Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Crysis

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-30-07, 11:41 AM   #1
3DBrad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,260
Lightbulb How much better will the performance of Crysis get?

I turned all the settings to the lowest they would go, went to some not-graphically-challenging areas, and started trying to put a load on the CPU, and the highest my quad-core got was 39% or so.

Unreal Engine 3 games are doing MUCH better than this, so I surely hope Crytek has this fixed in the final release.

Also, those running around with about $1100 worth of GPUs are also getting unacceptable framerates.

Here's hoping Nvidia brings out another monster of a card like the 8800gtx was.
__________________
"What are politics? Another name for every man getting as much as he can out of the nation. " Charles H. Spurgeon
3DBrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-07, 12:48 PM   #2
DirkGently
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 42
Default Re: How much better will the performance of Crysis get?

Not much i imagine.

The game has gone gold so further development work will be restricted to patches that'll be released in future.

Driver optimisations may give some improvements but don't expect a miracle cure for low framerates.
DirkGently is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-07, 12:51 PM   #3
agentkay
Registered User
 
agentkay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Europe
Posts: 3,866
Default Re: How much better will the performance of Crysis get?

UE3 games do have higher CPU usage and are usually really well optimized (minus R6-Vegas) but I actually think it's to Crysis advantage to have a lower total CPU load because it creates a headroom for more physics. Lets say Crysis would use 95% of all CPU power you have and still would run the same framerate and same features, don't you think it would actually be worse? CryEngine2 and it's own physics engine might very well be more efficient than UE3+Ageia API but the only way to test it would be to build a similar level with the editors and test the limits of possible physic objects vs. CPU load.

I also think the framerate is acceptable for what is being rendered here. The amount of textures, polygons, shaders, realtime softshadows is just crazy and it's demanding for todays hardware, too demanding at VERYHIGH and even more so when you go beyond it with cfg tweaks.

I'm sure there is room for improvement and we will see it both from Crytek (they want to support the game for 2 years, lets hope EA lets them to do it) and Nvidia but only the guys themselves know how much but we can only wait and hope and I'm myself definitely looking forward to the next high-end card because we finally do need it.

Edit: Another thing that I forgot to mention is that UE3 uses a deferred renderer but I'm not sure what type of renderer CryEngine2/Crysis use.
__________________

Intel I7-920 aircooled by Prolimatech Megahalems @ 3.8Ghz (200x19) | Gigabyte GA-X58-UD3R | OCZ Platinum 3x2GB DDR3-1600 RAM (7-7-7-24) @ 1600 | Gainward GTX 480 | WD Raptor 74GB + 150GB + Samsung 1TB | Soundblaster X-Fi Platinum | Corsair AX850 Gold | Coolermaster Stacker 830 silver | Logitech Z-5500 Digital 5.1 | Logitech G15 keyboard | Logitech G25 Racing Wheel | Sharp LC-46 XL1E (gaming and work)
F CliffyB.
agentkay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-07, 12:56 PM   #4
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: How much better will the performance of Crysis get?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DirkGently
Not much i imagine.

The game has gone gold so further development work will be restricted to patches that'll be released in future.

Driver optimisations may give some improvements but don't expect a miracle cure for low framerates.
Exactly.
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-07, 01:02 PM   #5
sniggle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 209
Default Re: How much better will the performance of Crysis get?

The funny thing is that for all we know the developers of the UT3 engine could have just put some threads to work doing nothing to pump up the CPU usage and make it LOOK like it's doing work.

Placebos are fun.
__________________
Gaming Box
Asus P6T Deluxe V2 | i7 920 @ 4.25ghz 1.38v | Thermalright TRUE | 3x 2GB Corsair XMS2 PC12800 @ 811mhz (2:8) 9-9-9-24 | eVGA GTX 580 SC | 2x Intel SSD G2 80GB RAID 0 | Audigy X-Fi XtremeMusic | Corsair 750HX | Antec P-183 | Dell 3007WFP | NEC 20WMGX2

Home Server
DFI P35 T2R | Q6600 @ 3.0ghz 1.3v | OCZ Reaper 640 | GeForce 8600GTS | 2x 150GB WD VelociRaptor raid 1 (os), Synology DiskStation DS410 with 4x 2TB Hitachi | Corsair HX750
sniggle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-07, 02:43 PM   #6
bugmeplz
*BANNED*
 
bugmeplz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 427
Default Re: How much better will the performance of Crysis get?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sniggle
The funny thing is that for all we know the developers of the UT3 engine could have just put some threads to work doing nothing to pump up the CPU usage and make it LOOK like it's doing work.

Placebos are fun.
So are nonsensical conspiracy theories.
bugmeplz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-07, 02:44 PM   #7
FastRedPonyCar
Resident Tire Destroyer
 
FastRedPonyCar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 3,012
Send a message via AIM to FastRedPonyCar
Default Re: How much better will the performance of Crysis get?

I see no problem with crysis at all. I benchmark an avg of 30 fps at 1680X1050 with all the ultra high graphics settings on and I'm still rocking the E6600.

Crysis has shown through numerous benchmark tests that it's almost TOTALLY GPU dependant, DX10 performance is hit or miss and it doesn't really use hardly any CPU processing at all when it comes to raw performance numbers.

