the new config file.

Place it in the config folder. Now start crysis with the command line: crysis.exe +exec tweak

Or just add +exec tweak to your crysis shortcut.
Or put that line into a bat file in your bin32 folder and make a new shortcut to it.

No need to continually past this into a config file.

The only thing I noticed with that was some more rocks and grass/brush.
__________________
E6400 @ 3200 mhz (400x8) 1.45v || 2x 8800 GT || OCZ 600Watt sli || 22" LG Flatron
2x1GB Apacer PC2-6400 @ 850mhz 4-4-4-15 || Asus P5N32-E Sli Plus || Zalman 9500 AT || 200GB SATA / 320GB SATA WD HD

3D Mark 06: 12461 || 3D Mark 05: 18397 || 3D Mark 03: 40149
SlieTheSecond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-07, 02:10 AM   #3
m3dude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,138
Default Re: CRYSIS SP TWEAKS.

easier to just name the file autoexec.cfg.
m3dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-07, 03:19 AM   #4
Ambrose
Registered User
 
Ambrose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 326
Default Re: CRYSIS SP TWEAKS.

Not sure if this is the same tweak but someone posted it in the other thread and it worked fantastic for me:

r_DepthOfField=1
r_MotionBlur=3
r_sunshafts=1
r_UseEdgeAA=1
r_Flares=1
r_Coronas=1
r_colorgrading=1
r_GlowScreenMultiplier = 0.2

sys_spec_Quality=4
e_sky_type=1
e_sky_update_rate=1
r_DetailTextures=1
r_DetailNumLayers=2
r_DetailDistance=8
r_HDRRendering=2
r_SSAO=1
r_SSAO_quality=2
r_SSAO_radius=2
r_refraction=1
e_ram_maps=1
sys_flash_edgeaa=1
e_vegetation_use_terrain_color=1
e_terrain_ao=1
e_terrain_normal_map=1
e_max_entity_lights=16
r_UsePom=1
r_EnvTexUpdateInterval=0.05
r_TexturesFilteringQuality=0
r_HairSortingQuality = 1
r_FillLights = 14
e_particles_lights = 1


i_lighteffects = 1
g_ragdollMinTime = 15.0
g_ragdollUnseenTime = 2
g_ragdollDistance = 40.0
g_battleDust_enable = 1


e_obj_quality=4
e_proc_vegetation=1
ca_useDecals=1
e_decals_allow_game_decals=1
e_decals_life_time_scale=2
e_lod_ratio=6
e_lod_min=0
e_lods=1
e_view_dist_ratio_detail=30
e_view_dist_ratio_vegetation=45
e_vegetation_min_size=0
i_rejecteffects=1
e_vegetation_bending=2
sys_flash_curve_tess_error=2
e_view_dist_ratio=60
e_max_view_dst_spec_lerp=1
e_vegetation_sprites_distance_custom_ratio_min=1
e_vegetation_sprites_distance_ratio=1.5
e_detail_materials_view_dist_xy=2048
e_detail_materials_view_dist_z=128
es_DebrisLifetimeScale=1
e_cbuffer_resolution=256
e_dissolve=1
ca_DrawFaceAttachments=1
ca_AttachmentCullingRation=200
e_terrain_occlusion_culling_max_dist=200

r_WaterRefractions=1
r_WaterReflections=1
r_WaterUpdateFactor=0.05
e_water_tesselation_amount=10
e_water_tesselation_swath_width=10
r_WaterUpdateDistance=0.2
r_WaterCaustics=1
r_WaterReflectionsQuality=4
e_water_ocean_fft=1
q_ShaderWater=2
r_WaterReflectionsMinVisiblePixelsUpdate = 0.05

r_Beams=3
r_BeamsDistFactor=0.05
r_BeamsMaxSlices=200
e_Clouds=1
r_CloudsUpdateAlways=1


e_shadows = 1
r_ShadowBlur=3
e_shadows_max_texture_size=1024
r_ShadowJittering=2.5
e_gsm_lods_num=5
e_gsm_range=3
e_shadows_cast_view_dist_ratio=0.8
r_ShadowsMaskResolution=0
e_shadows_on_alpha_blended=1
e_shadows_from_terrain_in_all_lods=1
e_gsm_cache = 0

