Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Crysis

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-02-07, 10:13 PM   #1
ChiBChombo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 393
Default Crysis questions for those that play Demo

I was wondering, right now I'm downloading the demo but it takes me 5-6 hours to. So I'm wondering... Will my comp (sig) be able to run Crysis maybe at Very High Quality? Windows XP, no Vista. I know my video card is good, but I also know my Processor is old, and so are most of the other parts.

Thank you
__________________
Motherboard: eVGA E758-A1 X58 CPU: Intel core i7-960 Bloomfield 3.2GHz Memory: Corsair Dominator-GT 6GB 1600MHz 7-7-7-20 GPU: 2x eVGA GTX 470 Sli PSU: Corsair 1000HX Storage: Intel X25-M SSD 80GB - 2x WD Caviar Black 1TB Optical Drives: Sony Optiarc 24X CD/DVD - Pioneer BDR-205BKS BluRay/DVD/CD Writer Case: Lian-Li Armorsuit PC-P50R Display: Alienware OptX AW2310 Audio: Logitech Z-5500.
ChiBChombo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-07, 10:15 PM   #2
agentkay
Registered User
 
agentkay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Europe
Posts: 3,866
Default Re: Crysis questions for those that play Demo

Whats your native resolution? It plays fine here in DX9 at 1920x1080 and with a modified cfg (with almost all "very high/DX10" settings enabled) and since the game isn't that heavy on the CPU side, yours shouldn't be a bottleneck.
__________________

Intel I7-920 aircooled by Prolimatech Megahalems @ 3.8Ghz (200x19) | Gigabyte GA-X58-UD3R | OCZ Platinum 3x2GB DDR3-1600 RAM (7-7-7-24) @ 1600 | Gainward GTX 480 | WD Raptor 74GB + 150GB + Samsung 1TB | Soundblaster X-Fi Platinum | Corsair AX850 Gold | Coolermaster Stacker 830 silver | Logitech Z-5500 Digital 5.1 | Logitech G15 keyboard | Logitech G25 Racing Wheel | Sharp LC-46 XL1E (gaming and work)
F CliffyB.
agentkay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-07, 10:20 PM   #3
ChiBChombo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 393
Default Re: Crysis questions for those that play Demo

Oh forgot to mention that, I play at 1920 x 1200
__________________
Motherboard: eVGA E758-A1 X58 CPU: Intel core i7-960 Bloomfield 3.2GHz Memory: Corsair Dominator-GT 6GB 1600MHz 7-7-7-20 GPU: 2x eVGA GTX 470 Sli PSU: Corsair 1000HX Storage: Intel X25-M SSD 80GB - 2x WD Caviar Black 1TB Optical Drives: Sony Optiarc 24X CD/DVD - Pioneer BDR-205BKS BluRay/DVD/CD Writer Case: Lian-Li Armorsuit PC-P50R Display: Alienware OptX AW2310 Audio: Logitech Z-5500.
ChiBChombo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-07, 10:22 PM   #4
LORD-eX-Bu
Horus the pointy master
 
LORD-eX-Bu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 4,609
Default Re: Crysis questions for those that play Demo

yes you will be able to run it under Vista or XP with Very High Settings(XP will require some tweaks) and yes it will run like crap

by the way, we do have a sub forum dedicated to all things Crysis in order to keep the rest of the gaming area neat and tidy.
__________________
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=171&dateline=12152329  84
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ!
LORD-eX-Bu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-07, 10:23 PM   #5
agentkay
Registered User
 
agentkay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Europe
Posts: 3,866
Default Re: Crysis questions for those that play Demo

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChiBChombo
Oh forgot to mention that, I play at 1920 x 1200
25-35fps is my prediction. Yes it sounds low but actually it feels a lot smoother than other FPS at such framerates, no mouse lag either.
__________________

