Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-05-07, 10:00 PM   #1
3DBrad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,261
Default Still no multi-core support Valve. . .



__________________
"What are politics? Another name for every man getting as much as he can out of the nation. " Charles H. Spurgeon
3DBrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-07, 10:17 PM   #2
ChaoticNick
o hai
 
ChaoticNick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Corvallis, OR
Posts: 474
Send a message via AIM to ChaoticNick
Default Re: Still no multi-core support Valve. . .

Sad, sure, but with 116 fps is there any point?
__________________
Desktop: Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 3.16GHz - 4GB G.Skill DDR2 800 -Gigabyte GA-EP45-DS3L - EVGA 8800GTS 512 - Acer 22" AL2216Wbd
Notebook: HP Pavilion dv6700t - Intel Core 2 Duo T8100 2.1GHz - 2GB DDR2 667 - NVIDIA 8400M GS - 15.4" Glossy screen - 120GB HD

Digg | Steam | Xfire
ChaoticNick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-07, 10:20 PM   #3
3DBrad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,261
Default Re: Still no multi-core support Valve. . .

Well,

Hl2:ep2 with my 7900gs doesn't run the best, and that screenshot was just with 2xAA at 1024x768.

Whenever I upgrade the GPU (since I sold the 8800gtx, waiting for the next highend card), the CPU will be the bottleneck if only singlethreaded.
__________________
"What are politics? Another name for every man getting as much as he can out of the nation. " Charles H. Spurgeon
3DBrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-07, 10:33 PM   #4
Armed_Baboon
Australian Gamer
 
Armed_Baboon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 836
Default Re: Still no multi-core support Valve. . .

it's a complete non issue. how many frames do you want? do you have some super monitor with a 110Hz refresh rate?

give up.
Armed_Baboon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-07, 10:35 PM   #5
3DBrad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,261
Default Re: Still no multi-core support Valve. . .



You don't understand. That's standing still, with nothing happening on the screen.

In Counter-Strike:Source, for example, you can go from 200fps to 20-30fps depending on the scene, so the FPS you see in that pick doesn't matter.
__________________
"What are politics? Another name for every man getting as much as he can out of the nation. " Charles H. Spurgeon
3DBrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-07, 10:38 PM   #6
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: Still no multi-core support Valve. . .

Looks like the multi-core support is another BS in the gaming industry just like DX10.
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-07, 10:41 PM   #7
3DBrad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,261
Default Re: Still no multi-core support Valve. . .

Quote:
Originally Posted by SH64
Looks like the multi-core support is another BS in the gaming industry just like DX10.
Except for Unreal Engine 3 games, Lost Planet, and a few others.


More here,
http://www.thattechsite.com/vbulleti...read.php?t=141
__________________
"What are politics? Another name for every man getting as much as he can out of the nation. " Charles H. Spurgeon
3DBrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-07, 10:46 PM   #8
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: Still no multi-core support Valve. . .

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spoudazo
Except for Unreal Engine 3 games, Lost Planet, and a few others.
Except for Lost Planet only actually since its the only game that i know of that makes actual use of multi-core processors i.e. Quad-Core. (talk about 60%+)
UE3 games do make use of dual-cores but no more than that.
i was talking about "multi-core" support not dual cores.
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-05-07, 10:56 PM   #9
Rakeesh
 
Rakeesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sonoran Desert
Posts: 6,870
Default Re: Still no multi-core support Valve. . .

Well valve promises much and gives too little too late - this is nothing new.

As for multi-core gaming - this is the future, make no mistake about it. But the old trend continues: The hardware these days way out paces the software. Games just aren't ready for multi-core systems yet, but they will be in due time.
__________________
Want to listen to audio without your computer going to sleep? Try this.

Core i7 2600k 4.4Ghz 1.385v | Corsair H60 | 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 8-8-8-24 | MSI P67A-G45 | OCZ Vertex 3 | Sapphire 7850 OC to Max settings

Rakeesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-07, 11:01 PM   #10
3DBrad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,261
Default Re: Still no multi-core support Valve. . .

