Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Crysis

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-07-07, 11:34 PM   #13
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: Crysis turns up nose at quad

Quote:
Originally Posted by Feyy
Wait for public release imo, or a swift patch after release, otherwise

Only reason i got a Quad was for Crysis
Same here. i have a Q6600 laying around here just for Crysis. i'll be so pissed off if the game dont make good use of it
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-07, 11:45 PM   #14
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: Crysis turns up nose at quad

Quote:
Originally Posted by agentkay
No we don't really know but it seems to be pre-recorded "actions" that are being played back at realtime and since a lot of phyics are involved it does put plenty of load on the CPU. Framerates are comparable to the actual demo framerate and they are affected by ingame settings and cfg settings.

I ran the CPU timedemo once at 1920x1080 and the CPU load on core1 was around 80-85% and core2 a little higher 85-90%. Then I reduced the resolution to 800x600 and this time both cores were very similar at about 90-95%.

I'm not exactly sure how expreview.com tested but since the tests were done at the same frequency it should reflect CPU efficiency and architecture incl. core count, at least thats the way I understood it.
Yes i dont believe its hard for Crytek to cook up a timedemo that takes advantage of all 4 cores.
Capcom did that very well with their Framework engine in Lost Planet & the difference between 1 , 2 & 4 cores is day/night clear.
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-07, 01:13 AM   #15
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Crysis turns up nose at quad

This is why I went with a cheaper, cooler, higher clocked dual core.

I'm not going Quad until I KNOW that something I play will actually make use of it.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-07, 02:12 AM   #16
Greg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,177
Default Re: Crysis turns up nose at quad

When I read threads like this, it becomes clear why publishers demand that developers put 'Supports DirectX10', 'best performance with Quad Core' etc. on the box. Of course its the sponsoring hardware vendors who make them put 'best textures with 64bit AMD' or similar on the box

Hey just play the game and enjoy it. The reason I plan to get Quad core soon is so I can record TV and download files with one core, run the OS and sound and graphics drivers on the next, while playing Crysis on the remaining two. Maybe the sweet spot in 5 years time will be 64 cores?
Greg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-07, 02:30 AM   #17
LordJuanlo
Widescreen rules
 
LordJuanlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Spain
Posts: 2,184
Default Re: Crysis turns up nose at quad

Maybe we will get more performance with quad cores on Crysis when we have graphics cards that do not bottleneck the game as today cards
__________________
Core i7 920 / Noctua NH-U12P SE1366
Gigabyte EX58-Extreme / 6 Gb OCZ PC3-12800 Platinum
1 x Intel X-25M G2 80 Gb / 3 x Seagate 1 Tb (RAID5)
ATI 5870 (Graphics) + GeForce 9600GT (PhysX) on Samsung SM244T 1920x1200
LG GGW-H20L BluRay & HD-DVD / Logitech Z-5500 5.1 DTS / Westone 3 Earphones
Asus Xonar D2 / 360 Elite Wireless Controller / Gigabyte Odin GT 800W
Windows 7 x64
(also a 360 and a PSP )
LordJuanlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-07, 03:32 AM   #18
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: Crysis turns up nose at quad

Quote:
Originally Posted by LordJuanlo
Maybe we will get more performance with quad cores on Crysis when we have graphics cards that do not bottleneck the game as today cards
In other words quad-cores are useless in Crysis now ? thats what the whole thread is about.
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-07, 04:04 AM   #19
Legend
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 287
Default Re: Crysis turns up nose at quad

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL
This is why I went with a cheaper, cooler, higher clocked dual core.

I'm not going Quad until I KNOW that something I play will actually make use of it.
There are a handful of games that currently make use of a quad and a whole lot more coming very soon. Also G0 stepping Quads overclock about as well and some even better than dual cores.
Legend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-07, 06:19 AM   #20
LordJuanlo
Widescreen rules
 
LordJuanlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Spain
Posts: 2,184
Default Re: Crysis turns up nose at quad

