Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Crysis

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-30-07, 01:58 AM   #1
methimpikehoses
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Question RAM usage after Crysis closed

After running Crysis, my RAM usage seems to stay in the 40% range, until I restart my PC. It's usually idles at around 28%. Anyone else getting this? I notice no extra app running in Task Manager.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-07, 02:03 AM   #2
Ambrose
Registered User
 
Ambrose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 326
Default Re: RAM usage after Crysis closed

I had a similar problem with video ram usage. I set my settings way high to take a screen shot. Afterward, I reverted back to my usual settings and I seemed to be getting a good deal less fps than I had been before. A restart fixed this.
__________________
<Antec 900 Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Case>
<EVGA nForce 680i SLI ATX Intel Motherboard>
<Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 3.2GHz>
<Evga 8800 GTX @ 630/1050>
<OCZ Flex XLC 2GB DDR2 800>
<Samsung 500GB 7200 RPM Sata Hard drive>

3DMark06 score: 12243
http://service.futuremark.com/orb/re...0&UID=11981243
Windows Vista Ultimate

Avid gamer, dedicated student (most of the time).
Ambrose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-07, 07:15 AM   #3
FastRedPonyCar
Resident Tire Destroyer
 
FastRedPonyCar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 3,012
Send a message via AIM to FastRedPonyCar
Default Re: RAM usage after Crysis closed

I noticed that the first time I closed out of crysis, my computer was a dog for like 5 minutes. I said screw it and just got up and walked away, came back a little later and it was fine.

Maybe it just takes a long time to let go of everything it uses or something.
__________________
- Desktop -
4770k @ 4.45 ghz - ASUS Gryphon Mobo - 16 gigs Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866 RAM - XSPC Rasa 750 RS240 H2o Cooling - EVGA GTX 680 @1325mhz - 128 gig Crucial RealSSD C300 - 150 gig Velociraptor +2.75 Terrabytes of WD Sata 3.0 storage - 910 watt PC P&C PSU - Corsair Obsidian 650D case

- Server -
Core I7 D0 revision 920 @ 3.75 ghz - ASUS P6T Deluxe - 12 Gigs Mushkin DDR3 1600 - Corsair HX 620 PSU - Noctua NH-U9B cooler - Coolermaster WaveMaster Case

- Laptop -
MSI 16F2-012
- i7 2630QM - GTX570m @ 750Mhz - 8 gigs HyperX 1866 - 120 gig OCZ Vertex 3 SSD- 750 gig Scorpio Black - BluRay - 95% Gamut Screen - IC Diamond goop
FastRedPonyCar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-07, 12:28 PM   #4
methimpikehoses
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: RAM usage after Crysis closed

Quote:
Originally Posted by FastRedPonyCar
I noticed that the first time I closed out of crysis, my computer was a dog for like 5 minutes. I said screw it and just got up and walked away, came back a little later and it was fine.

Maybe it just takes a long time to let go of everything it uses or something.
LOL Crysis comes with a lot of baggage!
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-07, 12:34 PM   #5
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: RAM usage after Crysis closed

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ambrose
I had a similar problem with video ram usage. I set my settings way high to take a screen shot. Afterward, I reverted back to my usual settings and I seemed to be getting a good deal less fps than I had been before. A restart fixed this.
Similar issue here.
i have certain savegame points to test the framerate difference at different settings & when i loaded the game(s) i was getting different readings
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-07, 12:50 PM   #6
methimpikehoses
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: RAM usage after Crysis closed

Quote:
Originally Posted by SH64
Similar issue here.
i have certain savegame points to test the framerate difference at different settings & when i loaded the game(s) i was getting different readings
Me three. The memory numbers are all over the place...
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-07, 10:13 PM   #7
methimpikehoses
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: RAM usage after Crysis closed

Meh, I was gone all day and it's still at 39%.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-07, 10:19 PM   #8
Rummy
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Under your bed
Posts: 1,685
Default Re: RAM usage after Crysis closed

Mines at 35%. How is your ram usage during the game?

Just played abit. Mem usage goes to 60% about 1.74 gigs. After exiting ram usage goes to 34%. Still not seeing a lot of quad usage. 4th core being used the other 3 cores just sitting there.
Rummy is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crysis 3 preview News Gaming Headlines 0 06-16-12 07:20 AM
Crysis 3 E3 trailer features Psycho, Prophet, slow-mo nano bow News Archived News Items 0 06-05-12 07:00 AM
May browser usage: Firefox users still avoiding updates News Archived News Items 0 06-04-12 07:30 PM
Now Available - Crysis 2 Maximum Edition News Archived News Items 0 05-29-12 05:30 PM
Program to Identify DDR RAM modules speeds MUYA General Hardware 4 10-11-02 11:41 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.