Quote:
Originally Posted by SH64
Except for Lost Planet only actually since its the only game that i know of that makes actual use of multi-core processors i.e. Quad-Core. (talk about 60%+)
UE3 games do make use of dual-cores but no more than that.
i was talking about "multi-core" support not dual cores.
Wrong again


Quote:
Q. How will Unreal Tournament 3 use multiple cores on a CPU? Does it take advantage of Quad Core CPU’s? If so, how/what task is assigned to each core?

A. Unreal Engine 3 is a transitional multithreaded architecture. It runs two heavyweight threads, and a pool of helper threads.

The primary thread is responsible for running UnrealScript AI and gameplay logic and networking. The secondary thread is responsible for all rendering work. The pool of helper threads accelerate additional modular tasks such as physics, data decompression, and streaming.

Thus UE3 runs significantly faster on CPUs which support two or more high-performance threads. This includes dual-core Intel and AMD PC CPUs, the Xbox 360 (which sports 3 CPU cores and 2 hardware threads per core), and PlayStation 3 (with 1 CPU core running 2 high-performance hardware threads per core.)
http://www.thattechsite.com/main/ind...?s=tim+sweeney
__________________
"What are politics? Another name for every man getting as much as he can out of the nation. " Charles H. Spurgeon
3DBrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-07, 11:01 PM   #11
einstein_314
w00t!!
 
einstein_314's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,905
Default Re: Still no multi-core support Valve. . .

Quote:
Originally Posted by SH64
Except for Lost Planet only actually since its the only game that i know of that makes actual use of multi-core processors i.e. Quad-Core. (talk about 60%+)
UE3 games do make use of dual-cores but no more than that.
i was talking about "multi-core" support not dual cores.
Supreme Commander is another game that is multi-core optimized. There are HUGE performance increases when going from 2 to 4 cores.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2GHz (9 x 355) w/ Swiftec APOGEE GTX Waterblock|| Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Edition
eVGA 8800 GTX Superclocked Edition @ 675/1150 w/ DangerDen 8800GTX Waterblock|| 4x1GB Mushkin XP2 PC2-8500
X-Fi Fatal1ty 64MB || PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W || Seagate 7200.10 320 GB || Dell 2407WFP
Logitech Z-5300 Speakers || Sennheiser HD555's || Logitech G7 || Logitech G15 || Windows Vista Ultimate x64
einstein_314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-07, 11:05 PM   #12
AthlonXP1800
Registered User
 
AthlonXP1800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4,352
Default Re: Still no multi-core support Valve. . .

Valve hate multi-core, Gabe said multi-core on PC, Xbox 360 and PS3 are pain in the ass to programming.
__________________
Intel Core i7 3770K, Corsair H80 liquid cooler with Noctua S12-1200 fan, ASUS P8Z77V with UEFI 2104, 16GB Samsung Green 30nm DDR3-RAM, Pioneer BDR-S09XLT 16x Blu-ray writer, Corsair AX850 PSU, Western Digital 2TB SATA3 hard drive, CanonScan LiDE 210 scanner, Microsoft Internet Keyboard, Microsoft Touch Explorer mouse, 32inch Sharp LC32LE600 LED TV, EVGA Geforce GTX 670 SC 4GB with Geforce 370.50 driver, 50Mb broadband Virgin Media VMDG480 Super Hub, Aspire Xplorer Midi Tower, Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit.
AthlonXP1800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Canonical partners with Microsoft to support Ubuntu on Azure News Archived News Items 0 06-08-12 05:20 AM
Remastered Doom 3 BFG Edition Game Coming with Stereo 3D Support News Archived News Items 0 06-01-12 05:30 AM
Intel's Ivy Bridge Core i7 3770K Overheating Issue Detailed News Archived News Items 0 05-16-12 10:40 AM
CPUMark99 - how do you compare fuelrod Benchmarking And Overclocking 66 07-19-11 08:32 AM
Official Detonator 40.xx Feedback Thread pelly NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 299 09-22-02 06:54 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.