Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Crysis

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-05-07, 01:43 AM   #37
Nanosuitguy
call me Nano
 
Nanosuitguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 517
Send a message via MSN to Nanosuitguy
Default Re: My massive DX9/10 graphics and tweaking analysis of Crysis demo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gaco
I've written a guide the in readme's. In short the CVarGroups method is inconvenient compared to the autoexec one. To make an autoexec just copy the whole lot of commands into notepad and when saving the file just call it autoexec.cfg (remember that last .cfg) and place it directly out in the Crysis Demo folder (not the one in my documents).
So you mean, That i sould leave the CVAr gropus files default then add every extra tweak and command in the autoexec.cfg to get the result in the demo?

I also wonder, is this Ultra tweak for those with Vista running on dx10 aswell or only for those with dx9?
Nanosuitguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-07, 08:55 AM   #38
FastRedPonyCar
Resident Tire Destroyer
 
FastRedPonyCar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 3,012
Send a message via AIM to FastRedPonyCar
Default Re: My massive DX9/10 graphics and tweaking analysis of Crysis demo

Quote:
Originally Posted by miahallen
For real? I cannot understand how you are acheiving 37FPS
I put un the values you list, and I'm ending up with 22FPS average at 800x600, 17FPS @ 1280x720 (actual gameplay values, not timedemo). What gives?
Heck if I know. But I'm using all modified CVARS config files at this point with very limited game.cfg file tweaking. Still averaging in the low~mid 30's fps.

Register here.

http://www.3dacc.net/forums/f15/crys...xclusive-2823/

And scroll down and download the zip file, make a backup of your original cvars files and then use them and just run the game. Changes all the values from high to very high.

I've added a few extra things to the game.cfg file such as more wave detail and r_TexturesStreaming=0 to add texture to the mountains.
__________________
- Desktop -
4770k @ 4.45 ghz - ASUS Gryphon Mobo - 16 gigs Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866 RAM - XSPC Rasa 750 RS240 H2o Cooling - EVGA GTX 680 @1325mhz - 128 gig Crucial RealSSD C300 - 150 gig Velociraptor +2.75 Terrabytes of WD Sata 3.0 storage - 910 watt PC P&C PSU - Corsair Obsidian 650D case

- Server -
Core I7 D0 revision 920 @ 3.75 ghz - ASUS P6T Deluxe - 12 Gigs Mushkin DDR3 1600 - Corsair HX 620 PSU - Noctua NH-U9B cooler - Coolermaster WaveMaster Case

- Laptop -
MSI 16F2-012
- i7 2630QM - GTX570m @ 750Mhz - 8 gigs HyperX 1866 - 120 gig OCZ Vertex 3 SSD- 750 gig Scorpio Black - BluRay - 95% Gamut Screen - IC Diamond goop
FastRedPonyCar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-07, 11:21 AM   #39
Gaco
L4D & DoW2 ftw!
 
Gaco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,143
Default Re: My massive DX9/10 graphics and tweaking analysis of Crysis demo

Quote:
Originally Posted by miahallen
Thanks for the guide Gaco, but I'm still having some problems. With any of the "Ultra" configs I've tried, I'm unable to get my FPS out of the teens with any resolution higher than 1024x768. Am I doing something wrong, or are you just running very low resolutions?

I'd like to play at my monitors native resolution (1080p), any reccomendations on what settings I should change to acheive playable framerates (>20 is OK with me)?

I'm using a system with very similar specs to yours & FastRedPonyCar's:
Q6600 @ 3.2GHz
GA-P35-DS4 Rev.2.0
4GB Ballistix @ PC2-8000 5-5-5-15
eVGA 8800GTX @ 621-1512-1053
FW 169.04 beta
Vista HP x64
x64 .exe & DX10
That is quite odd. You should definently get higher FPS. If you just follow the instructions and use the exact same command lines, it shouldn't be that low. You could also try the thing PonyCar suggested. I can't think of any solution to that at the moment apart from reinstalling the game or even better reformatting the PC. But that is dreadfully troublesome I know, though if you're using Vista it actually doesn't take that long.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nanosuitguy
So you mean, That i sould leave the CVAr gropus files default then add every extra tweak and command in the autoexec.cfg to get the result in the demo?

I also wonder, is this Ultra tweak for those with Vista running on dx10 aswell or only for those with dx9?
Yes that's what I meant.