Intel I7-920 aircooled by Prolimatech Megahalems @ 3.8Ghz (200x19) | Gigabyte GA-X58-UD3R | OCZ Platinum 3x2GB DDR3-1600 RAM (7-7-7-24) @ 1600 | Gainward GTX 480 | WD Raptor 74GB + 150GB + Samsung 1TB | Soundblaster X-Fi Platinum | Corsair AX850 Gold | Coolermaster Stacker 830 silver | Logitech Z-5500 Digital 5.1 | Logitech G15 keyboard | Logitech G25 Racing Wheel | Sharp LC-46 XL1E (gaming and work)
F CliffyB.
agentkay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-07, 10:53 PM   #6
ChiBChombo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 393
Default Re: Crysis questions for those that play Demo

Well now for some questions...

I've been waiting long time for the 45 NM processors, because I'm pretty sure I'm upgrading from mine to a intel 45nm. Yea I know I'll need a new mobo, memory, etc.

Hopefully I'll be able to play Crysis on decent FPS with high Quality for a while, I wont be getting the new intel until probably January when the cheaper ones come out.

By then of course my vid card wont be one of the bests, but Im pretty sure a 8800 Ultra + 45nm Intel + good mobo + good memory can run Crysis at full with 30-40+ FPS, right?
__________________
Motherboard: eVGA E758-A1 X58 CPU: Intel core i7-960 Bloomfield 3.2GHz Memory: Corsair Dominator-GT 6GB 1600MHz 7-7-7-20 GPU: 2x eVGA GTX 470 Sli PSU: Corsair 1000HX Storage: Intel X25-M SSD 80GB - 2x WD Caviar Black 1TB Optical Drives: Sony Optiarc 24X CD/DVD - Pioneer BDR-205BKS BluRay/DVD/CD Writer Case: Lian-Li Armorsuit PC-P50R Display: Alienware OptX AW2310 Audio: Logitech Z-5500.
ChiBChombo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-07, 11:05 PM   #7
JasonPC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,103
Default Re: Crysis questions for those that play Demo

Honestly it appears to me that the game is almost totally limited by the graphics card. It doesn't seem to make my E6600 sweat but it even makes an 8800 ultra cry.
JasonPC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-07, 11:09 PM   #8
agentkay
Registered User
 
agentkay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Europe
Posts: 3,866
Default Re: Crysis questions for those that play Demo

The problem with Crysis is that resolutions of 1920x1200 and higher are in the SLI "territory" with this game. The game is very heavy on the fillrate side, so you probably won't get around to do some sacrifizes. This is just my prediction, but I know others play at this resolution with single GTX/Ultras and they should know better than me.

Remember the game was announced for a long time to be heavy on current-gen computers on the highest settings no matter if they run modded in DX9 or even more, natively in DX10.

I think your target fps would be easier to archieve with a 2nd Ultra but again thats just a guess of mine. When you have the demo and have adjusted your settings, run some tests on your CPU usage and as long the CPU cores aren't maxed out, a CPU upgrade won't make much difference in the demo.
__________________

Intel I7-920 aircooled by Prolimatech Megahalems @ 3.8Ghz (200x19) | Gigabyte GA-X58-UD3R | OCZ Platinum 3x2GB DDR3-1600 RAM (7-7-7-24) @ 1600 | Gainward GTX 480 | WD Raptor 74GB + 150GB + Samsung 1TB | Soundblaster X-Fi Platinum | Corsair AX850 Gold | Coolermaster Stacker 830 silver | Logitech Z-5500 Digital 5.1 | Logitech G15 keyboard | Logitech G25 Racing Wheel | Sharp LC-46 XL1E (gaming and work)
F CliffyB.
agentkay is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-02-07, 11:15 PM   #9
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: Crysis questions for those that play Demo

That will run good in XP
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gaikai_Inc: RT @The_Daily_Net: Woah apparently you can play a demo of TERA right in y News GAIKAI 0 06-22-12 08:00 AM
Crysis 3 preview News Gaming Headlines 0 06-16-12 08:20 AM
Arma 3 E3 hands-on preview: 8 important questions answered News Archived News Items 0 06-08-12 06:20 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.