Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-29-07, 01:15 PM   #1
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Question on o'cing the 7900GTX

The EVGA 7900GTX I acquired is an RMA return, with only a few hours on it. Normally I wouldn't be concerned with this, but I seem to remember these cards were dying after being overclocked..is this accurate or am I thinking of another card?

TIA replies guys.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-07, 07:02 PM   #2
Rummy
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Under your bed
Posts: 1,685
Default Re: Question on o'cing the 7900GTX

When I had my 7900gt sc ko whatever it was called. It had the overheating issue. I remember EVGA sending out 7900gtx for replacements. I think it was the 256 7900's not the GTX's. Somebody correct me if I am wrong
Rummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-07, 03:14 AM   #3
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Question on o'cing the 7900GTX

Thanks for the reply. This thing runs nice and cool, so heat shouldn't be an issue. Well, If I don't try I won't know.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-07, 09:47 AM   #4
Eliminator
The Man With Brisk
 
Eliminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: Question on o'cing the 7900GTX

actually some of them are already broken without overclocking anything.... the RAM modules are very dodgy... ive had 3x 7900GTX all of which were broken
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.6GHZ
Asus P5B Deluxe
4GB OCZ Platinum PC8000 EL
BFG GTX 280 OC2 1GB @ 729/1512/2538
Dell 2405FPW 24"
3DMark: Vantage - P15397 | 06 - 18734
Eliminator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-07, 11:47 AM   #5
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Question on o'cing the 7900GTX

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eliminator
actually some of them are already broken without overclocking anything.... the RAM modules are very dodgy... ive had 3x 7900GTX all of which were broken
That sounds like what I remembered reading about. I'm only running it +25mhz on the core and +20 on the ram atm. Me thinks back to stock speeds is good.

Thank you!
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-07, 08:54 PM   #6
newls1
Registered User
 
newls1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 596
Default Re: Question on o'cing the 7900GTX

I went through 3 7900GTO (rejected GTX's) due to bad memory. In all seriousness, Each 1 of mt GTO's only took about 1-2 weeks to die a horrible death. These cards where never OC'ed at all either. EVGA finally sent me my 4th GTO card that had the newer memory which was the same mem the "FIXED" GTX's were using which were infinion based ram. That GTO ran awesome and OC'ed to the sky.
__________________
ASUS P5Q-PRO @ 408FSB / Q6700 @ 3.71GHz AIR COOLED / eVGA GTX295 @ 725c*1585s*2400mem / 4GB G.SKILL PC8500 @ DDR1025 / AUDIGY4 / WD640GB / WD80GB / 28" Hanns-G 3ms LCD
newls1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-07, 03:29 PM   #7
stevemedes
Intel Virgin
 
stevemedes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,716
Send a message via AIM to stevemedes
Default Re: Question on o'cing the 7900GTX

I had a GTX based on the older memory that simply bit the bullet one day. The one I got back from RMA is the 'reloaded' version with the new chips. Also has HDCP support too, which the older one didn't have.

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400 | Asus P5B Deluxe w/ Thermalright HR-09 | 4gb Crucial BallistiX Tracer PC2-8000 | eVGA 9800 GTX | Tuniq Tower
2x36gb WD Raptor RAID-0 | 750gb WD SE16 | Samsung SH-S203B | X-Fi XtremeMusic | Corsair VX550
Coolermaster Stacker 832 | Klipsch Promedia 2.1
stevemedes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-07, 04:32 PM   #8
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Question on o'cing the 7900GTX

Thanks. I'm guessing this is a 'reloaded' card back from RMA. Stable as a rock so far at stock speeds. I just don't want to oc it unless I can verify the new ram.
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-04-07, 04:47 PM   #9
Eliminator
The Man With Brisk
 
Eliminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: Question on o'cing the 7900GTX

Quote:
Originally Posted by newls1
I went through 3 7900GTO (rejected GTX's) due to bad memory. In all seriousness, Each 1 of mt GTO's only took about 1-2 weeks to die a horrible death. These cards where never OC'ed at all either. EVGA finally sent me my 4th GTO card that had the newer memory which was the same mem the "FIXED" GTX's were using which were infinion based ram. That GTO ran awesome and OC'ed to the sky.
out of the 3 GTX cards i had... 1 of them had the old memory which not only overclocked higher but lasted like 3 months before it started artifacting.... the other 2 had the newer 'fixed' memory which died in a few days (this was at stock speeds too)
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.6GHZ
Asus P5B Deluxe
4GB OCZ Platinum PC8000 EL
BFG GTX 280 OC2 1GB @ 729/1512/2538
Dell 2405FPW 24"
3DMark: Vantage - P15397 | 06 - 18734
Eliminator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-07, 04:55 PM   #10
newls1
Registered User
 
newls1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 596
Default Re: Question on o'cing the 7900GTX

Quote:
Originally Posted by grey_1
Thanks. I'm guessing this is a 'reloaded' card back from RMA. Stable as a rock so far at stock speeds. I just don't want to oc it unless I can verify the new ram.
Well.....To verify if your card has the "newer" ram, pull off the heatsink, and see if the ram says "Samsung" or "Infinion" If you have Samsung ram, you can just guarantee yourself an RMA If it reads Infinion, your all set and ready to OC that sucker
__________________
ASUS P5Q-PRO @ 408FSB / Q6700 @ 3.71GHz AIR COOLED / eVGA GTX295 @ 725c*1585s*2400mem / 4GB G.SKILL PC8500 @ DDR1025 / AUDIGY4 / WD640GB / WD80GB / 28" Hanns-G 3ms LCD
newls1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-07, 07:47 PM   #11
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Question on o'cing the 7900GTX

Quote:
Originally Posted by newls1
Well.....To verify if your card has the "newer" ram, pull off the heatsink, and see if the ram says "Samsung" or "Infinion" If you have Samsung ram, you can just guarantee yourself an RMA If it reads Infinion, your all set and ready to OC that sucker
Thanks newls1.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mandrake 9.0 and Nvidia 1.0-3123 FINALLY!!!! Now for a question. jthompson7051 NVIDIA Linux 1 10-07-02 02:17 PM
1st post - XP Restore question Needa916 Microsoft Windows XP And Vista 2 09-12-02 05:24 PM
Newby question about nforce.... superconti NVIDIA Linux 2 09-07-02 11:46 PM
Dual boot question.. Tactics General Hardware 15 09-07-02 10:39 AM
Re: MCP exam question MUYA Microsoft Windows XP And Vista 4 08-11-02 01:54 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.