It should work for DX10 also, but there's no point atm with the mouselag issue, DX10 is hardly playable.

Quote:
Originally Posted by FastRedPonyCar
Heck if I know. But I'm using all modified CVARS config files at this point with very limited game.cfg file tweaking. Still averaging in the low~mid 30's fps.

Register here.

http://www.3dacc.net/forums/f15/crys...xclusive-2823/

And scroll down and download the zip file, make a backup of your original cvars files and then use them and just run the game. Changes all the values from high to very high.

I've added a few extra things to the game.cfg file such as more wave detail and r_TexturesStreaming=0 to add texture to the mountains.
Wiii another tweakset. Must do some more testing at some point...
__________________
---MAIN GAMING RIG from MID SEPTEMBER 2007, MOBO+CASE+FANS UPGRADED APRIL 2009, GRAPHICSCARD UPGRADED MARCH 2010---
Case: Antec P182 case + 3x 120mm Scythe Slipstream SY1225SL12M @ ~900 RPM
Motherboard: Asus P5Q Deluxe
CPU: Intel Core2 Q6600@3.3ghz w. Noctua NH-U12P
RAM: 4Gb Crucial Tracer PC-8500
Graphics: XFX Radeon HD 5970 Black Edition
Harddiscs: 2xRaptorX 150gb 10.000 RPM in RAID0
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Sound: Sennheiser HD600 Headphones + headamp
Keyboard: Logitech DiNovo Edge
Mouse: Razor Orochi
Monitor: Samsung 2232BW (22" 1680*1050)
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64bit
Gaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-07, 10:17 AM   #40
miahallen
Registered User
 
miahallen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 73
Default Re: My massive DX9/10 graphics and tweaking analysis of Crysis demo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gaco
That is quite odd. You should definently get higher FPS. If you just follow the instructions and use the exact same command lines, it shouldn't be that low. You could also try the thing PonyCar suggested. I can't think of any solution to that at the moment apart from reinstalling the game or even better reformatting the PC. But that is dreadfully troublesome I know, though if you're using Vista it actually doesn't take that long.


Yes that's what I meant.

It should work for DX10 also, but there's no point atm with the mouselag issue, DX10 is hardly playable.


Wiii another tweakset. Must do some more testing at some point...
For the both of you...what resolutions are you running? I've done some exhaustive benching today to try to find optimal settings. I think in order to get decent eye candy, I'm going to have to drop my res (I'm working with 1280x720 right now).

Without any modified files (just ingame settings) I have everything set to "Very high" except models, shaders, shadows, and water, which are all set to "High". With that I'm getting:
CPU 16/29/30
GPU 22/30/30

With Graco's autoexec.cfg file from the download in the first post, I'm getting:
CPU 11/20/23 -5/-9/-7
GPU 18/21/29 -4/-9/-1

All benches run at 1280x720

Anyhow, I'm avoiding your "Ultra" tweak for now...maybe I'll try to revisit it later.
__________________
THE POST COUNTER IS NOT AN INTELLIGENCE METER
Asus Rampage IV Formula || i7 3820 @ 5GHz || 32GB G.SKILL @ 2000MHz
tri-SLI eVGA GTX 580 @ 900-1150MHz || 120GB Vertex 3 & 500GB Momentus XT
Enermax Revolution 1050W PSU || Samsung 305T Plus || Windows 7 x64
miahallen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-07, 12:45 PM   #41
Gaco
L4D & DoW2 ftw!
 
Gaco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,143
Default Re: My massive DX9/10 graphics and tweaking analysis of Crysis demo

Quote:
Originally Posted by miahallen
For the both of you...what resolutions are you running? I've done some exhaustive benching today to try to find optimal settings. I think in order to get decent eye candy, I'm going to have to drop my res (I'm working with 1280x720 right now).

Without any modified files (just ingame settings) I have everything set to "Very high" except models, shaders, shadows, and water, which are all set to "High". With that I'm getting:
CPU 16/29/30
GPU 22/30/30

With Graco's autoexec.cfg file from the download in the first post, I'm getting:
CPU 11/20/23 -5/-9/-7
GPU 18/21/29 -4/-9/-1

All benches run at 1280x720

Anyhow, I'm avoiding your "Ultra" tweak for now...maybe I'll try to revisit it later.
It just seems like your peroformance is too low all across the board. I don't have any clue what's causing it if you're using the newest beta drivers, but formatting the harddisk seems like the last option to me; this however lengthy proces yields other benefits like better overall computer performance and a clean up of old files as well
You could also check if your CPU and GPU are clocked at their factory clocks. I have my Q6600 overclocked to 3.0 ghz, but it still shouldn't make that much of a difference..