It's not rocket science. If you want to play crysis with teh eye candy, you gotta dump more $$ into a high dollar video card.

While they're not night and day different, the GTS vs GTX/Ultra are finally showing some differences and benefits to the higher onboard memory count as raising the resolution jacks up video memory usage tremendously. One guy that wrote the incrysis.com tweak guide said he was EASILY able to suck down a gig of video memory usage only at 1280X1024 resolution.

Here's a breakdown.

* Windows XP
* 1280x1024 (All Medium)- 300MB
* 1280x1024 (All High - textures medium only)- 300MB
* 1280x1024 (High)- 380MB
* 1280x1024 4x AA (high) - 460MB
* 1680x1050 (All Medium) - 300MB
* 1680x1050 (High) - 390MB
* 1680x1050 4x AA (All High - textures medium only) - 530MB
* 1680x1050 4x AA (High) - 580MB
* 1920x1200 (All High - textures medium only) - 380MB
* 1920x1200 (High) - 490MB
* 1920x1200 4x AA (All High - textures medium only) - 570MB
* 1920x1200 4x AA (High) - 650MB
* 1920x1200 8x AA (High) - 710MB


Unless crytek has some graphics options that they haven't implemented into the game (and are thus missing from the config file), the only difference as far as "being scalable for tomorrows hardware" will be increasing view distance and AA. Becuase right now, those are the two biggest items that kill frame rate.
__________________
- Desktop -
4770k @ 4.45 ghz - ASUS Gryphon Mobo - 16 gigs Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866 RAM - XSPC Rasa 750 RS240 H2o Cooling - EVGA GTX 680 @1325mhz - 128 gig Crucial RealSSD C300 - 150 gig Velociraptor +2.75 Terrabytes of WD Sata 3.0 storage - 910 watt PC P&C PSU - Corsair Obsidian 650D case

- Server -
Core I7 D0 revision 920 @ 3.75 ghz - ASUS P6T Deluxe - 12 Gigs Mushkin DDR3 1600 - Corsair HX 620 PSU - Noctua NH-U9B cooler - Coolermaster WaveMaster Case

- Laptop -
MSI 16F2-012
- i7 2630QM - GTX570m @ 750Mhz - 8 gigs HyperX 1866 - 120 gig OCZ Vertex 3 SSD- 750 gig Scorpio Black - BluRay - 95% Gamut Screen - IC Diamond goop
FastRedPonyCar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-07, 03:31 PM   #8
3DBrad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,260
Default Re: How much better will the performance of Crysis get?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sniggle
The funny thing is that for all we know the developers of the UT3 engine could have just put some threads to work doing nothing to pump up the CPU usage and make it LOOK like it's doing work.

Placebos are fun.

LOL, I hope your post was JOKE!

Tim Sweeney is to programming what Micheal Jordan was to basketball.
__________________
"What are politics? Another name for every man getting as much as he can out of the nation. " Charles H. Spurgeon
3DBrad is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-30-07, 04:23 PM   #9
[EOCF] Tim
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 641
Default Re: How much better will the performance of Crysis get?

Uhm, I can remember the full version of Farcry running alot better then the Demo, this might just be the same.
[EOCF] Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-07, 04:44 PM   #10
JohnDio
Registered User
 
JohnDio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,026
Default Re: How much better will the performance of Crysis get?

Not much i guess. This game engine even at low settings is demanding as hell. It's worth though . Furthermore quad cores aren't being supported fully in the demo. I assume that there will be a patch with multi-cores and SLI full support
JohnDio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-07, 05:27 PM   #11
Eliminator
The Man With Brisk
 
Eliminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: How much better will the performance of Crysis get?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spoudazo
LOL, I hope your post was JOKE!

Tim Sweeney is to programming what Micheal Jordan was to basketball.
oh really?... then please knock on his head to remind him that he forgot to add widescreen support
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.6GHZ
Asus P5B Deluxe
4GB OCZ Platinum PC8000 EL
BFG GTX 280 OC2 1GB @ 729/1512/2538
Dell 2405FPW 24"
3DMark: Vantage - P15397 | 06 - 18734
Eliminator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-07, 06:00 PM   #12
3DBrad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,260
Default Re: How much better will the performance of Crysis get?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eliminator
oh really?... then please knock on his head to remind him that he forgot to add widescreen support
Heh?

It'll have it, like normal.
__________________
"What are politics? Another name for every man getting as much as he can out of the nation. " Charles H. Spurgeon
3DBrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crysis 3 preview News Gaming Headlines 0 06-16-12 07:20 AM
Crysis 3 E3 trailer features Psycho, Prophet, slow-mo nano bow News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 06-05-12 07:00 AM
Now Available - Crysis 2 Maximum Edition News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 05-29-12 05:30 PM
NVIDIA Unleashes the GeForce GTX 670 Graphics Card ' Performance Perfected (WCCFTECH) News GeForce GTX 670 Reviews 0 05-10-12 08:40 AM
My UT2003 Tweak Guide DXnfiniteFX Gaming Central 48 10-30-02 11:59 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.