e_cull_veg_activation=50
g_joint_breaking=1
g_tree_cut_reuse_dist=0
p_max_MC_iters=6000
e_phys_foliage=2
es_MaxPhysDist=200
es_MaxPhysDistInvisible=25
e_phys_ocean_cell=0.5
e_foliage_wind_activation_dist=25
g_breakage_particles_limit=250
p_max_object_splashes=3
p_splash_dist0=7
p_splash_dist1=30
p_splash_force0=10
p_splash_force1=100
p_splash_vel0=4.5
p_splash_vel1=10
v_vehicle_quality=4
p_max_substeps_large_group=5
p_num_bodies_large_group=100

e_particles_quality=4
e_particles_lod=1
e_particles_max_emitter_draw_screen=32
r_UseSoftParticles=1
e_water_ocean_soft_particles= 1
e_particles_object_collisions=1

I'm running Vista, but as everyone has no doubt discovered DX10 runs like crap . Fortunately, with this tweak I can run in DX9 and have it looked just as good and run twice as fast. Oh, and did I mention I'm running at 1680 x 1050 (Avg fps: 25-35). Barely any mouse lag. Boy does this game look sweet.
__________________
<Antec 900 Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Case>
<EVGA nForce 680i SLI ATX Intel Motherboard>
<Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 3.2GHz>
<Evga 8800 GTX @ 630/1050>
<OCZ Flex XLC 2GB DDR2 800>
<Samsung 500GB 7200 RPM Sata Hard drive>

3DMark06 score: 12243
http://service.futuremark.com/orb/re...0&UID=11981243
Windows Vista Ultimate

Avid gamer, dedicated student (most of the time).
Ambrose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-07, 11:31 AM   #5
Gaco
L4D & DoW2 ftw!
 
Gaco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,143
Default Re: CRYSIS SP TWEAKS.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SlieTheSecond
Create a new config file. Lets call it tweak.cfg. Copy all that to the new config file.

Place it in the config folder. Now start crysis with the command line: crysis.exe +exec tweak

Or just add +exec tweak to your crysis shortcut.
Or put that line into a bat file in your bin32 folder and make a new shortcut to it.

No need to continually past this into a config file.

The only thing I noticed with that was some more rocks and grass/brush.
It can't make this work, but I want to since the config resets itself frequently otherwise. It is supposed to be in here right? C:\Users\Gandalf\Documents\My Games\Crysis_SP_DEMO

My command line for the shortcut is "C:\Program Files (x86)\Electronic Arts\Crytek\Crysis SP Demo\Bin32\Crysis.exe" +exec tweak -DX9
__________________
---MAIN GAMING RIG from MID SEPTEMBER 2007, MOBO+CASE+FANS UPGRADED APRIL 2009, GRAPHICSCARD UPGRADED MARCH 2010---
Case: Antec P182 case + 3x 120mm Scythe Slipstream SY1225SL12M @ ~900 RPM
Motherboard: Asus P5Q Deluxe
CPU: Intel Core2 Q6600@3.3ghz w. Noctua NH-U12P
RAM: 4Gb Crucial Tracer PC-8500
Graphics: XFX Radeon HD 5970 Black Edition
Harddiscs: 2xRaptorX 150gb 10.000 RPM in RAID0
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Sound: Sennheiser HD600 Headphones + headamp
Keyboard: Logitech DiNovo Edge
Mouse: Razor Orochi
Monitor: Samsung 2232BW (22" 1680*1050)
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64bit
Gaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-07, 11:50 AM   #6
agentkay
Registered User
 
agentkay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Europe
Posts: 3,866
Default Re: CRYSIS SP TWEAKS.

I believe you can rename the config into "autoexec.cfg" and place it into the demo folder (not documents folder) "Crysis SP Demo".
__________________

Intel I7-920 aircooled by Prolimatech Megahalems @ 3.8Ghz (200x19) | Gigabyte GA-X58-UD3R | OCZ Platinum 3x2GB DDR3-1600 RAM (7-7-7-24) @ 1600 | Gainward GTX 480 | WD Raptor 74GB + 150GB + Samsung 1TB | Soundblaster X-Fi Platinum | Corsair AX850 Gold | Coolermaster Stacker 830 silver | Logitech Z-5500 Digital 5.1 | Logitech G15 keyboard | Logitech G25 Racing Wheel | Sharp LC-46 XL1E (gaming and work)
F CliffyB.
agentkay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-07, 11:56 AM   #7
Gaco
L4D & DoW2 ftw!
 