I'm always in 1680*1050 btw, that's my native (that res is less than 1600*1200 but more than 1280*1024 )
__________________
---MAIN GAMING RIG from MID SEPTEMBER 2007, MOBO+CASE+FANS UPGRADED APRIL 2009, GRAPHICSCARD UPGRADED MARCH 2010---
Case: Antec P182 case + 3x 120mm Scythe Slipstream SY1225SL12M @ ~900 RPM
Motherboard: Asus P5Q Deluxe
CPU: Intel Core2 Q6600@3.3ghz w. Noctua NH-U12P
RAM: 4Gb Crucial Tracer PC-8500
Graphics: XFX Radeon HD 5970 Black Edition
Harddiscs: 2xRaptorX 150gb 10.000 RPM in RAID0
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Sound: Sennheiser HD600 Headphones + headamp
Keyboard: Logitech DiNovo Edge
Mouse: Razor Orochi
Monitor: Samsung 2232BW (22" 1680*1050)
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64bit
Gaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-07, 04:24 PM   #42
FastRedPonyCar
Resident Tire Destroyer
 
FastRedPonyCar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 3,012
Send a message via AIM to FastRedPonyCar
Default Re: My massive DX9/10 graphics and tweaking analysis of Crysis demo

Crysis could care less what CPU you've got. My brother has a 3 year old 939 athlon XP system and a 320meg GTS and he's rocking 25 FPS on all high settings (most of them high).
__________________
- Desktop -
4770k @ 4.45 ghz - ASUS Gryphon Mobo - 16 gigs Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866 RAM - XSPC Rasa 750 RS240 H2o Cooling - EVGA GTX 680 @1325mhz - 128 gig Crucial RealSSD C300 - 150 gig Velociraptor +2.75 Terrabytes of WD Sata 3.0 storage - 910 watt PC P&C PSU - Corsair Obsidian 650D case

- Server -
Core I7 D0 revision 920 @ 3.75 ghz - ASUS P6T Deluxe - 12 Gigs Mushkin DDR3 1600 - Corsair HX 620 PSU - Noctua NH-U9B cooler - Coolermaster WaveMaster Case

- Laptop -
MSI 16F2-012
- i7 2630QM - GTX570m @ 750Mhz - 8 gigs HyperX 1866 - 120 gig OCZ Vertex 3 SSD- 750 gig Scorpio Black - BluRay - 95% Gamut Screen - IC Diamond goop
FastRedPonyCar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-07, 04:53 PM   #43
Gaco
L4D & DoW2 ftw!
 
Gaco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,143
Default Re: My massive DX9/10 graphics and tweaking analysis of Crysis demo

Quote:
Originally Posted by FastRedPonyCar
Crysis could care less what CPU you've got. My brother has a 3 year old 939 athlon XP system and a 320meg GTS and he's rocking 25 FPS on all high settings (most of them high).
A friend of mine who has the exact same specs tried to overclock to 3.4 ghz and run a 3Dmark (I've got it on a constant 3.0 ghz and is satisfied here). He reported that he got no additional performance in Crysis but more unusual, no more 3Dmarks in 3Dmark06! I mean really 100 more points max, the same within the margin of error! So the GPU is indeed the pratically only bottleneck in today's games.. But a 3-year old CPU? I'd like to see some objecitve benches on that claim

But with nextgen graphicscards you'd definently see the difference between an old AMD64 and a Core2 quadcore / phenrin or whatever it's called
__________________
---MAIN GAMING RIG from MID SEPTEMBER 2007, MOBO+CASE+FANS UPGRADED APRIL 2009, GRAPHICSCARD UPGRADED MARCH 2010---
Case: Antec P182 case + 3x 120mm Scythe Slipstream SY1225SL12M @ ~900 RPM
Motherboard: Asus P5Q Deluxe
CPU: Intel Core2 Q6600@3.3ghz w. Noctua NH-U12P
RAM: 4Gb Crucial Tracer PC-8500
Graphics: XFX Radeon HD 5970 Black Edition
Harddiscs: 2xRaptorX 150gb 10.000 RPM in RAID0
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Sound: Sennheiser HD600 Headphones + headamp
Keyboard: Logitech DiNovo Edge
Mouse: Razor Orochi
Monitor: Samsung 2232BW (22" 1680*1050)
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64bit
Gaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-07, 04:59 PM   #44
FastRedPonyCar
Resident Tire Destroyer
 
