Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-06-07, 10:18 PM   #13
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: Does ANYONE have Gears of War yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spoudazo
I don't think your PC could run it anyway.

.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
j/k
In the process of rebuilding anyways... just wait and see
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-07, 10:19 PM   #14
3DBrad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,261
Default Re: Does ANYONE have Gears of War yet?

Hmmmm, does jAkup know something we don't. . .

__________________
"What are politics? Another name for every man getting as much as he can out of the nation. " Charles H. Spurgeon
3DBrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-07, 10:19 PM   #15
D!Z
Registered User
 
D!Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 154
Default Re: Does ANYONE have Gears of War yet?

Gamespot gave it a 9.0
D!Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-07, 10:30 PM   #16
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Does ANYONE have Gears of War yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spoudazo
Hmmmm, does jAkup know something we don't. . .

He's going budget.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-07, 10:31 PM   #17
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Does ANYONE have Gears of War yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jAkUp
In the process of rebuilding anyways... just wait and see
are you ever not rebuilding?



PS im jealous
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-07, 11:08 PM   #18
niwroc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5
Default Re: Does ANYONE have Gears of War yet?

I have it. It runs perfectly for me on my system, except for what appears to be load-stuttering that happens at the beginning of new areas.

I'm running at 1280x720 0xAA/16xAF max everything. Aside from the stuttering, I have never seen it from below about 47fps, but it mostly sits at the 62 lock. I've only played the first hour or so, but I doubt it changes much.

Here's my system:

E2160@3.4ghz
BFG 8800GTS 320 OC
2GB DDR2 6400
niwroc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-07, 11:10 PM   #19
3DBrad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,261
Default Re: Does ANYONE have Gears of War yet?

Can you try at a higher resolution?
__________________
"What are politics? Another name for every man getting as much as he can out of the nation. " Charles H. Spurgeon
3DBrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-07, 11:35 PM   #20
gulizard
"Powerstroke Diesel"
 
gulizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Evansville, Indiana (from Detroit)
Posts: 663
Send a message via MSN to gulizard Send a message via Skype™ to gulizard
Default Re: Does ANYONE have Gears of War yet?

I got it, no stuttering here... 4GB of RAM though may make the difference.
__________________
my rig: 2011 Ford F250 Lariat, 6.7 Powerstroke, DPF/urea delete H&S Mini Maxx tuned, w/ fuel box from IDP ET 1/8 8.40
gulizard is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-06-07, 11:45 PM   #21
niwroc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5
Default Re: Does ANYONE have Gears of War yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spoudazo
Can you try at a higher resolution?
1280x720 is the highest my monitor supports, unfortunately.

I think my 320mb card would choke at a res. much higher though :P
niwroc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-07, 12:02 AM   #22
nutcrackr
Super Registered User
 
nutcrackr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,204
Default Re: Does ANYONE have Gears of War yet?

whats the game like, does the constant cover system get boring?
nutcrackr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-07, 12:58 AM   #23
gulizard
"Powerstroke Diesel"
 
gulizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Evansville, Indiana (from Detroit)
Posts: 663
Send a message via MSN to gulizard Send a message via Skype™ to gulizard
Default Re: Does ANYONE have Gears of War yet?

Do not know what that review about DX10 was. My game in DX10 mode runs at a constant 60-62 FPS, (I have vsync on) or so it says I can still see tearing though. The game runs smooth, with no hitches except in one scene for some odd reason at certain spot in the game was lagging me down to 19 fps, but only for a short minute, until the cinematic sequence started. The game is beautiful, and I am really enjoying it.

I was looking and it appears you can still play MP without actually being a gold member as well. You enter your key and play on but you need to have a actual xbox 360 account (I do). It lets you create a free profile hassle free basically just to make you feel special. I went ahead and entered my key and used my old xbox 360 account, which expires in December. I did happen to see a "Gold Only" list which allows only Gold Players to join your coop game, or MP Game. I think the biggest factor is the servers you create will actually use your connection, unlike the xbox 360 where everyones connection was in-play and it didn't take huge pipe to host a 8 man game.

As for the duck and cover system, its pretty nice actually.. The mouse makes it so you really don't need to stay in one spot often, as aiming and actually killing people is a lot easier with the mouse, then it was with the control. Even in those situations where you run to far, and realize that the enemy is right there, and he comes at you, and you can't get the chainsaw running in time, you can still actually shoot the enemy before dieing...

FYI you are not constantly covering, theres a lot of times where you not behind cover.
__________________
my rig: 2011 Ford F250 Lariat, 6.7 Powerstroke, DPF/urea delete H&S Mini Maxx tuned, w/ fuel box from IDP ET 1/8 8.40
gulizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-07, 01:16 AM   #24
K-1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 584
Default Re: Does ANYONE have Gears of War yet?

Ugh so jealous, I need to stop reading this thread!

gulizard, have you tried hosting a coop game or any multiplayer game yet? Laggy, smooth? And just to confirm you don't need a Gold account to host a game do you?
K-1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Napoleon: Total War Free Weekend and 50% off! News Gaming Headlines 0 06-15-12 12:30 AM
(Joystiq) Epic's Mark Rein on UE4, Epic Baltimore and Gears of War: Judgment News Archived News Items 0 06-11-12 01:50 PM
Naval War: Arctic Circle review News Archived News Items 0 06-08-12 09:20 PM
Now Available - Total War: SHOGUN 2 - Fall of the Samurai DLCs News Archived News Items 0 05-30-12 02:40 PM
Total War: Shogun 2 Map Editor Totally Out Now News Archived News Items 0 05-24-12 02:50 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.