Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Crysis

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-28-07, 05:24 PM   #37
nutcrackr
Super Registered User
 
nutcrackr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,210
Default Re: EA and Crytek should be sued for

recommended has been med settings med resolutions for a long time, and thats how it is here.
nutcrackr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-07, 05:32 PM   #38
FearMeAll
 
FearMeAll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 827
Default Re: EA and Crytek should be sued for

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uberpwnage
One of my friends was able to run Crysis on a Pentium 4 2.8GHz, 512MB ram, and an AGP X1600. He said it was one of the best games hes ever played, even at 20-23fps with the lowest settings. It all depends on how you look at - Crytek shouldn't be sued for pushing the envelope maybe a bit far. If anything, it will only spur more rapid growth in the industry since pretty much everyone here would pay for a 9800 or similar card when they had the money. I'm sure Nvidia knows that, and if they don't have something up their sleeve at the moment, they are most definitely accelerating development.
you are right..the very day the 9800 cards become available I'm buying two of them...then my little 9 year old brother can enjoy two 8800ultra cards in sli on his gametap rig lol.. I don't think anyone in my neck of the woods knows what the heck an 8800 ultra is...
__________________
Consoles: Xbox Elite with HDDVD drive and PS3.
Screen:
Panasonic AX200U Widescreen Projector (1280x720), 160" HighPower Screen, AND A BIG COUCH.
[FONT="Courier New"] HTPC: Intel Wolfdale 3ghz, 4 gigs DDR2 800 ram, 500gig HDD, Craptastic 7600GS, Windows 7 32bit, XBMC installed [/FONT] :D
[B]My Video Encoding/Office rig:[/B] [I] Intel QX9650 @ 3ghz, 1333mhz FSB, 4gigs Patriot Extreme DDR3 @ 1333mhz, XFX 790i 3-way Sli mobo, Xf-Fi Extreme Gamer, 400watt Fanless Power Supply, 9500GT 64-bit bus(ouch!), 8.750TB HDD, Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate. [B][FONT="Arial Narrow"]Everything at stock and completely boring..[/FONT][/B][/I] :type:
FearMeAll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-07, 05:37 PM   #39
agentkay
Registered User
 
agentkay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Europe
Posts: 3,866
Default Re: EA and Crytek should be sued for

Quote:
Originally Posted by nutcrackr
recommended has been med settings med resolutions for a long time, and thats how it is here.
...and 1280x1024 at average 30fps. Minimum specs are usually 800x600, everything low, 20-25fps average. It depends on games though, Crysis for instance still feels smoother at 25fps than most other games.
__________________

Intel I7-920 aircooled by Prolimatech Megahalems @ 3.8Ghz (200x19) | Gigabyte GA-X58-UD3R | OCZ Platinum 3x2GB DDR3-1600 RAM (7-7-7-24) @ 1600 | Gainward GTX 480 | WD Raptor 74GB + 150GB + Samsung 1TB | Soundblaster X-Fi Platinum | Corsair AX850 Gold | Coolermaster Stacker 830 silver | Logitech Z-5500 Digital 5.1 | Logitech G15 keyboard | Logitech G25 Racing Wheel | Sharp LC-46 XL1E (gaming and work)
F CliffyB.
agentkay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-07, 05:49 PM   #40
Darkoz
lurking
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 677
Default Re: EA and Crytek should be sued for

Quote:
Originally Posted by gulizard
Listen to all these guys here replying how good it is, when it wasn't released on time they hated it, and they were talking so much crap.. Stop being hypocrits and accept the fact that this game runs like ass. I realize it uses all these neat settings, and what not.. However when people who go to E3, and these different game conventions and are able to play it like butter with the same setups we have, some of them only just a 8800 GTX... Then we know we got a crappy product here. So either someone lied about the cards in the systems at said game conventions, or they've decided to help nvidia out, this is unacceptable... The game itself seems awesome. The whole night time mission, with the dude hangin up in the trees is sweet - but it isn't sweet when the entire game runs at 10-13 FPS. I even tried turning things to Medium, and only gained 7 more FPS.

What doesn't make sense is I could probably understand trying to render that much vegetation, and how it might effect some video cards, BUT when I look at the ground or get as close to an object as possible I still get the same FPS. In most games looking up to a wall will make even the slowest cards shoot up about 30-40 FPS... Point being this game is crap, and we were indeed lied to... at least about performance.. I will not be paying for this crap, and I am willing to bet Wal-Mart will see a lot of returns when people buy this and can't run it..
No issues here mate, runs well with settings on very high, motion blur OFF,1920x1200 resolution and am getting average 28fps.
Point being is if you have a GTX and you're still getting only 10-13fps, it's not the game but rather something's up with your system.
__________________
Intel Q6700 - XFX 8800 ULTRA xXx - Gigabyte P35-DQ6 - 4GB Patriot DDR2 800 - x2 Seagate 320GB SATAll - DELL 2408wfp
Darkoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-07, 05:49 PM   #41
FearMeAll
 
FearMeAll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 827
Default Re: EA and Crytek should be sued for