FastRedPonyCar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 3,012
Send a message via AIM to FastRedPonyCar
Default Re: My massive DX9/10 graphics and tweaking analysis of Crysis demo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gaco
All high settings, most of them high?
The more insignificant ones. textures, water, post processing, etc are all at high. I think physics are at medium and mabey some other stuff that's not important enough for me to know off the top of my head.
__________________
- Desktop -
4770k @ 4.45 ghz - ASUS Gryphon Mobo - 16 gigs Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866 RAM - XSPC Rasa 750 RS240 H2o Cooling - EVGA GTX 680 @1325mhz - 128 gig Crucial RealSSD C300 - 150 gig Velociraptor +2.75 Terrabytes of WD Sata 3.0 storage - 910 watt PC P&C PSU - Corsair Obsidian 650D case

- Server -
Core I7 D0 revision 920 @ 3.75 ghz - ASUS P6T Deluxe - 12 Gigs Mushkin DDR3 1600 - Corsair HX 620 PSU - Noctua NH-U9B cooler - Coolermaster WaveMaster Case

- Laptop -
MSI 16F2-012
- i7 2630QM - GTX570m @ 750Mhz - 8 gigs HyperX 1866 - 120 gig OCZ Vertex 3 SSD- 750 gig Scorpio Black - BluRay - 95% Gamut Screen - IC Diamond goop
FastRedPonyCar is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-06-07, 05:02 PM   #45
Gaco
L4D & DoW2 ftw!
 
Gaco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,143
Default Re: My massive DX9/10 graphics and tweaking analysis of Crysis demo

Quote:
Originally Posted by FastRedPonyCar
The more insignificant ones. textures, water, post processing, etc are all at high. I think physics are at medium and mabey some other stuff that's not important enough for me to know off the top of my head.
I read you wrong, I edited my post
__________________
---MAIN GAMING RIG from MID SEPTEMBER 2007, MOBO+CASE+FANS UPGRADED APRIL 2009, GRAPHICSCARD UPGRADED MARCH 2010---
Case: Antec P182 case + 3x 120mm Scythe Slipstream SY1225SL12M @ ~900 RPM
Motherboard: Asus P5Q Deluxe
CPU: Intel Core2 Q6600@3.3ghz w. Noctua NH-U12P
RAM: 4Gb Crucial Tracer PC-8500
Graphics: XFX Radeon HD 5970 Black Edition
Harddiscs: 2xRaptorX 150gb 10.000 RPM in RAID0
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Sound: Sennheiser HD600 Headphones + headamp
Keyboard: Logitech DiNovo Edge
Mouse: Razor Orochi
Monitor: Samsung 2232BW (22" 1680*1050)
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64bit
Gaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-07, 06:02 PM   #46
miahallen
Registered User
 
miahallen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 73
Default Re: My massive DX9/10 graphics and tweaking analysis of Crysis demo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gaco
It just seems like your peroformance is too low all across the board. I don't have any clue what's causing it if you're using the newest beta drivers, but formatting the harddisk seems like the last option to me; this however lengthy proces yields other benefits like better overall computer performance and a clean up of old files as well
You could also check if your CPU and GPU are clocked at their factory clocks. I have my Q6600 overclocked to 3.0 ghz, but it still shouldn't make that much of a difference..

I'm always in 1680*1050 btw, that's my native (that res is less than 1600*1200 but more than 1280*1024 )
Well, my install of Vista is pretty fresh (1 month old)...and I keep my OS very "clean". I'm a bit of a neat freak. I'm getting 13280 in 3DMark06. And for the numbers I just gave you, I was using a CPU clock of 3.3GHz and my 8800GTX is at 621/1458/999. Well, a couple more questions for you two.

