Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-15-03, 07:22 AM   #1
ehe123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 7
Default vertical refresh rates

I do not understand how the vertical refresh rates are being set. I am using RedHat 8, with a Quadro4 700 XGL and a Viewsonic P225F monitor. I purchased this monitor because it supports high refresh rates (30-127 kHZ H, and 50-180 Hz V) that I want to use for page-flipping stereo.
1) When I use the graphical utility for setting the screen display parameters, the only options are screen resolution, and then monitor parameters. I assume that the vertical refresh rate is computed automatically.
2) But when I am in 1600 x 1200, the vertical refresh is listed as 85 Hz (using xvidtune), and when I switch to 1280 x 1024, the refresh is still 85 Hz. If the vertical refresh is chosen as the maximum possible, why is it not increased when I go to the lower resolution?
3) Is there a problem that in the attached XF86Config the card is listed as a GeForce 4?
ehe123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-03, 08:22 AM   #2
Wolfman [TWP]
Geforce 8800 GTS 512
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 396
Default

What are your refresh rate settings in your XF86Config(-4) file?? (I personally still don't quite understand how Linux does this, but from what I've read, the settings in that file will goven the refresh rates for the given resolutions. Unless there's a manual way of doing it that I don't know of.)

Wolf

Last edited by Wolfman [TWP]; 04-15-03 at 08:56 AM.
Wolfman [TWP] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-03, 08:37 AM   #3
ehe123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 7
Default

I had attached the XF86Config file to my post in the hopes that this would be useful. The relevant section, which does not show how the vertical refresh gets established, is:
Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "NVIDIA GeForce 4 (generic)"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Depth 16
Modes "1600x1200" "1400x1050" "1280x1024" "1280x960" "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1600x1200" "1400x1050" "1280x1024" "1280x960" "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 8
Modes "1600x1200" "1400x1050" "1280x1024" "1280x960" "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
EndSection
ehe123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-03, 08:41 AM   #4
ehe123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 7
Default attachment

It appears that the file, XF86Config.txt, was never attached, so I am trying again!
Attached Files
File Type: txt xf86config.txt (3.6 KB, 163 views)
ehe123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-03, 10:07 AM   #5
ehe123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 7
Default log file

It appears that the problem may be the failure to return the EDID parameters from the board-monitor. At least, that is my interpretation of the log file attached. But there is no modeline in XF86Config. Does anyone know where this modeline is being written? I assume that I can manually change it, allowing a higher pixel clock rate (currently set at 229 MHz), with a high vertical refresh.
Attached Files
File Type: log xfree86.0.log (40.8 KB, 188 views)
ehe123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-03, 01:50 PM   #6
Andy Mecham
l33t master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,163
Default

Your best bet is probably to construct a modeline that gives you the refresh values you're after. gtf is a program that shipped with XFree 4.3 (and should be pretty easy to find) that will create a modeline for you based on your input.

--andy
__________________
Andy Mecham
NVIDIA Corporation
Andy Mecham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-03, 02:02 PM   #7
ehe123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 7
Default where?

I assumed that I would need to do this manually, since it appears that my Viewsonic monitor does not support DDC. Being a relative novice at Linux, I am not sure where this modeline would go! There is no file named Xconfig on my system, and I have not yet found any file which has "modename" in it.
ehe123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-03, 02:06 PM   #8
Andy Mecham
l33t master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,163
Default

/etc/X11/XF86Config - might be XF86Config-4.

--andy
__________________
Andy Mecham
NVIDIA Corporation
Andy Mecham is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-16-03, 02:17 PM   #9
ehe123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 7
Default

That is the problem! If you look at the attached file above, /etc/X11/XF86Config, there are no modelines in it. There are only "modes", which are then expanded somewhere else into modelines that appear in the log file. Here is a section from XF86Config:

SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1600x1200" "1400x1050" "1280x1024" "1280x960" "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"

Given this, can I enter a modeline in XF86Config? How will it be added to the existing modes that appear in the log file?
Thanks!
ehe123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-03, 02:25 PM   #10
ehe123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 7
Default

I should have attached the log file earlier, since that might have helped. I have done that now (/var/log/Xfree86.0.log). You can see that GetModeLine is extracting modeline information, but from where? Is this just from default parameters, given that it cannot get EDID info. from my monitor?
Attached Files
File Type: log xfree86.0.log (44.6 KB, 149 views)
ehe123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-03, 05:27 PM   #11
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

XFree86 has an internal list of modelines (the number of them is dependent on the version of X you have, and the number of VESA-defined modes available on most cards when that version of X was released) that it uses.

You can add more modelines if needed by putting the ModeLine that gtf prints out, into the Monitor section in your config file.
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GeForce4 and dual monitor refresh rates elusive NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 1 10-04-02 03:47 AM
WinXP SP1 and refresh rates?? Caleb Microsoft Windows XP And Vista 3 09-16-02 12:36 PM
bad refresh rates with 2960 matze42 NVIDIA Linux 2 09-07-02 10:13 AM
Radeon9700 Refresh Rates StealthHawk Other Desktop Graphics Cards 4 08-22-02 11:28 AM
Custom Refresh Rates, DPI, and Other Display Tweaking Phyre NVIDIA Linux 3 08-02-02 04:32 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.