Quote:
Originally Posted by agentkay
...and 1280x1024 at average 30fps. Minimum specs are usually 800x600, everything low, 20-25fps average. It depends on games though, Crysis for instance still feels smoother at 25fps than most other games.
I have no idea why either...I think all I want out of this game is 30fps+..looks like a freakin movie then with all the motion blur.
__________________
Consoles: Xbox Elite with HDDVD drive and PS3.
Screen:
Panasonic AX200U Widescreen Projector (1280x720), 160" HighPower Screen, AND A BIG COUCH.
[FONT="Courier New"] HTPC: Intel Wolfdale 3ghz, 4 gigs DDR2 800 ram, 500gig HDD, Craptastic 7600GS, Windows 7 32bit, XBMC installed [/FONT] :D
[B]My Video Encoding/Office rig:[/B] [I] Intel QX9650 @ 3ghz, 1333mhz FSB, 4gigs Patriot Extreme DDR3 @ 1333mhz, XFX 790i 3-way Sli mobo, Xf-Fi Extreme Gamer, 400watt Fanless Power Supply, 9500GT 64-bit bus(ouch!), 8.750TB HDD, Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate. [B][FONT="Arial Narrow"]Everything at stock and completely boring..[/FONT][/B][/I] :type:
FearMeAll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-07, 05:52 PM   #42
gulizard
"Powerstroke Diesel"
 
gulizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Evansville, Indiana (from Detroit)
Posts: 663
Send a message via MSN to gulizard Send a message via Skype™ to gulizard
Default Re: EA and Crytek should be sued for

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkoz
No issues here mate, runs well with settings on very high, motion blur OFF,1920x1200 resolution and am getting average 28fps.
Point being is if you have a GTX and you're still getting only 10-13fps, it's not the game but rather something's up with your system.
Runs every other game fine - except crysis. Turned Post Processing to Low and ran it in 64 bit getting around 30-33 FPS.
__________________
my rig: 2011 Ford F250 Lariat, 6.7 Powerstroke, DPF/urea delete H&S Mini Maxx tuned, w/ fuel box from IDP ET 1/8 8.40
gulizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-07, 06:00 PM   #43
Mr_LoL
Bush's Doppleganger
 
Mr_LoL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Bangor North Wales UK
Posts: 5,205
Default Re: EA and Crytek should be sued for

Quote:
Originally Posted by gulizard
Runs every other game fine - except crysis. Turned Post Processing to Low and ran it in 64 bit getting around 30-33 FPS.
Which is around what everyone else is getting.
__________________
Core i5 2500K@ 4.5, KFA2 GTX 570, Gigabyte Z68, 8GB Corsair XMS 1600MHZ, Antec Truepower New 650w, Coolermaster Storm Sniper, 1TB Samsung F1, Yamakasi Catleap 27", Samsung 245B, Asus Xonar DG...blah blah blah
Mr_LoL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-07, 06:02 PM   #44
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: EA and Crytek should be sued for

Quote:
Originally Posted by FearMeAll
I have no idea why either...I think all I want out of this game is 30fps+..looks like a freakin movie then with all the motion blur.
Thats because of the game pace which is rather slow .. this what makes the 25fps pretty acceptable for Crysis & any game of its style/pace.
for a fast-paced game like UT3 or CoD4 , 25fps would've been pretty bad.
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-28-07, 06:12 PM   #45
JohnDio
Registered User
 
JohnDio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,026
Default Re: EA and Crytek should be sued for

Quote:
Originally Posted by SH64
Thats because of the game pace which is rather slow .. this what makes the 25fps pretty acceptable for Crysis & any game of its style/pace.
for a fast-paced game like UT3 or CoD4 , 25fps would've been pretty bad.
Even with maximum speed when you are running so quickly, it seems smooth at 30-35fps. It's not the pace, they did a great trick with the motion blur IMO
JohnDio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-07, 06:15 PM   #46
ralinn
Masters
 
ralinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK, England, Portsmouth
Posts: 1,675
Default Re: EA and Crytek should be sued for

Even if they did lie, why the hell should they be sued for it? It's just a game, cry me a river.
__________________
(CPU) Intel Core i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz @ 1600MHz (ASUSTeK Computer INC. P6T DELUXE mainboard) (RAM) 3GB (HDD) 931GB
(GFX) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 280 (1GB), 1680x1050x32, 59Hz (OS) Microsoft® Windows Vista™ Home Premium (SP1)

3Dmark06 Score: Who the **** actually cares?
360 & PSN ID: ralinn
ralinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-07, 06:18 PM   #47
FearMeAll
 
FearMeAll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 827
Default Re: EA and Crytek should be sued for

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnDio
Even with maximum speed when you are running so quickly, it seems smooth at 30-35fps. It's not the pace, they did a great trick with the motion blur IMO
Amen brother! I bet if you could artificially cap the fps to 24 have dx10 motion blur, as long as the framerate stayed pegged at 24, it would look like a cg movie. maybe I'm wrong but I'd like to see if this could be done. may have to lower the resolution more but I'd like to see what kind of effect it would have.
__________________
Consoles: Xbox Elite with HDDVD drive and PS3.
Screen:
Panasonic AX200U Widescreen Projector (1280x720), 160" HighPower Screen, AND A BIG COUCH.
[FONT="Courier New"] HTPC: Intel Wolfdale 3ghz, 4 gigs DDR2 800 ram, 500gig HDD, Craptastic 7600GS, Windows 7 32bit, XBMC installed [/FONT] :D
[B]My Video Encoding/Office rig:[/B] [I] Intel QX9650 @ 3ghz, 1333mhz FSB, 4gigs Patriot Extreme DDR3 @ 1333mhz, XFX 790i 3-way Sli mobo, Xf-Fi Extreme Gamer, 400watt Fanless Power Supply, 9500GT 64-bit bus(ouch!), 8.750TB HDD, Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate. [B][FONT="Arial Narrow"]Everything at stock and completely boring..[/FONT][/B][/I] :type:
FearMeAll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-07, 06:21 PM   #48
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: EA and Crytek should be sued for

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnDio
Even with maximum speed when you are running so quickly, it seems smooth at 30-35fps. It's not the pace, they did a great trick with the motion blur IMO
The MB helps thats for sure , but i'm still convinced that the pace of each game decides how smooth it will be at a certain framerate.
FarCry had no motion blur (except when you get hurt IIRC) yet it was accpetable @25fps. & many games follow the same fashion.
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.