Gaco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,143
Default Re: CRYSIS SP TWEAKS.

Quote:
Originally Posted by agentkay
I believe you can rename the config into "autoexec.cfg" and place it into the demo folder (not documents folder) "Crysis SP Demo".
Ok.. well I don't know if I'll use this config, does anyone really have some comparison screenshots? I just think I'm gonna go all high settings when I play in DX9 (since the performance is about the same with the config tweak in DX9 as all very high in DX10) and all very high settings, but post processing medium when I play in DX10.

I know I'm repeating myself here, but god damnit if the mouselag wasn't there in the DX10, I would have gone with that mode anytime
__________________
---MAIN GAMING RIG from MID SEPTEMBER 2007, MOBO+CASE+FANS UPGRADED APRIL 2009, GRAPHICSCARD UPGRADED MARCH 2010---
Case: Antec P182 case + 3x 120mm Scythe Slipstream SY1225SL12M @ ~900 RPM
Motherboard: Asus P5Q Deluxe
CPU: Intel Core2 Q6600@3.3ghz w. Noctua NH-U12P
RAM: 4Gb Crucial Tracer PC-8500
Graphics: XFX Radeon HD 5970 Black Edition
Harddiscs: 2xRaptorX 150gb 10.000 RPM in RAID0
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Sound: Sennheiser HD600 Headphones + headamp
Keyboard: Logitech DiNovo Edge
Mouse: Razor Orochi
Monitor: Samsung 2232BW (22" 1680*1050)
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64bit
Gaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-07, 12:23 PM   #8
lunix
Registered User
 
lunix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 69
Send a message via MSN to lunix
Default Re: CRYSIS SP TWEAKS.

I have 2 tweaks I have done so far that have helped me hit 40FPS avg in the benchmarks with everything on high.

Program Files\Electronic Arts\Crytek\Crysis SP Demo\Game\Config\CVarGroups

sys_spec_PostProcessing.cfg
Set r_MotionBlur=0 I did not like it and it eats me frames.

sys_spec_Shadows.cfg
Set e_shadows_max_texture_size=512 as my GTS320 seems to run out of vram in the game.

Oh AA seems to be a killer. 4xAA dropped me down to 17fps but with 2xAA I can hit 30. 4xAF only lost me 2fps.
__________________
Gentoo
lunix is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-27-07, 01:12 PM   #9
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: CRYSIS SP TWEAKS.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gaco
Ok.. well I don't know if I'll use this config, does anyone really have some comparison screenshots? I just think I'm gonna go all high settings when I play in DX9 (since the performance is about the same with the config tweak in DX9 as all very high in DX10) and all very high settings, but post processing medium when I play in DX10.

I know I'm repeating myself here, but god damnit if the mouselag wasn't there in the DX10, I would have gone with that mode anytime
For me the mouselag goes away when I set post processing to high.
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-07, 01:48 PM   #10
Jonelo
Registered User
 
Jonelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,204
Default Re: CRYSIS SP TWEAKS.

And some tweak for the AF ?
Jonelo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-07, 01:53 PM   #11
conroejoe
*BANNED*
 
conroejoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 969
Default Re: CRYSIS SP TWEAKS.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jAkUp
For me the mouselag goes away when I set post processing to high.

Its too bad SLI is wasted on this game so far. Beta and the demo.
conroejoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-07, 02:30 PM   #12
8800reject#2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 40
Default Re: CRYSIS SP TWEAKS.

Anyone try to just change the file to "read only"? works for me. LOL
8800reject#2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crysis 3 preview News Gaming Headlines 0 06-16-12 07:20 AM
(Kotaku) Once Crysis 3 is Done, Crytek will be Working on Nothing but Free-to-Play Ga News Archived News Items 0 06-10-12 06:50 AM
Crysis 3 E3 trailer features Psycho, Prophet, slow-mo nano bow News Archived News Items 0 06-05-12 07:00 AM
Now Available - Crysis 2 Maximum Edition News Archived News Items 0 05-29-12 05:30 PM
Video Card Tweaks Fortune111 Other Desktop Graphics Cards 15 10-04-02 07:37 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.