Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Networking And Security

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-27-07, 12:56 AM   #1
methimpikehoses
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default 1mb/s??

Preface: I'm a complete noob regarding all things networking...

How are people getting 900kb/s+ download speeds on the Crysis demo and other things? Mine maxes out at about 150kb/s... is this purely hardware, or is there some setting I can change?

Running an ethernet converter that connects wirelessly to a mac airstation upstairs, which in turn connects to Comcast DSL.

Thanks for any help... sorry the details are so sketchy.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-07, 01:07 AM   #2
Uberpwnage
Registered User
 
Uberpwnage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 898
Default Re: 1mb/s??

Personally I use a download manager when downloading these demos, thats the only way I can max out my connection speed when they're under such high demand. However, If you aren't getting max connection speeds downloading files like display drivers which aren't under such load, then It's probably a configuration issue. What's the rated speed of your DSL?
__________________
Core i7 980x @ 4.4GHz - EK Supreme HF - BlackIce GTX 360 - MCP655 - Rampage II Extreme BIOS 1639 - EVGA GTX 480 SLI - Corsair Dominator 3x2GB DDR3 1600
2 x 1TB Samsung F1 RAID 0 - Plextor PX-880SA DVD Burner - Dell 3008WFP - Silverstone Zeus 1200w PSU - Lian Li PC-P80 - Razer Mamba - Logitech G15 v2
Windows 7 x64, 3DMark06:30000, 3DMark Vantage: P38000

Eurocom M860TU: X9100 - 9800M GT - 2x2GB OCZ DDR3 1333 - 320GB 7200rpm - 15.4in 1920x1200
Uberpwnage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-07, 01:32 AM   #3
methimpikehoses
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: 1mb/s??

It's actually Qwest (not Comcast woops)... and I should be able to get up to 1.5mb/s.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-07, 02:38 AM   #4
Uberpwnage
Registered User
 
Uberpwnage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 898
Default Re: 1mb/s??

1.5MB/s or 1.5Mb/s? 1.5 MegaBytes per second is drastically different from 1.5 Megabits per second. ISP's usually advertise their speeds in megabits because they're more marketing friendly. Unfortunately, users never actually see their speed in this unit, download speeds are almost always shown in Bytes. Since 8 bits = 1 Byte, theres quite a big difference.

I checked Qwest's site, and they advertise 256Kbps, 1.5Mbps, and 7Mbps packages. Having an actual 1500KB/s Download speed would require a ~12Mbps line.

So if their advertised speed for your package is 1.5Mbps then a 150KB/s DL speed sounds about right. If this is the case, you may want to consider upgrading your service to the 7mbps package, as that would provide you with download speeds close to 900KB/s. If they advertise 12Mbps then you should be expecting the 1.5MB/s.

I used to use a optimizer tool that worked well in XP, and helped my connection out a bit, but it's rather useless in vista, which I assume is what you're running most of the time.
__________________
Core i7 980x @ 4.4GHz - EK Supreme HF - BlackIce GTX 360 - MCP655 - Rampage II Extreme BIOS 1639 - EVGA GTX 480 SLI - Corsair Dominator 3x2GB DDR3 1600
2 x 1TB Samsung F1 RAID 0 - Plextor PX-880SA DVD Burner - Dell 3008WFP - Silverstone Zeus 1200w PSU - Lian Li PC-P80 - Razer Mamba - Logitech G15 v2
Windows 7 x64, 3DMark06:30000, 3DMark Vantage: P38000

Eurocom M860TU: X9100 - 9800M GT - 2x2GB OCZ DDR3 1333 - 320GB 7200rpm - 15.4in 1920x1200
Uberpwnage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-07, 03:35 AM   #5
methimpikehoses
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: 1mb/s??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uberpwnage
1.5MB/s or 1.5Mb/s? 1.5 MegaBytes per second is drastically different from 1.5 Megabits per second. ISP's usually advertise their speeds in megabits because they're more marketing friendly. Unfortunately, users never actually see their speed in this unit, download speeds are almost always shown in Bytes. Since 8 bits = 1 Byte, theres quite a big difference.

I checked Qwest's site, and they advertise 256Kbps, 1.5Mbps, and 7Mbps packages. Having an actual 1500KB/s Download speed would require a ~12Mbps line.

So if their advertised speed for your package is 1.5Mbps then a 150KB/s DL speed sounds about right. If this is the case, you may want to consider upgrading your service to the 7mbps package, as that would provide you with download speeds close to 900KB/s. If they advertise 12Mbps then you should be expecting the 1.5MB/s.

I used to use a optimizer tool that worked well in XP, and helped my connection out a bit, but it's rather useless in vista, which I assume is what you're running most of the time.
Well count me in as a noob who went for the lower case "b"!

Thanks for clearing that up for me.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-07, 04:16 AM   #6
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: 1mb/s??

Quote:
Originally Posted by methimpikehoses
Well count me in as a noob who went for the lower case "b"!

Thanks for clearing that up for me.
So many times at work I have to explain this very thing to customers. They see the "Mbps" and instantly think "MegaBytes /second" and I have to correct them... at which point they usually lose interest in what I'm saying.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-07, 04:40 AM   #7
sammy sung
 
sammy sung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Stockholm Sweden
Posts: 2,316
Default Re: 1mb/s??

My line is ADSL 2.5/24mbit but its "up to" those numbers ,in reality it translates into 2.10/13.20mbit wich means my upload is around 260kbs and download 1700kbs.Reaching 1700 is usually only done when using well seeded torrentfiles or something.
__________________
-=[Q9650@3.6GHZ | Thermalright ultra 120 extreme | Antec 1200 |ASUS P5Q-PREMIUM|MSI N580GTX Twin Frozr II| Kingston Hyper X DDR2 1066 4GB]=-
sammy sung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-07, 04:17 PM   #8
methimpikehoses
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: 1mb/s??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redeemed
So many times at work I have to explain this very thing to customers. They see the "Mbps" and instantly think "MegaBytes /second" and I have to correct them... at which point they usually lose interest in what I'm saying.
I can't imagine having to explain that to people every day... I would . It is pretty misleading... I bet people are complaining about it all the time.
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-27-07, 04:35 PM   #9
Capt. Picard
Registered User
 
Capt. Picard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: South Africa
Posts: 6,386
Default Re: 1mb/s??

What really fries customers' noodles is if you start explaining the difference between baud rate and bit rate to them.
__________________
If beer is not the answer, you're asking the wrong question.
Capt. Picard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-07, 08:22 PM   #10
evilghost
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,606
Default Re: 1mb/s??

([Speed in MBit] * 10^6)/8/1024 = Kb/sec. ~150Kb/sec is pretty good for a 1.5Mbit line considering overhead.
evilghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-07, 01:44 AM   #11
methimpikehoses
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: 1mb/s??

Quote:
Originally Posted by evilghost
([Speed in MBit] * 10^6)/8/1024 = Kb/sec. ~150Kb/sec is pretty good for a 1.5Mbit line considering overhead.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.