Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-03-07, 10:07 AM   #1
Airbrushkid
 
Airbrushkid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,421
Default Why?

I try to overclock my 8800 GTS 320 and all I an get is 605/920 mhz. But I see so many others getting a lot higher clocks. Like cefurkan gets 648/1044 mhz.
__________________
Intel Q9550 l eVGA NForce 780i SLI FTW l 2 Palit GTX 560 Ti 2 GB SLI l Corsair Dominator 8 gig PC2-8500 l 2 - Intel X-25M 80 gb SSD Raid 0 l WD 1 -2TB & 2 -1TB l On board sound l Antec TruePower Quattro TPQ-1200 1200W l Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit l 3 X Dell E248WFP 24" Monitors
Airbrushkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-07, 11:32 AM   #2
LORD-eX-Bu
Horus the pointy master
 
LORD-eX-Bu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 4,609
Default Re: Why?

what type of cooler do you have on there?

All gpus are not created equal it all depends on the specific batch, some may clock higher, others lower. Depends on alot of things.
__________________
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=171&dateline=12152329  84
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ!
LORD-eX-Bu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-07, 01:32 PM   #3
Legend
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 287
Default Re: Why?

Quote:
Originally Posted by LORD-eX-Bu
what type of cooler do you have on there?

All gpus are not created equal it all depends on the specific batch, some may clock higher, others lower. Depends on alot of things.

Well said, overclocking is never guarenteed. Just be glad you can get a little more out of it than stock because after all......its free extra performance.
Legend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-07, 10:16 PM   #4
Luchou
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 66
Default Re: Why?

mine's flashed at 650/1600/1000 (Fatal1ty edition speed) from 560/1300/850 (Extreme edition speed), just be sure to run fan always at 100% via rivatuner, I use the stock cooler (idle temp 49C and max load temp 66C)...

You can use ATI Tool v.26 for testing, run artifact scanner (1 hour min)...
Luchou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-07, 01:30 AM   #5
Airbrushkid
 
Airbrushkid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,421
Default Re: Why?

I'm a little lost at this. If I overclock and cannot go that high with out it freezing. Then how can you flash the card with those higher clocks and not have it freeze?
__________________
Intel Q9550 l eVGA NForce 780i SLI FTW l 2 Palit GTX 560 Ti 2 GB SLI l Corsair Dominator 8 gig PC2-8500 l 2 - Intel X-25M 80 gb SSD Raid 0 l WD 1 -2TB & 2 -1TB l On board sound l Antec TruePower Quattro TPQ-1200 1200W l Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit l 3 X Dell E248WFP 24" Monitors
Airbrushkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-07, 01:41 AM   #6
LORD-eX-Bu
Horus the pointy master
 
LORD-eX-Bu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 4,609
Default Re: Why?

__________________
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=171&dateline=12152329  84
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ!
LORD-eX-Bu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-07, 10:57 AM   #7
Luchou
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 66
Default Re: Why?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Airbrushkid
I'm a little lost at this. If I overclock and cannot go that high with out it freezing. Then how can you flash the card with those higher clocks and not have it freeze?
Cards are different, different batches, check your temperatures, maybe heat is your enemy...
Luchou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-07, 12:22 PM   #8
Airbrushkid
 
Airbrushkid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,421
Default Re: Why?

Heat is not the problem. I'm using a Thermalright HR-03 Plus and on load it's about 47C to 53C.
__________________
Intel Q9550 l eVGA NForce 780i SLI FTW l 2 Palit GTX 560 Ti 2 GB SLI l Corsair Dominator 8 gig PC2-8500 l 2 - Intel X-25M 80 gb SSD Raid 0 l WD 1 -2TB & 2 -1TB l On board sound l Antec TruePower Quattro TPQ-1200 1200W l Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit l 3 X Dell E248WFP 24" Monitors
Airbrushkid is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-04-07, 02:47 PM   #9
Luchou
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 66
Default Re: Why?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Airbrushkid
Heat is not the problem. I'm using a Thermalright HR-03 Plus and on load it's about 47C to 53C.
Well sorry then, maybe you got a bad batch of cards for overclocking, not all cards overclock the same
XFX cards are good for overclocking, they always get factory overclocked cards a step further than competition, don't know about the support though...
Luchou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-07, 08:57 AM   #10
Airbrushkid
 
Airbrushkid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,421
Default Re: Why?

Well I got it to overclock higher finally. I got 650/1523/900. I know if I push the memory it will freeze up.
__________________
Intel Q9550 l eVGA NForce 780i SLI FTW l 2 Palit GTX 560 Ti 2 GB SLI l Corsair Dominator 8 gig PC2-8500 l 2 - Intel X-25M 80 gb SSD Raid 0 l WD 1 -2TB & 2 -1TB l On board sound l Antec TruePower Quattro TPQ-1200 1200W l Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit l 3 X Dell E248WFP 24" Monitors
Airbrushkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.