Quote:
Originally Posted by SH64
In other words quad-cores are useless in Crysis now ? thats what the whole thread is about.
In general gameplay I think so. And I also think you won't find a big difference between a 2.4 Ghz CPU and another overclocked to 3.6 Ghz. Sorry but our poor 8800 GTX/Ultras cards won't allow to take advantage of CPU power in Crysis, if you play with maximum detail at very high resolutions (1600x1200 or more). Maybe when the game fully supports SLI...
__________________
Core i7 920 / Noctua NH-U12P SE1366
Gigabyte EX58-Extreme / 6 Gb OCZ PC3-12800 Platinum
1 x Intel X-25M G2 80 Gb / 3 x Seagate 1 Tb (RAID5)
ATI 5870 (Graphics) + GeForce 9600GT (PhysX) on Samsung SM244T 1920x1200
LG GGW-H20L BluRay & HD-DVD / Logitech Z-5500 5.1 DTS / Westone 3 Earphones
Asus Xonar D2 / 360 Elite Wireless Controller / Gigabyte Odin GT 800W
Windows 7 x64
(also a 360 and a PSP )
LordJuanlo is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-08-07, 06:27 AM   #21
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: Crysis turns up nose at quad

Quote:
Originally Posted by LordJuanlo
In general gameplay I think so. And I also think you won't find a big difference between a 2.4 Ghz CPU and another overclocked to 3.6 Ghz. Sorry but our poor 8800 GTX/Ultras cards won't allow to take advantage of CPU power in Crysis, if you play with maximum detail at very high resolutions (1600x1200 or more). Maybe when the game fully supports SLI...
Well then Yerli is to blame for not mentioning that.
why make people rush to purachse a quad-core for your game when its not going to take advantage of it in the current time. kind of BS & unresponsibility from him if you ask me.
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-07, 06:38 AM   #22
BioHazZarD
USCM Marine
 
BioHazZarD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,369
Send a message via MSN to BioHazZarD
Default Re: Crysis turns up nose at quad

Well i dont know what Cevat is smoking but he said this a few weeks ago to shacknews..

Multi-core will be beneficial in the experience, particularly in faster but also smoother framerates. 64-bit and higher memory will yield quicker loading times. We recommend quad core over higher clock.
__________________
Chieftec Miditower /w 5 case fans | Corsair 620W HX PSU | Asus M4N98TD EVO SLI | AMD Athlon2 X2 260 3,2GHz | Corsair 3GB PC3-10666 | eVGA Geforce GTX 460 1GB (336shader) | Samsung Spinpoint x2 250GB HD +SATA 320GB | SB Audigy 4 @ 2.1 | Samsung Syncmaster BX2331 TFT 23" running 1920x1080@60hz | Windows XP PRO SP2 | |
BioHazZarD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-07, 08:40 AM   #23
six_storm
Registered User
 
six_storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 11,575
Send a message via Skype™ to six_storm
Default Re: Crysis turns up nose at quad

They will just patch the game later to make use of the quad-core CPUs. Remember, this game stretches into the next 2 years with new features.
six_storm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-07, 03:57 PM   #24
TacoXPS2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 14
Default Re: Crysis turns up nose at quad

Crysis demo is multi-core. I ran windows task manager under performance both cores were at 75% on my E6400 @ stock. I wanted to make sure so I went into BIOS and disabled core 2 and ran the CPU benchmark with rez @ 800x600 all medium settings. I averaged 24 FPS. Then went back and re enabled core 2, ran bench and got 38 FPS. Crysis is obviously using more than 1 core. I'm not sure why everyone thinks its single. I'm sure it doesn't use much resource on a quad, but dual definitely benefits.

Ran test on:
Windows XP SP2: nVidia 7950gt 169.04 drivers: 2 GB DDR2 @ 800: E6400 @ 2.13 Ghz
__________________
Rig: Gigabyte 3d Aurora Case - EVGA 680i SLI - Core 2 Duo E6400 w/ Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro - 4 GB Corsair XMS2 DDR2-800 5-5-5-12-2T - EVGA 8800GT 512MB - Vista 64 Bit
TacoXPS2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crysis 3 preview News Gaming Headlines 0 06-16-12 07:20 AM
Crysis 3 E3 trailer features Psycho, Prophet, slow-mo nano bow News Archived News Items 0 06-05-12 07:00 AM
Now Available - Crysis 2 Maximum Edition News Archived News Items 0 05-29-12 05:30 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.