Whick FW drivers are you using?
Did you install the Nov DX10 runtime?
What settings are you forcing through the nV control panel?

for me, I'd answer them:
1) 169.04
2) Yes
3) Forced items via "global settings"
  • AF - x16
  • Gamma correction - On
  • Conformant texture clamp - Use hardware
  • Mipmaps - Trilinear
  • Texture filtering - Negative LOD Bias - Clamp
  • Texture filtering - Quality - High Quality
  • Threaded optimization - On
  • Triple Buffering - On
  • V Sync - On
edit - Well, I think I figured out part of my problem. I reset the nV control panel settings back to default (except for AFx16) and my performance increased alot. Although I still cannot use the Ultra config with my 1920x1080 res (average FPS around 14).
__________________
THE POST COUNTER IS NOT AN INTELLIGENCE METER
Asus Rampage IV Formula || i7 3820 @ 5GHz || 32GB G.SKILL @ 2000MHz
tri-SLI eVGA GTX 580 @ 900-1150MHz || 120GB Vertex 3 & 500GB Momentus XT
Enermax Revolution 1050W PSU || Samsung 305T Plus || Windows 7 x64
miahallen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-07, 07:08 PM   #47
Gaco
L4D & DoW2 ftw!
 
Gaco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,143
Default Re: My massive DX9/10 graphics and tweaking analysis of Crysis demo

Quote:
Originally Posted by miahallen
Well, my install of Vista is pretty fresh (1 month old)...and I keep my OS very "clean". I'm a bit of a neat freak. I'm getting 13280 in 3DMark06. And for the numbers I just gave you, I was using a CPU clock of 3.3GHz and my 8800GTX is at 621/1458/999. Well, a couple more questions for you two.

Whick FW drivers are you using?
Did you install the Nov DX10 runtime?
What settings are you forcing through the nV control panel?

for me, I'd answer them:
1) 169.04
2) Yes
3) Forced items via "global settings"
  • AF - x16
  • Gamma correction - On
  • Conformant texture clamp - Use hardware
  • Mipmaps - Trilinear
  • Texture filtering - Negative LOD Bias - Clamp
  • Texture filtering - Quality - High Quality
  • Threaded optimization - On
  • Triple Buffering - On
  • V Sync - On
edit - Well, I think I figured out part of my problem. I reset the nV control panel settings back to default (except for AFx16) and my performance increased alot. Although I still cannot use the Ultra config with my 1920x1080 res (average FPS around 14).
That's definently your forced Nvndia Control Panel settings doing it. Personally I don't see any reason to force any settings on any new game, because it'll simply run like crap. Having 16xAF and vSync in Crysis is way too optimistic at this point. Lets hope that AF and vsync settings gets included into the game with release, but really I'd set AF to 4 samples at most, or more likely at 0. And triple buffering.. what for man, seems like you want to sabotage your Crysis performance on purpose
No those things you've mentioned there are definently not worth the performance hit - very high settings 0XAF is still a lot better looking than high settings with 16XAF IMO.

A word of advice though, it's a really bad idea to have that kind of settings forced globally; some games simply doesn't work with some settings forced (look at Crysis before 169.04), so take your time with your game profiles and do them individually
__________________
---MAIN GAMING RIG from MID SEPTEMBER 2007, MOBO+CASE+FANS UPGRADED APRIL 2009, GRAPHICSCARD UPGRADED MARCH 2010---
Case: Antec P182 case + 3x 120mm Scythe Slipstream SY1225SL12M @ ~900 RPM
Motherboard: Asus P5Q Deluxe
CPU: Intel Core2 Q6600@3.3ghz w. Noctua NH-U12P
RAM: 4Gb Crucial Tracer PC-8500
Graphics: XFX Radeon HD 5970 Black Edition
Harddiscs: 2xRaptorX 150gb 10.000 RPM in RAID0
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Sound: Sennheiser HD600 Headphones + headamp
Keyboard: Logitech DiNovo Edge
Mouse: Razor Orochi
Monitor: Samsung 2232BW (22" 1680*1050)
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64bit
Gaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-07, 08:40 PM   #48
Destroy
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3,994
Default Re: My massive DX9/10 graphics and tweaking analysis of Crysis demo

I'd like to know what tweaks to the config I have to add to make this game look like this:

__________________

Vista64 Home Premium
Gigabyte GA-EP35C-DS3R
CPU E8500 with Corsair H50 cooler
HIS 6970, always 19x10res
Memory 8 Gig OCZ 1000@1024
Display Westinghouse 37" LVM-37w1 LCD monitor
Destroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.